We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Great hotel in an excellent location right on the sea front. Quite pricey but the service and accommodation were all excellent as were the breakfasts and the evening meal we had. We went for a relaxing weekend and that's exactly what we got!
The hotel is well located to explore the island and the town itself is lovley with a number of restaurants and quaint albeit expensive shops.
There is no parking at the hotel and this presented a bit of a problem as the parking nearby is all metered and we either had to get up early to move the car or park in the main car park which was a bit of a walk.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 449 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Fantastic building in a lovely location and the rooms are nice too. What a shame that the service is so inconsistent and the attention to detail so poor. The young staff are generally enthusiastic, if somewhat ineffective, so the the only conclusion can be that the hotel is badly managed. Getting your morning tea is a bit of a lottery, there was no knob fitted on the inside of the bathroom door which made it a challenge to close, the wifi is ground floor only but is slow and doesn't reach the breakfast room and worst of all......no marmite! Breakfast service was painful, with orders being taken incorrectly and tables not being cleared. The only time we took lunch, the meals arrived at different times.
Overall, it looks the part but it is not run the way you would expect for this sort of money.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view over the marina or the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mervyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

20 of us went for a friends birthday. Lovely day and had a table in the garden overlooking the Solent. The food and service was spectacular, they managed to serve us all at the same time, and the quality of the food was amazing.some of our friends can be quite demanding,but nobody had a bad comment to make. It's also not over the top price wise (£25-00 for 3 course Sunday lunch) and has a great wine menu.
If you like the Royal at Ventnor, you will love it here.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank ruthpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

WE stayed here a number of times in the early part of this year and on all occasions found all of the staff happy to deal with us at any time, always pleasant and happy, many London establishments could learn a trick here. The rooms are well above average and the restaurant including breakfasts excellent although after several visits I was becoming bored with the menu, it does need changing more often and also with the availability of quality fish products so close the lack of a specials menu surprised me.
My only real gripe with the place is the scrappy almost non existant internet access, even in the public rooms and bar you are lucky to get any reception, go to any of the local pubs within spitting distnce for coverage, they really do need to sort this out as they do with the equally difficult TV reception in the rooms. It is not rocket science!!!!
Go there and form your own opinion, you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaddyPurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

A wholly average experience at an above average rate. Best example of inadequate Hotel Management seen to date. At the buffet breakfast we asked for croissant and danish, response, 'we don't have those but you can buy them around the corner' - so I did!! Brought them back into the hotel to have with breakfast, they were excellent!!!!!
Living on its past, in an excellent location, with poorly trained albeit courteous staff = complacent management.
Days are past where average is acceptable - wake up The George

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Average_unacceptable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I have eaten at the George on prior occasions and it had been a pleasure,I walked through to the garden which has a good view of the yachts taking part in Tattinger Regatta. I was sat for 10 minutes and being ignored by three member's of staff eventually I approached a waitress and asked what they were servicing as it was 4pm ( I would have been happy with coffee and cake or sandwiches and a glass of wine) alas I was advised there was no service between 3pm-6pm for non residents | How bizarre in high season with three regatta being held.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jjfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at the George for a long weekend in April and overall had a lovely stay. I booked quite late and the lady I spoke to, very honestly, said the the only room they had left wasn't one of the best and a little small and she gave me the choice instead of just going ahead and booking me in. I went for the room anyway and it was still a very pleasant room; very comforatable, big flatscreen TV and a large en-sute. The food, staff and service in general was all very good and the hotel is in a quite exceptional setting right on the water. Highly reccommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
14.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
951 reviews
9.6 mi away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
101 reviews
12 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
364 reviews
15.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
17.1 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Quay Street, Yarmouth PO41 0PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yarmouth
Price Range: $172 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel is a 17th Century town house in the bustling village and Harbour of Yarmouth on the Isle of Wight. A Traditional environment of warmth and atmosphere is found in each individually designed bedroom. Meticulous attention to detail perfects a marriage of comfort and relaxation, and caters for your every need. All rooms offer: full room service, bathrobes, hairdryers, direct dial telephone, satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Yarmouth
The George Hotel Yarmouth, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing