We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely English pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Woodcock Inn

The Woodcock Inn
Ranked #6 of 19 Restaurants in Cranbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: British, Pub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely English pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Nice atmosphere, very friendly staff (and customers). Great beer and a good selection of other stuff for people who don't like beer. Wines very reasonably priced.
Good, quite imaginative food - and generous (vast, even) portions.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    31
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Simply a Lovely Kentish Pub !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I've been to The Woodcock many times over the years & therefore seen it managed by all sorts of different people but in recent visits it has always been really good in terms of ambience, friendliness of services, quality of food & drinks on offer.
It is such a pleasure to find a genuine Kentish Pub that has not lost it's natural charm & appeal & I do hope this continues long into the future with successive Management under Greene King as Landlords.
I look forward to my next visit very soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely meal for a friend's birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

A real local's pub - and the staff and patrons are very welcoming! We booked here for friend's birthdays and it's a pub out in the sticks close to where they lived. Although it was slightly tricky to locate in the dark it was lovely. We had an area set aside for an evening meal and pre-ordered in order for the pub to cater for 10 people. Another birthday celebration was also taking place there so everyone was in good spirits. The food really was gorgeous - I had scallops to start, followed by seabass and then chocolate pudding. All washed down with great wine and company!! Very reasonably priced, and a wonderful evening all round.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jade V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great food at great prices The Woodock is my local pub and its fantastic!!! Go there if in benenden.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 64461A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackheath london
Level Contributor
166 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A cheery welcome to a very large family party”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Hungry and new to the area looking for Sunday lunch sustenance for four adults and four children we found the perfect pub! New to the ares we found the Woodcock in incredible easy walking distance.The welcome was pleasant and staff went out of their way with finding right table,high chairs etc.Locals were tolerant and the host John most welcoming with great advice on menu suitable portions for smaller children. Food was very enjoyable, seriously nice range of beers,we will be back on a regular basis.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Woodcock Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Woodcock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing