We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace and quiet just a step away from London”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Nimrod Lodge

Open up the windows and doors wide to let the fresh country air in...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open up the windows and doors wide to let the fresh country air in...
Outside of the Lodge opening onto the fields.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Open up the windows and doors wide to let the fresh country air in...
Outside of the Lodge opening onto the fields.
Living Area
Open plan Living and Dining Area
Dining Area
Kitchen
Double bedroom 1
Twin bedroom 2
Enjoy the afternoon sun by the pond...
Hot air balloons take off and land here occasionally too...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Biddenden, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SV59250
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peace and quiet just a step away from London”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

After doing tons of research to find a great chalet/lodge not too far from London, and after having stayed at the Nimrod Lodge for a few days, I can confidently say that this is probably the best accommodation you can find at that price.

Pretty from the outside, very modern and well equipped inside, surrounded by beautiful landscapes and lovely pubs, feeling welcomed with local bread, jam and other treats, there are too many good things to say about the Nimrod Lodge for one single review... You have to check it for yourself, you won't regret it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Some plates and glasses were a bit dusty but that's a minor detail
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
229Travel...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous countryside escape”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We've just returned from a wonderful long weekend at Nimrod Lodge, and the whole experience was great. It was really easy to get to from London and the lodge itself was beautifully decorated and airy, with wonderful views of the kent countryside. The basket of goodies was a real treat, and we felt instantly at home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty S
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday cottage”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed at Nimrod Lodge over the new year break.

The location was nice and quiet yet only a short drive from the village and other Kent attractions.

On arrival we were welcomed with a basket of goodies (tea, coffee, jam, bread...). Facilities were modern and had everything we needed for our break. Despite the terrible weather outside we found the lodge very cosy and warm at all times.

Overall very beautifully presented and decorated and we will certainly stay again, hopefully with nicer weather so that we can explore the area a bit more!!

Thanks Laura!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet location and the mod cons in the kitchen
Liked least: the weather!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelsey_e...
melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay in a charming little cottage”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We felt very privileged to spend 4 nights at Nimrod Lodge in August 2013. Our stay was towards the end of a very hectic 3 weeks tour of UK and the cottage was the perfect place to consolidate some rest and relaxation before jumping on a plane and heading home. The location is just idealic - the cottage patio opens out to a whimsical little pond, and beyond that, rural paddocks which served as a safe haven for our three year old to run herself ragged while mum and dad watched with a glass of wine on the patio!

We made good friends with the horses in the field next door and felt particularly special waking up on the Sunday morning to witness a hot air balloon rising what seemed like just metres above our head as it took off in the paddock next door.

The local towns are lovely for pottering around and we enjoyed picking our own raspberries at a farm close by. The cottage is very well equipt and exceptionaly cosy and charming. Would highly recommend for a small family in search of a holiday involving fresh air and relaxation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and charm of cottage
Liked least: Directions were not the best
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
getdown
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Bright and beautiful in the Garden of Kent”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Stayed here for a week in the early summer. This is a bright, beautiful wooden building with views across the fields. It looks and smells like new, and has furniture and fittings better than my own home! Laura was very welcoming and the welcome basket was a nice touch. Highly recommended (and the Three Chimneys pub, a short walk away, is a great place to spend an evening).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelNum...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed feel and beautiful location”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This was probably the most relaxed we have been travelling with two small children (3&5). The cabin is beautiful and spacious enough for 2 adults and 2 children easily. The best bit for us was just being able to throw open the French windows and let the boys run in the field or feed the ducks in the pond. BBQ on the veranda or just laze in in the sun on the outside sofa... Biddenden is only a short hop across some fields or less than 5 mins in the car. Wonderful well equipped place and although laura is only a few hundred meters away if you need her it all felt very private. Definitely going again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sense of space and light you get by opening all of the French doors overlooking fields and lakes
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natalie r
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Clean Contemporary and Charcterful Lodge to escape to in the countryside”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We booked a very last minute long weekend in this beautiful lodge and Laura dealt with the booking very efficiently. We felt like we had been so far away from the hurly burly of London and were very relaxed after staying in Nimrod lodge. We have not stopped talking about it to friends since, this is a very special holiday let. It is clean and contemporary with every modern convenience you need but set in the heart of beautiful countryside. Our 3 year old son loved feeding the horses in the next field, we loved opening the patio doors to see the sun rising pheasants flying, the sheep in the next field or the duck in the pond and the birds on the feeders. We viisted local villages, Tenterden steam railway, Bedgebury forest and Rye and Camber Sands. Great place to explore from. Go and see for yourself before it is all booked up!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The clean contemporary environment in countryside setting
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Rates have not been provided for this property. Please contact the owner/manager for total price.
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing