We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yarmouth's Best.”
Review of Forresters Wine Bar - CLOSED

Forresters Wine Bar
Price range: $13 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The winds of change have hit Forresters. We are now open as a Wine Bar with several bar snacks available from a simple sandwich to salads and house specials, all at very reasonable prices. I have decided that 3 courses of fine dining isn't always the best evening out. Sometimes a prawn cocktail and a glass of wine in elegant surroundings fits the bill perfectly. So there will always be a good choice of food but no longer fine dining. Still the wonderful ambiance of Forresters Hall, always good service but now at a fraction of fine dining and pub prices. How about a cocktail to start off your evening? Or reserve our mezzanine floor for a small private party. Hire out the whole place for functions or family get togethers. Or just pop in for an alternative place for a drink. I am determined to keep both food and drink prices extremely sensible, eg bowl of chilli and a crusty baguette for £5 and spirit and a mixer for £3. Regular live music, not loud but pleasantly entertaining and enjoyable. Regular pianist on most Fridays. I hope that you will still keep us on your list of places to go and look forward to welcoming you to Forresters Wine Bar.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yarmouth's Best.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you looking for the best meal, good service in different surroundings with one of the best welcomes you will get then look no further than Forresters in Yarmouth.
Located up the side street just past the Police Station and above an Art Gallery.
We have eaten there at lunch time, early and late evenings, and everyone is meet with a warm welcome, whether it is your first time or you are a regular the welcome, service and food is always the same "excelent" Well done to Amanda and her Staff, long may they continue.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crystal1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    31
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A fabulous dining experience”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

When we rang to book we were warned that the only free table for the five of us was on the mezzanine floor which could be a bit warm. We decided to book anyway, and had a lovely roomy table on the said mezzanine floor. It was warm, but not uncomfortable, and we felt very pleased that we had been warned and given the choice not to proceed.
We were greeted warmly, and made to feel very welcome. The menu is not massive but we were all spoiled for choice.
Starters were delightful, and mains ample and somehow very special. Deserts were great.
The wine choice was excellent, but we had the house wine, not only was it great, but very reasonable.
The overall bill for us worked out at just over £20 per head, and we did not stint!
We were only on the IOW for a few days, but we knew we would be back - two days later we went back again!
The second time it was not so busy and we were downstairs, the food was just as good, if not even better than our first visit, and the welcome just as warm.
It is very rare I would recommend a restaurant without reservation, but if you are visiting the IOW do not miss this one.

Helpful?
Thank ianxwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Tuck Away”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Tucked away on a almost pedestrian only part of Yarmouth, this excellent find is well worth the visit with a credible and varied menu that is well presented and unpretencious.
Some very nice twists to existing favourites and a well thought out wine list make this jem stand out way above so many others. Dont go here if you want dustbin full ammounts of mash, chips etc, this is a step above all that.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BaddyPurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food, relaxed atmosphere and friendly service”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We ate very well, the food was delicious and were in generous portions. We came to celebrate my Mum's special birthday, and were all made very welcome. There was extra cushions for my 4 year old niece, and straws for her and her brother. The wine list was good and reasonably priced. There was a bit of forgetfulness with our second round of drinks, but it was busy and it happens sometimes. We didn't go thirsty after a gentle reminder.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yes, its the best restaurant.............by far”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Lived on the island for 30+ years and never knew this restaurant existed, so thanks Trip Advisor. Booked a table for my wife and I for lunch on her 40th birthday. Was warmly welcomed by the chef who served us drinks. For starters we Marrow Soup and Mushroom with ham and melted smoked applewood cheese which were both fantastic. For main course we had Bream and Pan cooked chicken, again faultless. Just had to have pudding so we went for Baileys Cheesecake and Apple and Raspberry crumble with ice cream. All 3 courses were the best ive ever tasted and will definatley be returning soon.

Go on and eat there, you will not be dissappointed

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Countrystock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forresters Wine Bar also viewed

Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
 
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing