We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home near our Hometown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Granville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 30, 2011

My wife and I just finished an excellent stay (4 nights) at Don & Andrew's Orchard House B&B in Granville, OH. We prefer selecting B&B's to stay at for most of our domestic travel, and were suprised to find what seemed like a cool option near my wife's hometown of Newark. We are SO GLAD we booked at the Orchard House!

The rooms (all upstairs) at the farmhouse style home were larger than most we've seen ... we chose the Barbizon, and it was the "just right" sized option of the 3 choices. The bed & bedding were GREAT, big windows throughout, closet space for miles, and the bathroom was plenty large enough (although the standard size shower would be a bit tight if you're traveling with a taller person). As the house is original and quite old, we could hear folks coming in the front doorway at night from our room (above) one night, but each of the rooms are well spaced and separate from each other so there wasn't any room-to-room noise.

The house has original wood flooring throughout, with throw rugs -- and let me tell you -- the eclectic assembly of artwork and floral arrangements had us wandering about for an hour! The common areas really stood out compared with other B&Bs we've seen ... two living rooms with TV/Roku/Wii/etc. and a bar area full of complementary teas, coffees, sodas, water and baked goods. I'm sure Don & Andrew were disappointed to come back each morning to find that I'd devoured pretty much every cookie or cake they came up with! :) It made it hard to stick to a diet, that's for sure!

Andrew was the breakfast captain, and each day was something different ... french toast (my fave), pear Pfannekuchen, breakfast burritos, choc-chip pancakes ... fresh fruit, coffee, juice ... that's what you're looking at for breakfast each day. Very well done, and made to-order when you want it (which is a nice touch). Both of the guys are up for wine and cheese each evening, which we were only able to take advantage of once due to our holiday family schedule, but it was cool hanging with them. FYI - I highly recommend pairing the carrot-cake jam with the brie.

Before the cold rains kicked in, I went out and visited the animals out back ... highlight for me was Bacon the big pig, and Roosevelt the alpaca who had the coolest buck-tooth grin!

All in all, a great stay and we have already booked a stay for the next family holiday trip!

Room Tip: Walden = smallest + detached bath Barbizon = midsize + bath (our room this time) Whitman = largest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 161 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2011

A lovely place to stay. I would recommend it to everyone.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank ruthemmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We had a great experience at Orchard House. Rented the whole house with the family....felt very much at home and at ease. The food was OUTSTANDING! We all enjoyed the "day on the farm". Would definately stay again....

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My fiance and I had the BEST time at The Orchard House. The house was spotless, the baked goodies were delicious and wine and cheese hour was so much fun with Don and the other guests. We enjoyed seeing all of the animals even if it was a little chilly during our stay. We loved our room, the Walden Room, and breakfast was sooo good. We're still talking about the bacon they served! We will definitely be back! The prices of the rooms are also super affordable!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

My husband and I had never stayed at a B&B before, so I can't compare Orchard House with others, but I can say that we walked in the door and felt completely "at home". This charming home is spacious and beautifully decorated in a most appealing manner. There are lots of areas to relax, and the Wi-Fi worked great for us everywhere we wandered. We had a wonderful suite, very comfortable, including a king sized bed with luxurious linens, and a nicely updated bath. There was also a sitting area, and a balcony to relax on. The attention to detail was especially impressive to us. We were served wine and snacks in the early evening, and the breakfast was delicious! We had several events to attend in Granville while we were there, so we were not able to explore the grounds as much as we would have liked to. It is likely that we will have future events to attend in Granville, and we will definately return to the Orchard House, and have plans to invite other family members to join us there.

Room Tip: I believe our room was the Whitman Room, which was a lovely suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa_A4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed there when our son had orientation at Denison University, and then again when we dropped him off at the beginning of the school year. Our son needed to stay with us the first night before move-in day, and Andrew graciously set up an aerobed on the floor for him in our large room. We loved the room decor, large bathroom, and additional lounging spaces downstairs as well as the delicious breakfasts. It was fun and enjoyable to look out the window of our bathroom to see the llamas, alpacas and other animals roaming in the field behind the house! While we missed the wine/cheese in the afternoon, Don and Andrew were kind enough to leave wine and glasses out for us when we returned later in the evening. We had friends staying there also, so we enjoyed relaxing for a bit with them upon our return. We look forward to staying there again when we visit our son in Granville!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janmartinMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

My husband and I went to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary and had a great, relaxing time. The grounds were gorgeous and the breakfasts and baked goods were phenomenal! We've already booked our next stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granville
3.5 mi away
The Granville Inn
The Granville Inn
#1 of 2 in Granville
126 reviews
3.4 mi away
Historic Buxton Inn
Historic Buxton Inn
#2 of 2 in Granville
83 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cherry Valley Lodge
Cherry Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Newark
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Albany Columbus
6.8 mi away
Courtyard Newark Granville
2.8 mi away
Small Batch Lodging
Small Batch Lodging
#2 of 5 in Granville
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4058 Columbus Rd, Granville, OH 43023-9628
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Granville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Granville
Price Range: $144 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchard House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 12 beautiful acres of farmland outside the Village of Granville, Orchard House Bed and Breakfast blends timeless farm style with the modern comforts of today. Our gourmet breakfasts are locally sourced and highlight products from central Ohio farms and businesses. Whether you decide to walk the grounds, feeding the animals and collecting chicken eggs, or explore the local downtown, Orchard House is prepared to make your stay as relaxing as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Orchard House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard House Bed And Breakfast Granville, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing