We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Sentry Mead

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sentry Mead
Ranked #1 of 10 Totland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We've just returned from a three night stay at Sentry Mead. Everything was lovely! We have nothing negative to say and would highly recommend this well-run, clean, well-situated, friendly and very comfortable establishment to anyone. Well done to the owners and staff!

Room Tip: Room name: Totland. Generous size room. Nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Sentry Mead. Your comments are lovely and mean a great deal to us. We're happy you enjoyed your stay - hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    25
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
224
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Sentry Mead ticks all the usual boxes - clean, friendly, great location, tremendous breakfasts, stunning gardens, and so on.

It also has a USP that lifts it above the 'ordinarily excellent' - a guest lounge that is a genuinely nice place to be. This takes the experience into the realms of a short stay with old friends, rather than a visit to a B&B.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
It was lovely to meet you and we're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. Your comments are fabulous, so thank you very much for reviewing Sentry Mead. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Sentry Mead is a friendly family run business. Always welcoming and positive towards their guest, offering pleasant and relaxed environment. We are regular visitors to this hotel and as of to date never been disappointed. The breakfast is of a very high standard, with service to match.

The location of this hotel is ideal for those who wish to explore the 'downs' and Totland Bay offers some of the most spectacular scenic views and sunsets. We look forward to our next visit.

Certainly a five star experience!!

Room Tip: All rooms are favourable and set to a high standard of presentation. The room rates Really depends o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Flybiggles_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We appreciate the time it takes to go online and leave reviews - it's so important and we're very grateful. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay again and we hope to welcome you back many more times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

After reading the reviews which mentioned dogs, we booked into this hotel and were not disappointed. Unlike at some hotels dogs are only allowed in certain / particular bedrooms (tend to be below average) - sometimes we feel like second class guests because we bring our dog! At Sentry Mead we could choose a room fit our budget - we like our dog to enjoy the same luxury and comfort as we do. Our dog was made very welcome and allowed in the lounge (but not dining room - which is very fair) and in the lovely gardens (however, the beach is close by).

Likes: comfortable bed, bright and clean room, useful information on where to eat (with notes where dogs allowed), lovely lawned gardens, good choices for breakfast and very nice hosts! No problem with parking or wifi - all good. Good room lighting.

A few reviewers mentioned the Bistro - this has been closed due to the chef's illness.

Shower over bath, water pressures not great (typical UK plumbing system).

Will definitely stay here again when visiting Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelreviews06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for Sentry Mead. We really appreciate the comments and we're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying recently for four nights. I can honestly say that it was excellent. We brought our two Westies and they were made to feel very welcome too.

Everything about the Hotel suited us perfectly as it was the first time we had visited the Isle of Wight and it did not disappoint. We stayed in the Brook room which was immaculately clean and perfect size for us on the 1st floor. We had breakfast everyday and ate here twice in the evening and ALL meals were beautifully presented and very tasty too,

The lounge and conservatory rooms were very pleasant as were the grounds. The Hotel is situated in an ideal spot for peace and quiet as well as proximity to the beach.

Sarah, Jean-Pierre & Bridget made our stay very enjoyable, nothing was too much trouble and I will have NO hesitation in recommending this lovely place to anyone.

We will definitely book again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Brook which was excellent, however, they all looked excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy2925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you very much for the review of Sentry Mead. I am particularly happy to hear that you enjoyed the meals in the evening as I am now cooking for my guests and details of what's on offer is on our website. It was a pleasure to meet and you and I hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

3 couples found there way to Sentry Mead on Bank Holiday Sunday..we asked if chef could provide lunch (it was 13:15) we ordered some tapas for starters Marinaded mushrooms, artichokes, olives... all delicious ( the mushrooms were exceptionally good). We ordered sea food stew, mussels, fig ham and rocket salads....all were exceptionally good, proffesionally served on the patio.

I asked for some chilli sauce..the chefs homemade variety is it to be treated with caution.

The Chefs homemade Biscotti is exceptionally good... the coffee we had was a not as flavoursome as we had hoped.

We have decided to come back to Sentry Mead for a long weekend to try the rest of the menu.....and the rooms.

Thank you SM for a great lunch.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Abdul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you stopped by and tried the Bistro. It would be lovely to be able to welcome you to the hotel for a long weekend and we can certainly recommend some excellent places to eat in the local area. Forresters in Yarmouth is particularly good. We can offer a select menu within the hotel and details are on out website. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have just spent yet another lovely few days at this gem of a hotel. We loved it just as much this year, and it was a bonus to be able to eat at their newly-opened 'Bay Bistro'. The food was delicious and the chef went out of his way to create a dish that would please our vegetarian daughter. Thanks again to Sarah, Jean-pierre & Bridget for making us so welcome once more. We will be back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLA296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
It was lovely to see you again this year. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totland
15.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
1.6 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.6 mi away
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#1 of 50 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rockstone Cottage
Rockstone Cottage
#1 of 9 in Freshwater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
11.4 mi away
Chale Bay Farm
Chale Bay Farm
#1 of 4 in Chale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentry Mead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentry Mead

Property: Sentry Mead
Address: Madeira Road, Totland PO39 0BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Totland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Totland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sentry Mead 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sentry Mead is a Victorian villa beautifully situated in the tranquil West Wight. Less than 200 yards from Totland beach, guests are assured of a warm welcome at this relaxed and informal guesthouse. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sentry Mead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentry Mead Hotel Totland
Sentry Mead Totland, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing