We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barclay Farmhouse
Nearby Hotels
$112
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Cranbrook)(Great Value!)
$71
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Weald of Kent Golf Course & Hotel(Headcorn)(Great Value!)
$67
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Star & Eagle Hotel(Goudhurst)(Great Value!)
$107
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$73
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
T & J Motel(Flimwell)
$89
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveler rating
70
3
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
3
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooked breakfasthigh standardanniversary stayattention to detailnothing is too much troubleone nightbed and breakfaststayed here for nightssunny dayplaces to visitbeautiful locationlynnhostaccommodationgardencomfortfurnishings
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 75 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2009

We stayed at Barclay Farmhouse for two nights in November as we had booked a vineyard tour of nearby Chapel Down winery for our anniversary. We arrived quite late (at about 8pm) on the Friday evening but the owners were very helpful and pointed us towards nearby towns which would still be serving supper as the local pub would have stopped serving food by then.

The farmhouse itself combines old world charm (exposed beams and oak furniture) with mod cons (great shower, comfy bed and double glazing) so you get the best of both worlds. The bathroom also had handy travel size shampoo, conditioner, shower gel etc.

The breakfasts were absolutely wonderful - I won't spoil the surprise but the presentation was beautiful and they were SO tasty, definitely one of the best breakfasts this year and that includes some very 5* Relais and Chateaux hotels which were 5 times the price of staying at Barclay Farmhouse.

The owners were really helpful; from booking a cab to take us to Chapel Down vineyard (which I would strongly recommend if you're in the vicinity. The lunch & tour includes money off in the shop after the tasting of their yummy wines), to recommending a place for dinner on the Saturday, to driving us to the Three Chimneys (the cute local gastropub they recommended). Nothing was too much trouble.

In summary, a lovely guesthouse in a beautiful location with extremely helpful foodie owners. All good!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionapm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We spent 1 night at the Barclay Farmhouse B&B in August. The rooms were very stylish and very clean and the gardens were lovely. The breakfast was magnificent - fresh fruit salad, hot croissants and a healthy fry-up of bacon, egg, tomato and mushroom. Lynne, the owner, was very friendly and helpful. Unrequested, she rang the local pub to find the time they finished serving dinner - which was much appreciated.

The only downside we discovered was how hot the rooms were. It was quite a warm day and night when we stayed, and the rooms were very warm, with only a small fan to cool them - so our sleep was a bit unsettled. However, this was a relatively small problem, and overall we enjoyed our stay very much. We would highly recommend this B&B to other travellers.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EveryOtherYear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed here for one night as a birthday night away. Upon arriving the owner Lynn welcomed us in the car park and showed us in. The room was beautiful, very clean with all needs catered for. Lovely bathroom and great shower! We were taken to our pre- booked restaurant by Lynn who offered this to us on booking- which was a nice touch. The breakfast was excellent, fresh ingredients cooked beautifully, could not have asked for anymore. All in all this was a great night away and the owners made sure our stay was special. Can't wait to go back there!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2009

My husband and I stayed here two nights and were made most welcome by the owner, Lynn. Our room was cosy and perfect with everything you could need. The bathroom was nicely done with a wonderful shower. It was a nice touch to have the little toiletries and robe & slippers. The breakfast was very tasty and very healthy, which was great, but sometimes you want to indulge a little on holiday ;)
There was lots of recommendations for places to visit in the room - for eating out we would recommend the Three Chimneys near Biddenden and The Bell at Smarden Bell.
All in all, this is a very quiet and cosy B&B decorated and run to a very high standard. Would highly recommend for a romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkey_em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2008

This B&B is in a great location, and the breakfast in the morning, as others have said, is very good. However the owners made us feel quite on edge at times. If we did not want a cooked breakfast we felt we had offended the owner. On the first day we were told our room was not left in a tidy enough state, because one towel was hanging on the back of a chair, and one on the floor in the bathroom. We were quite upset by the way we were told this as they told us this had never happened before and made us feel terrible. We have stayed in many five star hotels and B&Bs around the world and never had been treated this way. Unfortunately it marred our experience in what was otherwise a beautiful B&B in a great location.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollyglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiddendenBandB, Owner at Barclay Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2009

We worked with this guest, in advance of the stay, to make a special occasion very special for them. We provided transport at no charge to a local restaurant for their special dinner.

We had no option but to ask politely and discretely to use the heated towel rail rather than persistently placing soaking towels on the solid oak furniture as this was stripping the polish from the wood and we were facing the prospect of closing the room for specialist furniture treatment. The issue with the shower-room floor was not the towel but the flood that it was left laying in, and which was dripping through the dining room ceiling., below

We have achieved Five Star Gold status for three consecutive years, requiring the highest standard of cleanliness and service. If any guest has good reason to mark cleanliness less than 4 then we will make no charge for the night's stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews