We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We loved it.”
other travelers have booked this property
The patio at Beach Cottage is the perfect place to enjoy the sun setting over the sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The patio at Beach Cottage is the perfect place to enjoy the sun setting over the sea
The living room in Beach Cottage has a log fire and stunning sea views The woodlands next to the cottage back onto the sea at Fort Victoria Country Park
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
48 reviews
The patio at Beach Cottage is the perfect place to enjoy the sun setting over the sea
The living room in Beach Cottage has a log fire and stunning sea views
The woodlands next to the cottage back onto the sea at Fort Victoria Country Park
Brand new (2017) hand-built kitchen, with tall fridge-freezer, integrated dishwasher & Zellige tiles
Compton Beach, one of the most stunning beaches in southern England, is a 10 minute drive away
The dining room is beautifully equipped for an great foodie's holiday by the sea
The gardens at the front of the cottage
At the rear of Beach Cottage there is a breakfast patio and a summer house in the garden
There are stunning views of the Solent from the woodland paths outside the cottage
The master bedroom in Beach Cottage is at the front of the property, and has fabulous sea views
Over 50% of the island is designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, most of it in the west
The living room looks out onto the gardens in front and the sea
The woodlands behind the cottage are full of wooden sculptures, wildlife and secret paths
The kitchen at Beach Cottage is fully equipped for cooking, has a dishwasher and washing machine
The twin room in Beach Cottage, overlooking the rear garden and the woodlands behind
The beach and woodlands at Fort Victoria Country Park
Beach Cottage has an wood burning stove and a solid wood surround
There are fabulous cycle and walking routes starting right next to the cottage
Next to the cottage is Fort Victoria, where there is a planetarium and a marine aquarium
The sea front right in front of the cottage
Fort Victoria beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
zapcat97
bristol
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved it.”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We enjoyed a lovely stay in this great location. The cottage was perfect for our needs, we found it comfortable and sociable. The outside spaces gave us a choice of dining options, we used the bbq most evenings to make the most of the ever changing vista and beautiful sunsets and the garden table for alfresco breakfasts to make the most of the morning sun, well sunnyish! We found the Isle of Wight friendly and welcoming, we didn't use the car all week, we purchased a group bus pass and enjoyed travelling around on the frequent, efficient buses, meaning we could enjoy pub stops!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBA272
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage, superb location.”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely little cottage with lots of character in an amazing location. We loved the sea in its various moods and watching all the passing boats, - always a changing scene. It was very windy for a few days during our stay, but there was always somewhere to sit outside to get out of the wind and catch the sun. Will be idyllic on a nice summers day. Great place for dogs, they are made very welcome. Only one possible hitch is the garden at the back is not enclosed, a very quiet access lane runs along the back of the houses, not a great problem but worth noting. Lots of different walks straight from the house, you don't need to go near roads if you don't want to. We enjoyed walking along the beach to Yarmouth and calling the water taxi over the river to get in to the town. Tried several restaurants, especially enjoyed The Hut at Collwell Bay, great fun on the waterfront , very good food. Also enjoyed The Red Lion in Freshwater. Thought Natasha and Mark run a very professional operation, they were very helpful through the booking process and helping with ferries etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of enclosed rear garden
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niki6251
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Super cottage in quiet location with sea views”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A lovely clean and very quiet cosy cottage with heaps of character and in a location that could not be better. Allocated parking was a plus and only a 3 mins drive from the gorgeous town of Yarmouth where the ferry comes in from Lymington and with a Solent view across a grassed area where rabbits nibbled!

Plenty of great restaurants in the local town. Tried The Hut at Colwell Bay - excellent seafood on the beach! Also, Saltys in Yarmouth both the downstairs bistro and then went back to the upstairs restaurant - both quality meals. Treated ourselves one night to The George - a smashing posh dinner in the conservatory overlooking the sea. We don't cook on holiday!

Would recommend this cottage without reservation.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimanis
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for young kids”
Reviewed March 31, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The view of the cottage entertained our kids for hours through a winning combination of bunnies in the communal garden and various boats sailing past at all hours of the day. A lovely cosy cottage which is well equipped (we didn't miss a single thing) and spotless. Good location for getting around the island by car. Also, having the country park on the doorstep was an added treat. We'd love to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location - stunning view
Liked least: difficult to walk into town with young kids
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliJC27
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great base for walkers and dogs”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We (4 ladies) used this as a base when we did the coastal walk. Lovely spot with the sea on one side and the woods/coastal path on the other. The seating area at the back was a lovely place to sit and recover from our long walks, we preferred to sit at the back away from the rabbits at the front as we had 2 dogs with us. The dogs were welcomed with open arms, in fact we found the whole of the island to be dog friendly. We dined in 5 times, the kitchen stocked all the utensils we needed. (We ate out at the Bugle Inn, Yarmouth twice) Nothing was too much trouble for Natasha.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryre...
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Peaceful cottage”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage was almost as it appeared in the photographs although it looks like the back terrace with the Summer house is completely enclosed, however it is not - it is across a path that is accessible by other people. Therefore I was a little disappointed that this was not made clear because it had appealed to me that the dog could have an enclosed area to wander around off lead. It also looks flatter in the photo whereas it is actually on a slope. That aside, it is a lovely little two-up two-down cottage with a fab view of the sea that is ideal as a base for exploring the island. Plenty of dog-friendly places to eat within walking distance and plenty of lovely walks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View of the sea
Liked least: Back garden not enclosed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane W
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sea views !”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Very clean,comfortable and well equipped cottage in a great location .Sea views to wake up to from the master bedroom and lounge.
Local cafe Verdi at Fort Victoria good for breakfast and about 15 mins walk by the sea to Yarmouth for a good choice of pub/restraunts.Can reccomend The Wheatsheaf , great food and dog friendly . Weather great for our stay which was a bonus !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing