We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, relaxing B&B.”
Review of Barclay Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barclay Farmhouse
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value, relaxing B&B.”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Fantastic countryside B&B surrounded by wheat fields. Rooms have a nice farm feel about them, but feel clean and modern. Fantastic breakfast with everything you could want, and very accommodating to dietary requirements.

Room Tip: All rooms face the same way and are completed to the same high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Just returned from a fabulous two night stay at Barclay Farmhouse for a family wedding. Throughly recommend this gem of a B&B. Delightful owners who are wonderfully accommodating and flexible. Immaculately clean and nice extra little touches. Delicious healthy breakfasts to suit all tastes.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just returned from an absolutely fabulous two night stay at Barclay Farmhouse. The owner Lynn was so welcoming and accomodating to our needs - such a lovely, lovely lady.
The accomodation is furnished to a high standard and was impeccibly clean. Extra touches such as fresh milk, slippers in the bathroom, speciality teas and fresh orange juice on arrival make this B&B stand out from all the rest. I would urge anyone, who enjoys a little luxury, to stay at Barclay Farmhouse. Everything was perfect, from the moment we pulled in to the drive way to the moment we left. We will now have to find a excuse to return - it was simply perfect. Thank you very much.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wheat room and it was lovely, all rooms looked similar - there's one on the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBCherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We've just returned from a fabulous weekend at the Barclay Farmhouse. We would thoroughly recommend this B&B. Stunning, immaculate grounds, spotlessly clean, very homely and friendly, the best breakfast we've EVER had - tasty healthy options along with a beautifully presented twist on the traditional Full English Breakfast. Top marks all round to Lyn and Howard - your attention to detail and friendly approach shines through.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnandLyndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This B&B is totally brilliant. The rooms are a high standard as is entrance hall and dining room.
The hosts are very nice and helpful. The breakfast was very nice indeed and the price was reasonable given the high standard. Very highly reccomended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This B & B is absolutely delightfulful and exceeded all our expectations. The owner Lyn is extremely friendly and helpful and a joy to chat with. Her innovative, gourmet breakfasts were delicious (I wish I could replicate them at home). The standard of our room which overlooked the garden and fields beyond was superb with every attention to detail.
Thanks Lyn and Howard for a very memorable weekend.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JudeyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

My partner took me to stay at Barclay Farmhouse as part of a surprise anniversary weekend.
Following a secret journey to the destination, I was bowled over immediately we arrived at the venue.
The roaming driveway, with stunning carp lake (or large pond, depending on how you wish to view it!), was a wonderful first impression, with a house and adjoining barn property which really was a sight to behold. Fortunately for us the sun was shining, which added very much to the enjoyment of the beautiful surroundings we had chosen to stay in.

We were warmly greeted by Lynn (owner/proprietor) who immediately made us feel welcome, as if she were welcoming us in to her own home, not just her B&B business!

The room selected for us was breathtaking, with no stone left unturned when it came to detail, comfort, character features, and all those extra special touches only found in a residence owned by someone with taste, passion and flair for their business! We immediately felt at home, and excited by all the little 'touches' we kept discovering in the room.

The standard of the room and adjoining bathroom was excellent, and the theme was bold and truly stunning. With more than your usual 'gratuity gifts', there was no stone unturned with what Lynn's accommodation had to offer.

As it was our anniversary, Lynn kindly provided champagne glasses for us to take outside (along with the champagne we had brought with us), to the secluded, and cute area tucked away in the gardens of the farmhouse. The views were wonderful, along with the enjoyment of lovingly maintained external grounds, again, with that real 'personal touch' about it.

Lynn was attentive, and generously offered to take us to the restaurant venue we had booked to go to that evening, although this was not necessary, once again a kind and thoughtful gesture nonetheless.

Breakfast the following morning was outstanding, we were aware of Lynn's excellent reputation for her breakfast cuisine, and this was displayed lovingly by the awards scattered around the property, however the expectation was by far exceeded by the enjoyment of the most wonderful breakfast, we decided we had ever enjoyed!

With a unique twist on the 'full English', Lynn really did us proud. Apart from the lovely food, Lynn made us feel very welcome as guests, and we really felt as if we were enjoying the experience of staying and dining in a beautiful family home. Lynn was engaging, kind and very informative about the local area, making us very keen to return in the very near future, to experience such a delightful stay again.

Thank you Lynn (and indeed Howard, her husband, who was busy behind the scenes!), for making our anniversary stay a memorable, and indeed truly faultless one......

Room Tip: Downstairs for beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyLou73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biddenden
2.3 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
2.2 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
3.2 mi away
White Lion
White Lion
#1 of 11 in Tenterden
346 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bishopsdale Oast
Bishopsdale Oast
#1 of 6 in Biddenden
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Farmhouse

Property: Barclay Farmhouse
Address: Barclay Farmhouse Woolpack Corner, Biddenden TN27 8BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Biddenden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Biddenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Barclay Farmhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barclay Farmhouse offers first-class luxury 5 star bed and breakfast accommodation in the quiet, historic village of Biddenden, in the heart of Kent. The accommodation is based around a former farmhouse and outbuildings dating back over 200 years, with extensive grounds and a convenient location close to the coast, many local attractions, picturesque towns and villages such as Sissinghurst, Tenterden and Cranbrook surrounded by spectacular scenery and unspoilt countryside.Barclay Farmhouse provides a retreat, with stylish, comfortable, quiet and private accommodation set back 100 metres from the road and its own beautiful gardens with wildlife pond, providing a great bolt-hole and getaway for a quiet few days relaxation, contemplation or thought. It is an excellent base for exploring and enjoying all the local area has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Barclay Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barclay Farmhouse Biddenden, Kent, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing