We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveler rating
70
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconespreservesfruit tartkippersher attentionconverted oast housea real treatnigelfarmkentretreat
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 70 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Hallwood Farm is a wonderful farm B&B with apple orchards, blackcurrants, and a few sheep. There are only two very comfortable rooms, both with excellent bathrooms and all the comforts one would expect from an upscale B&B (that aren’t often found on a farm). The location just outside of Cranbrook is very central and excellent for exploring Kent.

Your host, Sarah, really sets the experience apart from most B&Bs. She is quite wonderful – friendly, talkative, and informative without being at all intrusive or the least bit pretentious. Breakfast is first rate with many custom options along with wonderful farm fresh bread, jams, and produce. Her personal guidebooks with a collection of things to do, sights to see, restaurants, local walks, are the most comprehensive I’ve ever come across at a B&B. With only two rooms you get very personal attention.

All around excellent!

Note – it is a working farm so there are sheds, farm equipment, etc. It’s a lovely setting but not some manicured ideal you might see in a magazine.

Queen size bed was comfortable with excellent linen but mattress a little springy and transferred motion. This may be an issue if you are used to a king size mattress that doesn’t transfer movement.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrenSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallwoodoast, Owner at Hallwood Farm Oast B & B, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2010

We appreciate this positive review and are distressed to learn that our mattress did not 'pass muster' on this occasion. We had not previously had any indication that there was an issue with it's comfort but have taken note of your comments and a replacement is now ordered and due for delivery this week (Sept 2010). We do, as a general policy, buy quality mattresses and replace them every three years

As regards the size of our beds - they are a UK King size (5ft) which is not as large as an American King. This is stated on our website and we are sorry for any confusion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Hallwood Farm provided myself, husband and mother in law with excellent service and accommodation. From the homemade cake and tea on arrival to bowls of local cherries in our rooms nothing was too much trouble. We were also given excellent advise about places to eat in the evening. We even had a walk around their orchards guided by their two dogs. We cannot recommend the farm highly enough and look forward to staying there in the future
Melanie and Barry Thomas Maidenhead

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thom008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Had a lovely week here, a very good B&B with that home form home feeling, Sarah was the perfect hostess, giving plenty of advice on local places to go to and also were to eat, breakfast was one of the best we have had, rooms comfy and spotless as was the bathroom, the location is right for all the local attractions. if you are in the Cranbrook area go to the farm you will not be disapointed. by the way Sarah the jam was very good!!
Bruce & Dorothy

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theairman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Thank you again Sarah

What a wonderful Oast House experience, quirky, in a working (Fruit) Farm enviroment,
peacefull, large comfortable rooms, wanting nothing. (maybe a Steam Iron, private joke with Sarah)

Breakfast of your choice, excellent in choice and quantity,

The location neither to near nor to far, from your required destination (s)

Pub of choice (for dining out) "The Great House" less than 5 minutes drive towards Hawkhurst.

Would we visit Hallwood Farm Oast again? MOST DEFINITELY! already missed. :)

Gil and Pauline Ben-Ari

Coulsdson

Surrey

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpitfireBigginHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

We were very impressed with Sarah's eye for detail at Hallwood Farm! Everything was perfect from the layout of the room to the lovely cake waiting when we arrived. The breakfast was truly exceptional with an array of yogurts, fresh and stewed fruit as well as a beautifully cooked "full English". We warmly recommend Hallwood Farm to anyone staying in the Cranbrook area - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wurzeljocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews