We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandhurst Tearooms

Sandhurst Tearooms
Ranked #7 of 7 Coffee & Tea in Cranbrook
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Sandhurst Tea Rooms forms part of a Grade II listed building constructed in a traditional Kent white weatherboarded style. It was built circa 1700AD and was formerly the village butchers shop.There is a beautiful garden at the rear with patio seating available for customers enjoyment.Customer parking for approximately 6-8 vehicles.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

How lovely to have tea served in a beautiful huge pot, the tastiest scones I've ever tasted and owners who go out of their way to make you feel at home......

What a truly British experience
I have nothing but praise for these tea rooms, definitely worth a visit

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoolsAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    3
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"what a shame"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012




This little tearoom was once fantastic and now I understand it has been taken over. Before the afternoon tea was like tea at a posh hotel and now it's like how tea would be served at a service cafe!. Tasteless and cheap ingredients and nothing is homemade!.What a utter shame!.I can't see them lasting very long if they keep serving food like this!.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Dunton42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorne, Kent
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic tea rooms in a lovely location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just visited this after reading the reviews and I would go further than John_the_Cat and say it's the best tearooms in the South East (if not further afield).
The new owners only took over a couple of months ago and they have done the previous owners very proud.
Fabulous scones, excellent tea and lovely hosts ~ what more can you want?
Situated in a lovely part of the country, if you're visiting Tenterden don't bother with the tea rooms there ~ take the short drive to Sandhurst!
At the moment they are only opening Thursday > Sunday.
Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank doreenShorne_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

My friends and I live locally and visited on a Friday afternoon for tea, and were warmly welcomed by the hosts, who brought us a selection of sandwiches and scones with large pots of tea. Everything was fresh and delicious. Stuffed with all this, we were then offered a slice of cake to finish, which was forced down! Rude not to, and it was very nice!! We got all this for around £10 per person..great value! We were there for a couple of hours and will definitely visit again soon. The one and only thing that I would change - cut the crusts off of the sandwiches, it's just that little touch!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank innerpsystem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tenterden
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top notch in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We are regulars to this 'tea room' which is really a tea room / restaurant, the food being of the highest quality, the atmosphere also. You truly feel that you are invited guests of the owners.
It is a hidden gem, for from the outside you couldn't guess what treats await you within,great to be able to sample the now very rare traditional old fasioned english values.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nathanielpegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandhurst Tearooms also viewed

 
Cranbrook, Kent
 

Been to Sandhurst Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing