We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very homely friendly atmosphere and lovely character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amadis Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Blean B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Very happy with the cleanliness of the room and the excellent hospitality provided by Dorothy. An excellent full english breakfast was provided!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haymaker21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 76 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2009

Having just spent a weekend sightseeing in the Canterbury area we chose to stay at this hidden gem of a B&B on the outskirts of Canterbury City centre, run by a couple obviously very experienced in giving guests what they expect, quality & value for money.

Large spotless rooms, comfortable beds, en-suite facilities, perfect food, good company & more importantly nothing was too much of a problem for Dorothy.

We are already planning to return to the area & we will definitly be staying at the Amadis B&B again. Thanks for a great experience.

Would recommend it to anybody & without question the best we have ever stayed at.
5 ***** from us.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grumpyoldboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Stayed the weekend with 14yr-old son while he attended a couse at the University. Our twin room (in the garden annexe) was rather small, but well-appointed, clean and comfortable, our hosts very welcoming, and the price more than reasonable. The Amadis breakfast would put some four-star hotels to shame. Plenty of nice country walks nearby, a couple of pubs within walking distance, Canterbury itself just a short drive up the road, and on-site live entertainment from Paddy the West Highland terrier! Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickenbacker_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

If you are looking for a place to relax and unwind with the freedom to come and go as you please this B&B has it all to offer and more. My partner and I were planning a weekend break and whilst looking for a bed for the night, stumbled upon a place that from the moment you arrive you are made to feel warmly welcome and completely at ease. There is ample parking and it is easily accessable from the main road. The rooms are sparklingly clean and the beds give you a real home from home feeling. We were lucky enough to choose a weekend were the sun was shining and were welcomed into the garden to enjoy the company of the other guests (and Paddy!) if we wished. We also opted for the much needed hangover cure in the shape of Dots fry-up breakfast which, being a chef myself and suitably hard to please, went down famously! It is easily one of the cheapest rooms in the area and i am pretty sure that no where provides half the effortless comfort and all round experience that this accommodation has to offer. The bungalow is perfectly situated just a short drive from the heart of the city but somehow maintains the air of a tranquil get away. Dot and Jeff, the energetic and wonderfully charming couple that own the Amadis, have certainly suceeded in every way to provide a warm and comfortable retreat and i am pleased to say it really is everything they could hope for.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

I can thoroughly recommend this small family run B&B. We only stayed one night while attending a wedding at Ephraim Gardens which was only about 10mins taxi ride away. I have had some bad experiences with B&Bs but not at this one.

Rooms are nicely furnished with TV and tea and coffee making facilities. One of our group had an ensuite while we had our own separate bathroom in one of the rooms upstairs.

Everything was incredibly clean. Also a very nice breakfast. Thanks to Dot and her husband!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

I planned to visit the south of England with my wife for the 5th wedding aniversary. We went to Cambridge on wednesday and then, since it was not that easy to find free places in B&B in the area, I decided to stay longer in Amadis. This was the first good decision. The room was clean, comfortable, and rather big, a big bed and a small private bathroom (with shower). The breakfast was fabulous: orange juice, yougourt, eggs, bacon, tomatoes, sausages and more, whith cafe or tea.
I've not been to many B&B in the Uk, but this was much better than the previous one in Cambridge, and same price. Dorothy is a very nice person who knows how to run well a B&B.
As for the location, the place is 5 min by car from Canterbury. There's a nice Restaurant with nice food (something that, honestly, it does not look very common in the uk) called 'Hares and Hound' (or smth like that) 5 min wlaking from the B&B. And there's a nice pub 5 min walking in the other direction (The Royal Oak, if i'm not wrong).

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PabloCobreros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VvCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amadis Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amadis Bed and Breakfast

Address: 53 Blean Common, Blean, Canterbury CT2 9EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Blean
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Blean
Hotel Class:3 star — Amadis Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amadis Bed and Breakfast is a small family run bed and breakfast close to the University of Canterbury. The accommodation comprises of good sized rooms that have all been refurbished to a high standard and include an en-suite. Complimentary tea and coffee making facilities are provided in each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amadis Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing