We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imagine a treasure like this so close to home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Welsh Hills Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Granville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The curving driveway leading up to this lovely Inn set the tone for our stay: beautifully landscaped grounds amidst surrounding pastoral countryside and rustic farmland. It only got better as the afternoon drew on. After we met Elli, divine golden retriever, and Bobbi gave us a tour of the exquisitely decorated rooms, we had wine and cheese on the little screened porch attached to our suite.The sounds of an impromptu bit of Mozart, played by a talented guest on the piano in the living room, provided a perfect touch to our cocktail hour.

Celebrating our October birthdays at this lovely Inn, we had booked the Berlian Glyn King suite, where we'd planned to have a private candlelight dinner on the porch. But as the sun set, and the fall weather turned brisk, we were cozily settled inside and served a delicious meal which was only matched by the marvelous breakfast the next morning (served on the porch) both cooked to perfection by Jeff.

Like other guests we were enthralled with the Ohio art and the antiques this couple has collected over many years, and enjoyed examining their extensive and broadly-based selection of books. (My dream is to go back for several days of walking the trails, playing bocce on the court, and reading in the rocking chair on the porch or in the hammock at the foot of the rolling lawn.) But it isn't just the setting, or the wonderful food and warm hospitality that Bobbi and Jeff provide. For us, it was the amazing attention to detail that is apparent in every aspect of this wonderful Inn, from the anticipation of the guests' comfort to all the tasteful, elegant, and often serendipitous touches noted throughout the Inn.

And all of this was capped off by finding rather neat hostess gifts to take away with us: singular jams made by a local business, The Black Radish Creamery. How does "Parker" (Grilled Ohio Peaches with a touch of Cayenne and a Glaze of Sailor Jerry Spiced Rum, Molasses, & Vanilla Bean) sound? It's yummy on toasted multi-grain bread! Although we live near by, on what has been called the most beautiful college campus in the world (Kenyon College), there is nothing there that can provide the charming and refreshing respite we found at The Welsh Hills Inn. We will be back.

Room Tip: The deep Italian tub in the Berlian Glyn king suite is almost as good as the adjacent steam shower.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
There are newer reviews for The Welsh Hills Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 588 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

We selected the Inn for a birthday get-away, after reading the great comments on-line. Even after reading the rave reviews, everything far exceeded our expectations.

The property is perfect for an inn, and has been beautifully decorated. Every where we looked there was an interesting object, or a lovely piece of art. It's the perfect combination of lovely, warm and comfortable. Our room was spotless, had plenty of space, and many thoughtful details.

Bobbi and Jeff are in the right business! Their hospitality was also perfect. They are gracious, and warm, and accommodating without being invasive. Every suggestion they gave us for places to visit was great.

The food was delicious! We loved both breakfasts, and hardly needed lunch either day. The wine and cheese, and evening treats were all great too. Loose-leaf tea and are available all the time, and the specialty loose leaf teas were a real treat.

We enjoyed seeing Denison's campus, browsing the shops in Granville, and walking the Inn's property as well as Denison's bio preserve, which is just minutes from the Inn.

Don't miss the Village Toffee if you are there at the right time of year. Best ever!

We like to stay at inns or b and b's when we travel, and The Welsh Hills Inn really shines in every way. We highly recommend it, and hope to return too!

Thanks again, Bobbi and Jeff!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just returned from an incredible 2 night stay at this absolute treasure of a B and B! We were visiting Denison with our 18 year old daughter and decided to try the Welsh Hills Inn. We arrived quite late in the evening after a very long drive from Chicago. We were welcomed into a cozy, beautifully decorated inn.....move over Irving Berlin! Our bedroom suite was luxurious, fabulous bedding, wonderful bath! The art collection alone was worth the trip. Spectacular views greeted us in the morning and we enjoyed exploring our surroundings on foot. Loved the late afternoon roaring fire and a glass of wine. Our hosts were so gracious. This place even comes with a beautiful, well behaved dog named Ellie! Perfect!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were given a two night stay for the Inn. It is a beautiful setting and a very peaceful get-away spot. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. The common areas are beautifully decorated and there is a terrific art collection throughout the house. The breakfast each morning was excellent. The owners( Bobbi and Jeff) are very welcoming . A special thank you for sharing their sweet dog, Ellie with us. Highly recommended .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We recently visited the Welsh Hills Inn for a fall get-away weekend (two-night stay). Everything was outstanding. The hosts, Bobbi & Jeff, were very friendly and helpful. The inn is a big house situated just outside Granville, Ohio (just east of Columbus). The artwork in the house is amazing. When we were there the leaves were just starting to turn and the weather was delightful. A little too cool to use the pool, but the pool was still open had we wanted to take advantage of it. The room was spacious and very inviting. Even the linens and mattress were top drawer! The breakfast was great both days, and we enjoyed the company of the other guests. To top it off, the hosts' dog greeted us as we drove in and kept us company much of our stay, making it easier for us because we had to leave our dogs at home. This is probably the best B&B experience we have had, and we will likely return!

Room Tip: If you want a room with a little screened in patio choose the Berllan Glyn King Suite
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sseiple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Welsh Hills Inn is by far among the best B&Bs we have visited nationwide. The hosts are charming, thoughtful and efficient. They tend to your every need (even anticipating things you hadn't thought of) and they do so without invading your privacy. The property is unmatched in both style and upkeep--it is clear that Bobbi and Jeff have pride in their Inn, and it's much deserved.

We visited during our first Kenyon parents' weekend and have no intention of staying anywhere else for the next four years.

We enjoyed excellent food, comfortable beds, fine linens and plenty of space (indoors & out) to relax and unwind. In addition to the top-notch, full breakfast that so many have raved about on these pages, there was good, strong coffee and excellent tea in the morning, lemonade and snacks in the afternoon and wine in the early evening. At night, we found sweets on our turned-down beds.

We will return soon to take advantage of the Inn's hiking trails and savor Jeff's culinary skills at a dinner prepared just for us. While this place was perfect for parents' weekend, it is just as appealing for a couple's getaway, a business meeting/retreat or a family/friends reunion. We'll find some excuse to visit more than once a year.

We're so glad to have discovered the Inn and so grateful to have met Bobbi and Jeff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Selfishly, I don't want to share my review of The Welsh Hills Inn in fear that should we want to stay again, they will be booked. Our night's stay was PERFECT, PERFECT, PERFECT! The attention to detail was remarkable and Bobbi and Jeff made our stay absolutely wonderful. The wine, the comfortable living room, the cozy bedrooms, sweet Ellie...I could go on and on. And it was so sweet to hear my father (whom I was traveling with) to say "not many places do I have such a wonderful breakfast listening to Ella Fitzgerald, a perfect morning!" We will return (whether or not our daughter decides on Denison or not!) Thank you!!

Room Tip: All are wonderful!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMinIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granville
3.0 mi away
The Granville Inn
The Granville Inn
#1 of 2 in Granville
122 reviews
3.0 mi away
Historic Buxton Inn
Historic Buxton Inn
#2 of 2 in Granville
74 reviews
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Newark Granville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Cherry Valley Lodge
Cherry Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Newark
406 reviews
6.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Ohio
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Heath-Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Welsh Hills Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welsh Hills Inn

Address: 2133 Cambria Mill Rd, Granville, OH 43023-9721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Granville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Granville
Price Range: $125 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Welsh Hills Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Welsh Hills Inn - Relaxation Redefined. Awarded the 2013 and 2016 Ohio B&B/Inn of the Year by the Ohio Hotel & Lodging Association. For 2016, The Inn received the Explore Licking County Impact Award as their Lodging Partner of the Year. Enjoy one of the country's premier, picturesque inns nestled on 15 wooded acres in the beautiful, rolling Welsh Hills countryside. Rated the #1 Accommodation in the U.S. by TripAdvisor in 2015. Winner of TripAdvisor's prestigious Travelers' Choice Award 2013-2017 - including rated #4 in the World for 2017. Over 5,600 sq. ft. of lodging with wide plank heart-of-pine floors, five large guests rooms (inc two suites), spacious bathrooms, antiques, extensive original artwork, swimming pool, hot tub, outdoor fireplace, hiking trails, gorgeous , fishing pond, bocce ball court, outdoor table tennis & darts, shooting range, massage/spa services, and The Inn's Signature breakfasts. Relax to a simpler time and feel the stress melt away at The Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your The Welsh Hills Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Welsh Hills Inn Granville, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing