We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have just had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel.”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cranbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We have just had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel.”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We were made very welcome on arrival at the hotel. The room and bathroom were very well appointed and comfortable. We had a very good meal in the evening, freshly prepared, which was reasonably priced. Breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room at the back - we had number 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    97
    40
    24
    22
See reviews for
46
148
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed in the George for just one night as we wanted to dine in a nearby restaurant. Right from the start it was great, easy parking, friendly welcome and great room with everything we needed. Went to the bar for a nightcap and again struck by the friendliness of the staff. Breakfast was great too!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorayned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This hotel was booked to break the journey back from a holiday in France before we drove back north to Leeds. Only booked 1 night. Enjoyed it so much wanted to add an extra night. Alas, they were full so we could not extend our stay. Rooms were very comfortable and bathroom toiletries exceptional. The restaurant evening meal was very good. But breakfast was not such a good experience as I think they were short of staff. We had a long wait for our cooked breakfasts and had to remind them for hot drinks.

Helpful?
Thank FrancescaYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My Husband booked this hotel for us for the night after my 50th Birthday. It was a lovely. Our room the Mandarin was fabulous - light and airy, beautiful bed linen Comfiest pillows I have ever used,. and the bathroom clean tidy and very pleasent indeed. The comlimentary toiletries were fablous and beautifully packaged (actually I am going to keep them and use them for tags on Christmas presents this year!)

Being a Friday we booked for dinner in the Brasserie and at the last minute called to see if we could change to the restaurant. Not a problem for the staff at all to find us a table even though the restaurant was full to the brim.

The food was unbelievably good. Well done to the kitchen staff, because my main was so fabulous I have completely forgotton what I had for a starter although i know it wasa great! Have the pork - F A B U L O U S, my dessert too was fabulous chocolate orange tart.

Waking up the next morning ( I slept for 11.5 hours!) I managed to force down some breakfast as I was still full from the night before and again cooked and presented beautifully.

All the staff are wonderful and very helpful. If I had one niggle about this hotel it would be the same as every other hotel Please Please leave more milk in the bedroom!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beaujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed here as a base for our Son's wedding on Sat 28th April. We had a lovely room (2) loads of room and very light and airy.
The staff were so helpful and went out of their way to make all of us really welcome , nothing was too much trouble .
The food was Great I would recommend the Fillet steak , devine !!
I would highly this Hotel to all.
Pat Hurcombe.

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 2, and the Crimson room all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hurcombes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We were up for a wedding in the area, and guests had been spread around the vicinity. We ended up at The George. Old characterful establishment with great ale, a lovely dinner and despite the hangover a wicked full english breakfast. It seems all the rooms are different, our bathroom was enormous, and another guest had a large four poster bed. We like old buildings so this was perfect for our stay. Right in the middle of the village so you can walk around this cute village easily.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mancopolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
170 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We were staying here as a group so we had to stay here. We had the azure room which whilst large was not great. Everything is very tired. The curtains have nasty stains on them and the curtain rails fell down when I pulled the curtains. It was also filthy around the window and area. The shower was over the bath and poor. The whole thing feels very tired.

The good points were that the staff are lovely, breakfast was excellent and it is in a fantastic position in the high street.

Room Tip: Sorry I am writing this on my iPad and have accidentally pressed swimming pool and fitness centre an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranbrook
3.5 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
140 reviews
6.7 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
6.6 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
T & J Motel
T & J Motel
#1 of 1 in Flimwell
20 reviews
5.8 mi away
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
7.1 mi away
Weald of Kent Golf Course & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Stone Street, Cranbrook TN17 3HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Cranbrook
The George Hotel Cranbrook, Kent, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing