We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast!”
Review of The Bakehouse

The Bakehouse
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Biddenden
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were delighted to stumble across this little gem! Cosy surroundings, friendly and very accommodating service, and really lovely breakfasts! Everything was cooked to order and therefore was not fast food, but well worth the wait! Thank you!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TCRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    28
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mayfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Friendly, home cooking”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Generous portions of good home cooking, whether sandwich, breakfast or cream tea. Caroline makes you feel welcome in the beamed pleasant little tea shop. Nice buzz and china tea cups

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly coffee and tea shop”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very pleasant tea shop with excellent cakes, coffee, and conversation. A social center of this charming Kent village.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Starve yourself first!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

I was en route back from somewhere else having missed lunch and spotted this place. It's opposite the post office (where there are toilets-they don't have their own and directed someone there). That aside the atmosphere is olde world charm. Wooden beams with old woodworm holes, lots of old bricabrac including all the china on which the food is served. I ordered a cup o tea a small china pot of loose leaf arrived with accompanying milk jug, strainer and china cup and saucer. It made my day then my baguette (soft) arrived jam
Packed with sausage and caramelised onions a little side salad and large dollop of amazing coleslaw. I'm so glad I was starving as it was more than enough. I forgot to mention every cup and saucer is served with a bite size version of some of the cakes on offer. I loved it. The lot cost me £7 and I didn't grudge a penny or the tip as it was helpful, quick and friendly service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful Old Place With Hardy Sandwiches”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We visited the Bakehouse after touring the Biddenden Church just down the street. The service was very friendly. We had ham sandwiches that were so large we could have gotten by easily on only one. Enjoyed the hops hanging from the beams near our table. This was a famous hops producing area we were told. They have homemade jellies and jams for sale. Just a nice relaxing place to feed our stomachs and think of my relatives leaving this village about 1630. Definitely want to return.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnson747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bakehouse also viewed

 
Biddenden, Kent
 

Been to The Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing