We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful B&B!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Church Gates

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cranbrook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Church Gates
Ranked #10 of 16 Cranbrook B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

After 20+ hours in the air from Melbourne, Australia, my partner, Giuliano, and I left Heathrow and caught a train straight to Cranbrook, and Church Gates. We had five nights and four days at Church Gates and it really felt like a home away from home. The owners, Joe and David, are truly lovely men: kind, welcoming and helpful, yet never intrusive. Each morning when we came down to breakfast Joe (or David, at the weekend) would make a pot of tea. Then Joe would ask us what we'd like to eat. I was a bit of a disappointment to him, I think, as, apart from the first morning, I mostly had cereal, wonderful fresh fruit, tea and toast. Giuliano, though, was more than happy to have a full English breakfast, or part thereof. All the ingredients - the sausages, the bread, the fruit - were excellent, as is Joe's cooking. After he'd cooked our breakfast Joe sat on the sofa and chatted with us (as did David, at the weekend). Giuliano and I had the double room with ensuite (and its deep bath). It was the most comfortable bed of our entire trip. (We later went to Italy). We visited Sissinghurst Castle and Garden, Bodium Castle, Great Dixter house and gardens. And one morning, we were talking to Joe at breakfast about where we'd go and invited him to join us. He took us to Marle Place garden. It was lovely to have his knowledge of the garden to guide us. Now back at home in Melbourne, we remember our stay at Church Gates, and Joe and David, with much fondness. Giuliano and Robyn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robynzc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Appledore, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We only had the one night but we could not have been made to feel more welcome by Joe and David.
A lovely room, clean and full of caracter and charm, we also had lovely (perfectly cooked) beakfast. We will definitely come back .
Many thanks Simon & Sharon

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure to stay at Church Gates for 2 nights as a start of our roundtrip through England. It couldn't have started better. Upon arrival in the squeeky and filled with character b&b, we were greeted by Joe who showed us to our room. Though we initially booked the ensuite, there was a small mixup in the reservation. No worries though, as the yellow room is comfortable and full of character. A few highlights are the great breakfast (Joe is a good chef), intelligent conversation with the hosts and frequenting town characters and some morning reading next to a beautiful flower garden looking out over the church grounds.

The George serves quality food. The Indian restaurant close by is also worth a visit.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

A really beautiful English B&B with as much character as the B&B owner, Joe. Comfortable and clean, it was like a home away from a home. Joe was an absolutely lovely host and very helpful with any query or giving travel advice. I especially enjoyed the breakfast conversations and will definitely come back again. Thank you for a perfect stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jyc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to stay near sissinghurst castle and spotted this beautiful b&b on tripadviser. Within two days our hosts, Joe and David, became our friends. This was an unforgettable weekend break. We've already rebooked to go back in November and can't wait to see them again. Thank you for making this weekend so enjoyable xxxx m & m.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here one night in February. The room was delightful with a very comfortable bed and a lovely attached bathroom. The house itself oozed charm as did our hosts. Breakfast in the morning was excellent. I highly recommend the Church Gates to anyone

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sussexmouette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was our second visit to Church Gates, a lovely night away to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It gives you everything you could wish for in a Kentish village B&B, a quaint and homely stay in the centre of Cranbrook.

Joe and David are fantastic hosts, making you feel very welcome and happily imparting knowledge or where to visit and eat in the area [we can certainly recommend afternoon tea or homemade pie at Hartley Dyke Farm Shop, dinner or a drink at the George, and dinner, drink or post-food cheese and port at the Great House.]

They follow up a fantastic nights rest with a 3 course breakfast, a sumptuous full English with local ingredients being the main feature.

A little more than we would normally pay for a B&B, we believe its well worth it for the experience and we'll certainly be back again.

Room Tip: En-suite recommended for traditional bathing experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranbrook
0.0 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
3.5 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
4.1 mi away
Field Green Oast Bed & Breakfast
5.5 mi away
Wilderness Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Gates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Gates

Property: Church Gates
Address: Church Gates Stone Street, Cranbrook TN17 3HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Church Gates is a charming 16th Century historic listed house in the heart of Cranbrook. Joe and David will spoil you with their renowned hospitality, local knowledge and wonderful breakfasts served on Spode china by the inglenook fireplace. Bedrooms have a bohemian air with antique furnishings and views out to the floodlit church tower and medieval Stone Street. Church Gates is conveniently located in the middle of Cranbrook, within walking distance of lively cafes, great restaurants, traditional pubs and speciality shopping. Set in the leafy High Weald Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, Sissinghurst and Great Dixter Gardens and many other historic attractions are just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Church Gates Cranbrook, Kent, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing