We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but pricey”

Hartley Coffee House
Ranked #7 of 7 Coffee & Tea in Cranbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our coffee house and farmshop is owned by Chris & Sheenagh Levett and is a family run business serving local and homemade food, breakfast, light lunches, salads, homemade cakes and pastries. Enjoy great coffee, teas and drinks in lovely surroundings overlooking our apple orchards and the beautiful countryside of Kent. The farm shop stocks local produce, and fresh bread form our instore bakery, home produced meat in our butchery and a great range of local cheeses and pies in our Deli. We are open 7 days a week.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This cafe is a welcome addition to the area for those wanting to avoid the hustle of Cranbrook. Premises are nicely designed with bright modern interior. Food is good but the menu is sadly limited and very pricey for the quality. Can't fault the coffee - best locally and tray bakes are good but just too expensive (Central London prices).

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathTunbridgeWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheena555_13, Owner at Hartley Coffee House, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
I am sorry to hear you find us pricey. We have tried hard to set middle of the road prices, keeping us one of the most competitive for the quality in the area.
We have some of the best (in our opinion!) chocolate brownies on offer so please come back and try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    18
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Want to like it more!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have been to the coffee house a few times since it opened, as we live in the area and like to support local businesses. At first, the menu was limited, and we had muffins or cake and tea when we stopped by, and this was pleasant, although a little pricey and despite the fact that it wasn't over busy, the tables were never particularly clean and the service less than enthusiastic. Another small point is that the tables and chairs are very small, and quite close together. There is an outdoor seating area with lovely views over the orchards. We tried it again last weekend, this time for breakfast, as we noticed that they have extended their menu. I went for scrambled egg on toast, my husband the full breakfast, with a mug of tea and a hot chocolate. We also ordered a chocolate brownie to take away.
Our orders arrived, and I'm afraid it did not live up to our hopes, the egg was very runny (personal taste), and the slices of wafer thin bread unbuttered (I went and asked for butter, and was given 2 of the little catering pats). The full breakfast was ok, a little small, again just the one thin slice of unbuttered toast. The tea and hot chocolate were good. I can't help but think that with the attached farm shop they could offer decent 'farmhouse' style toast, with local butter, and definitely larger portions for the price. The service had improved a little, although if the employees notice that a customer has left the door open on a snowy day, it might be an idea to quickly close it, for the comfort of your customers and your heating bill on a snowy day.
When we got home, we realised we never got the brownie to take away, which we had paid for. Disappointing, and a real shame as there are few places to have breakfast on a Sunday in the immediate area. We're going to have to keep searching!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank innerpsystem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheena555_13, Owner at Hartley Coffee House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Please come back and try us again! We are passionate about our scrambled eggs and do not want to overcook them...as you say a personal taste so next time please request they are well cooked.
We now bake our own bread or use a good granary loaf for our breakfasts. Always unbuttered I am afraid as many people do not want butter!
If you make yourself know to us your elusive brownie will be supplied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I like the style of this place and it's big windows looking out over orchards and big skies but I did not like the price of two cups of tea and two pieces of carrot cake. The bill came to over £8. The tea was not even a pot, but two cups with individual tea bags. Not good value and not somewhere to which I will be returning in a hurry.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TinaA122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best coffee in the Weald of Kent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stopped off for afternoon tea at this recently opened coffee house off the main road out of Cranbrook going towards Hawkhurst. A warm welcome from Alan & the girls greeted us on arrival on what was a wet end to our day visit to Great Dixter gardens just down the road at Northiam.
Hot coffee & a pot of tea arrived swiftly to our table with generous helpings of fresh carrot cake & brownies. The coffee was spot on, no bitter taste, or luke warm fare, this was smooth, deep flavour, one of the best cups of coffee I've had in a long while. The cakes were fresh & well presented.Even with the rain, the view across the Weald of Kent into Sussex from our table was beautiful with apple orchards running from outside the windows over woods & rolling hills. On a sunny day the decking would be the perfect place to take in the view & relax. Fresh pies, quiche & paninies are served and with local dairy ice cream to choose from. With friendly service from the staff, this coffee house is well worth stopping for a bite to eat & excellent coffee even without the view. Open 7 days a week. Highly recommended

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 9grapeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hartley Coffee House also viewed

 

Been to Hartley Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing