We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B retreat”
Review of Godwin House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cranbrook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Godwin House
Ranked #2 of 15 Cranbrook B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic trip to Godwin House, staying in the Garden Cottage. A wonderful B&B retreat, providing a warm welcome and great attention to detail. Tea and cake on arrival, great recommendations for evening meals, and even filling hot water bottles for our return! Would thoroughly recommend it - great location and great hosts. From Julia & Peter

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jules207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Owner at Godwin House, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for bringing the sunshine with you! Gosh we need more of that. It would be great to see you here again when the summer has got a proper hold of the garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 150 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

We gave extremely short notice and were thrilled to be able to stay at Godwin House; a wonderful, authentic establishment with a very warm, familial and friendly atmosphere. The short hop from Folkestone after a long drive through France was hugely appreciated, so a massive thumbs up for Channel Tunnel travellers. Godwin House is superbly located, thus ruling out the idea of staying in a grim b&b in Folkestone itself (which we have had the displeasure of experiencing pre Godwin discovery!). Sipping a G&T as the fire smouldered and enjoying great conversation with our charming hosts, Sean and Corinna was very comforting indeed. Before long we were happily ensconced in the garden cottage, which was ideal, immaculately clean, all amenities, including a little fridge with fresh milk and bottled water - good thinking. Despite a stupidly early start, our incredibly kind and thoughtful hosts prepared breakfast for us, we were sad not to have been able to stay longer and fully enjoy this little haven of perfect comfort and tranquility but left feeling soothed, fresh and with full bellies! Can't wait for a mega, full fat fry up next time Sean!

Room Tip: The cosy and well appointed garden cottage was delightful but the Oast House is something quite uniq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Château du P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

While looking for a bed and breakfast in rural Kent for a weekend break we stumbled upon Godwin House. We were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived we received a warm welcome along with homemade cake and tea(much appreciated on a cold March day). The excellently appointed garden room made a very comfortable stay with everything you could want , plus things we hadn't thought to bring. The vast choice at breakfast by far exceeded our expectations. Thanks Sean and Corinna for a great stay.

Room Tip: Remember " you only get what you pay for".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Owner at Godwin House, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

The Garden Room with va va voom! What good fun to have all these free publicity rhymes from our guests. We enjoyed the children chats. Good to compare notes and tips on bringing up four. We hope the rest of you birthday treat went well. Please come back for another one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just what a B&B should be .Both rooms were interesting and well appointed and we were welcomed very warmly. It was good to have fresh milk for tea & coffee in our rooms. Breakfast was a good combination of healthy and not so healthy options!,which we enjoyed in the main house overlooking Sean & Corinna's lovely garden .Certainly worth visiting again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobia11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Owner at Godwin House, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

We enjoyed meeting such an interesting family - it was a real pleasure to have you... and we loved the slogan you instantly suggested. We may use it for our publicity - The oast with a boast. The cheque's in the post.
We hope you'll come again and see the garden when it's blooming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in May 2012 for my birthday which was booked as a surprise by my partner. I love anything out of the ordinary and was VERY pleased with this B&B. The owners were lovely and the oast room was something out of Elizabethan England which really appealed to us. The grounds have a ha ha running through with tons of sheep next door which was nice. Breakfast was very good.

The oast room IS on a main road.. the noise didn't bother us (and apparently that's been attended to by this time by the owners), but the idea of a car veering 2 feet to the left and smashing into our bedboard crossed our minds. However, surely, that would have to be classified as one of those 'when your time is up, it's up' moments and thereby unlikely to happen.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pagansam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Owner at Godwin House, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

It's very pleasing to hear that your stay in the Oast House was a great birthday surprise for you. It is a unique space and right in the heart of Kent's history. We enjoyed having you here last year it was a merry time with our other guests. We'll be having the sheep back in our meadows when, if ever, it stops freezing/raining.
Your anxiety about the road alarmed us but I think we can set your mind at rest. (It's not an A road, it's not even a B road, it's unclassified - what used to be a C road) The Oast House was built in 1580 and rebuilt in 1740 and as far as we know, in 430 years, no bullock cart of the 16th or 17th centuries, nor stage coach of the 18th, nor steam engine of the 19th and most importantly, no car in the 20th, has ever crashed into it so we think you were pretty safe in the 21st Century.
The sound proofing is fully uprated since you were here and we'd love to see you back for another birthday - don't forget your eye mask. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

A fantastic stay in the countryside with amenities found at 5-star hotels. We had our own 'building' with a spotless and newly-refurbished bathroom and bedroom. The large bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in! Satellite tv and wifi, hairdryer, books, tea and coffee-making facilities, water, wine and snacks. Everything we needed was at our fingertips. Sean and Corinna were fantastic from the get-go, they knew what we needed and were the perfect hosts. We had a fabulous breakfast in the morning with a choice of eggs, bacon, sausage, homemade bread for toast, cereals galore, all kinds of juices, fruits and preserves. We felt well-looked after while remaining independent. Perfect in every way.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonGirl9311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GodwinHouse, Owner at Godwin House, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

It was a real pleasure to have you both and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay... despite all the rain! Thank you for your lovely review which we appreciate greatly and I hope that we will see you again over the next few years! All best wishes to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked Godwin House on-line (and were drawn to the property - it is our surname) as our usual farm house B&B was fully booked. Valerie and I found Godwin House tranquil and inviting with our hosts, Seán and Corinna most welcoming. ...afternoon tea and home-made chocolate cake was given to us on our arrival. This we partook on the patio overlooking a beautiful garden with cows chewing cud in the adjoining field - how glad we are to have such a place in England. Most welcome after our rat-race drive from Hampshire. The accommodation could not be faulted (we stayed in the "Garden Cottage"). The fridge was stocked with mineral water, fresh milk and a bottle of wine - a really lovely touch. There were also tea and coffee making facilities with additional hot chocolate, packets of crisps and a selection of biscuits. The room was well appointed and exceptionally clean and tidy. Apart from the usual television there was Wi-Fi, smart-phone charging dock and sound system and a wide collection of books to delve into. The shower-room was spacious with lots of little extras available - not just shampoo or shower gel.

Corinna arranged with the local pub (The Bull) for our evening meal - which was an experience in its self, warm, friendly, good food and good value for money.

The traditional English breakfast, with local produce, were superb, with home-made bread to die for. The table was groaning with the selection of marmalades and preservatives, as well as fresh fruit, yoghourts and a really good choice of cereal or porridge.

Seán and Corinna were marvellous hosts with great conversion on a wide range of subjects. Valerie and I have no regrets what-so-ever with finding such a quiet and serene place to spend four nights. A lovely, friendly family. A real "home from home" and a delight to stay there.

We definately will be back.

Robert & Valerie

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Owner at Godwin House, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Godwin House enjoyed having the Godwins to stay. Thank you for your good company and your kind words and we look forward to seeing you back here. Maybe you could give us a poetry recital. That would be fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranbrook
1.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
326 reviews
4.9 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
152 reviews
5.3 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Field Green Oast Bed & Breakfast
4.4 mi away
Southgate Little Fowlers Kent Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Godwin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Godwin House

Address: Godwin House Tenterden Road, Cranbrook TN17 3PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cranbrook
Price Range: $98 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to bed and breakfast at our Tudor home in the heart of the Weald of Kent. Godwin House, is an Elizabethan farmhouse built in 1580 and, set in lovely grounds minutes from ancient Cranbrook and Sissinghurst. You can choose between two luxurious en suite rooms - stylish Garden Cottage or our beautiful, unique Oast House, the oldest in England, a 16th Century building rebuilt in 1740. Garden Cottage with its peg tiled roof and weatherboarding is pure Kentish style. Exposed beams and antique furniture create a welcoming and interesting space, relaxing and private. Godwin’s Oast House is special. There’s nowhere like it. You are in the heart of Kent’s history and rural life but with en-suite comfort,fine furnishings, king sized sleigh bed and mod cons. Breakfast is the best of local produce with home baked bread fresh on the day served in our Tudor Morning Room in the house overlooking the views in this designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Godwin House Cranbrook, Kent, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing