We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food served fast friendly could be slightley less pricey”

The George Hotel Cranbrook Bar & Brasserie
Ranked #8 of 19 Restaurants in Cranbrook
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
2 reviews
“Good food served fast friendly could be slightley less pricey”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Food is excelent staff friendly , management is always friendly, only issue is that the brasserie has too few tables. There needs to be more drinking area away from the brasserie not just in the cranbrook bar. The resturant is wonderful certainly better to eat in. Food is alway beautifully served the choice could be made slightley wider.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michaelhinkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    57
    31
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hawkhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
“Halibut to die for”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We had a celeberation meal in the Restaurant the other evening and it was beatufil. My husband had the fillet steak (cooked to perfection) and my halibut was exceptional. The service in the restaurant was attentive but not intrusive - just perfect. At the George we know that we get looked after and we will be back soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KLisa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average pub food, sometimes quite good”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The George is an average sort of pub place. The food is a notch up from some of the other pubs in Cranbrook, and if you go for dinner, the more expensive options are generally better. But don't expect too much, it's a good family place and has nice atmosphere. Sometimes bands play there, and it can be quite fun.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gokarna_to_Rishikesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkhurst, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Generally a nice place”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The pub usually has a friendly atmosphere and there is a really nice mix of adults and younger people (usually students home from university) to provide a nice lively buzz on certain nights. The bar stuff are all very friendly and helpful however some of the managing staff have been very unwelcoming and rude.

The food is nice however both the food and the drinks are quite overpriced in my opinion.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice Meal, Nice Atmosphere”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stopped in--unplanned--for dinner, and we were thoroughly impressed. Great old hotel (Elizabeth I stayed there) with a fabulous wooden staircase, but the bar/brasserie area has been tastefully updated. Food was great (we had hamburgers), and crowd seemed to be mostly locals and their dogs dropping in for a bite or drink. Very friendly and with a nice "buzz," but also quiet enough that you could carry on a conversation.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Meredith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George Hotel Cranbrook Bar & Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to The George Hotel Cranbrook Bar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing