We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptional place”
Review of Godwin House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cranbrook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Godwin House
Ranked #2 of 15 Cranbrook B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“An exceptional place”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

A wonderful place - a real treasure. From finding and booking us a restaurant before our arrival, to a warm welcome with tea and cake and finding us an alternative restaurant after we arrived late, Seán and Corinna are wonderful hosts and I can't fault the two nights I stayed in the garden cottage in any way.

As well as the place being spotless, comfortable, quiet and in a beautiful location, the small touches were appreciated - bottles of mineral water in the fridge, toothpaste and various other consumables beyond the usual shampoo in the en-suite bathroom, wi-fi access and smart-phone charging dock and sound system and a good collection of books to dip into. Nothing felt skimped on and it felt like every effort was being made to make the stay as enjoyable as possible - the traditional full english breakfasts with excellent quality ingredients and home-made bread as well as the interesting conversations with very knowledgeable hosts.

A lovely family and a pleasure to stay there. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mivens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Owner at Godwin House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
That's very kind of you and very quick. Thank you very much. It was good conversation and I'm glad you liked the books. We didn't get one in about Irish poetry - maybe next time. You must come again. There's loads more for you both to do which I know you would like and it would be fun to have you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
105
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We loved our 2 night B & B experience at Godwin House - returned 2nd year running and looking forward to next year's visit already - we can't keep away! A warm welcome from Sean and Corrina with tea and homemade cake; very comfortable, spotless, quiet accommodation in converted, listed16th century oast house or barn with an excellent breakfast cooked to order - even French eggy bread on request! A picturesque part of Kent for sightseeing all those stunning gardens, castles and National Trust properties with our hosts able to answer all our questions and requests with courtesy and wisdom. We thoroughly recommend this excellent B & B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Owner at Godwin House, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
We enjoyed our chats with you and it was lovely to see you again. We look forward to carrying on the conversations next year. The eggy bread was a great suggestion which I've secretly enjoyed myself from time to time. It's now on our menu if people want it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We wanted to visit Sissinghurst Gardens and found this b&b from a google search
What an experience from our first contact to book the accommodation. We chose the garden room which is separate from the house and actually located in the garden.
On our arrival we were given a fresh pot of tea and homemade cake which was very appreciated.
Sean and Corrina were charming hosts and they even helped us select a restaurant and booked it for us as it was a bank holiday and most were not open. They and their four children are a lovely family and having four children ourselves we could see what busy lives they lead. Nothing was too much trouble and no detail was overlooked to make our stay perfect. The breakfasts were extensive even including homemade bread. They certainly set us up for the day.
Sean showed us the oste house on his premises and also his miniature armies which represented famous battles. His knowledge of military history was astounding.
Thank you both for your hospitality and we hope to be back soon

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulwillson2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Owner at Godwin House, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
We hope it will have been happy birthday memories and we look forward to seeing you again. There are enough gardens to bring you back. We appreciate your kind words and its always fun to compare notes with fellow survivors of four children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed for two nights with Sean and Corinna and we had a really lovely time. Wonderful part of Kent for sightseeing; lovely home in extensive gardens; Garden cottage had everything we needed, including the heating on because the evenings were so chilly whilst we were there! The warmest of welcomes from our educated and informative hosts; gorgeous breakfasts.

This is our second year of staying and we will be back, next year, for our third visit.

Room Tip: Garden Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindy843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GodwinHouse, Owner at Godwin House, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
It was really really lovely to see you both again - thank you for coming back to stay with us! And thank you very much indeed for generous gift that you left - we really did spend it on ice creams at Leeds Castle today just as you suggested! Perfect. Much appreciated, I assure you! And for your wonderful trip advisor review - woweee!!!! That's so kind of you. We are very grateful and truly look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed for one night after our nieces wedding in June. Lovely setting with everything you need. Woke up to a fabulous breakfast with home made bread which was yummy and great hosts who were very friendly and great historians. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipandjerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2012

wonderful hosts, beautiful setting and a wealth of places to visit makes this bed and breakfast an ideal location to explore Kent. Must places to see Sissinghurst Castle and garden (1 miles away) and Rye (14 miles). But its the different architecture and landscape that makes the area a real pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark101001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parlin, New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Godwin House. It was a wonderful experience - beautiful gardens, historically correct restoration of a house from the 1500's, sheep & cow "noises" from the fields, a nice sense of removal from the hustle & bustle of society. Sean & Corinna are articulate, educated folks with lots of local knowledge - we had some great conversations. Too many books on the premises to even begin to explore them. The household children were extremely polite, "seen but not heard," their lives a great example of how experiences can be enriched by doing something other than video games & TV. Croquet in the back yard, anyone? I took advantage of a chance to tutor their daughter on the flute, it was lots of fun. We plan to revisit at some future date. The experience is well worth repeating. Breakfast is "traditional English fare" - get ready for the option of baked beans, sausage, bacon, porridge and so forth. They can accommodate vegetarian needs, not to worry. Make sure you have a car, as getting there and exploring the neighborhood is impossible otherwise... our original thought was to arrive nearby via public transport, that wouldn't have been practical.

Super people, great place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Owner at Godwin House, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
There's a place here for you when you come again to England. It was good fun and an intellectual buzz to have you as our guests.Excellent conversation and your insightful flute lesson was a really good boost for our daughter's playing and she's enthusiastically building on it. There's much more to see and do around here so we look forward to having you both back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranbrook
1.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
313 reviews
5.3 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
4.8 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
9.1 mi away
The Dering Arms
The Dering Arms
#1 of 1 in Pluckley
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Godwin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Godwin House

Property: Godwin House
Address: Godwin House Tenterden Road, Cranbrook TN17 3PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to bed and breakfast at our Tudor home in the heart of the Weald of Kent. Godwin House, is an Elizabethan farmhouse built in 1580 and, set in lovely grounds minutes from ancient Cranbrook and Sissinghurst. You can choose between two luxurious en suite rooms - stylish Garden Cottage or our beautiful, unique Oast House, the oldest in England, a 16th Century building rebuilt in 1740. Garden Cottage with its peg tiled roof and weatherboarding is pure Kentish style. Exposed beams and antique furniture create a welcoming and interesting space, relaxing and private. Godwin’s Oast House is special. There’s nowhere like it. You are in the heart of Kent’s history and rural life but with en-suite comfort,fine furnishings, king sized sleigh bed and mod cons. Breakfast is the best of local produce with home baked bread fresh on the day served in our Tudor Morning Room in the house overlooking the views in this designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Godwin House Cranbrook, Kent, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing