We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High standards still maintained!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sentry Mead

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sentry Mead
Ranked #1 of 13 Totland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“High standards still maintained!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Having previously visited Sentry Mead at the end of May and been very impressed, we returned in October on a '3 nights for the price of two' deal which proved to be of excellent value. Having stayed in a beautiful room 'Totland' on the first occasion, this time we opted for 'Alum' on the
first floor. This room was even more impressive and could not be faulted There are four windows with views of garden and sea beyond, a comfortable seating area with a large television, a very comfortable bed with access to another television, and a very high standard of interior decoration and cleanliness. The weather during those few days was not particularly good, but our room was warm and welcoming and most pleasant to return to at the end of the afternoon. Breakfast was excellent, and Jean-Pierre, Sarah and Bridget were again very friendly and helpful. Berry, our labrador, was also pleased to return, and settles very happily here into holiday mode!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for Alum or Totland, but we are sure that all cheaper rooms would be of a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seeking_Shangri-La
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was wonderful to see you again and I was extremely happy to hear that you have enjoyed our Alum room - the latest room to be brought up to standard. We look forward to seeing you again, along with Berry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    25
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
220
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chislehurst Kent England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

A wonderful place to stay. We were looking for a hotel that catered for dogs but didn't look or smell as though they did, as we're very fussy. Sentry Mead fitted the bill in every single way! Beautifully clean and first class standard of service!
We will most definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you so much for leaving a review for Sentry Mead. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Sentry Mead for 3 nights and took our dog along for the trip.
If the hotel didn't state it welcomed dogs, you wouldn't know due to it being so clean & fresh looking. As it is, it is a lovely place to stay with your dog.

Taking the dog away is a new thing for us, but the Sentry Mead and it's staff made it seem completely normal. There are water bowls for the dogs in most areas (Except dining area, as understandably dogs aren't allowed in there), the staff are brilliant with the dogs & fuss them to death.

Now onto us humans!
The hotel is lovely. It has that old traditional feel but with a modern (not over the top) twist.
The rooms are superb and it's location is brilliant for beach walks, attractions & amenities.

We will absolutely being going back to the Sentry Mead (with or without the dog) the next time we visit the IOW.

Big thumbs up!

Room Tip: When you come out of the hotel, take a right & walk towards the trees & lane - there you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. Going away with your four-legged friend for the first time must be a little stressful, so we are very pleased that we were able to make you all feel relaxed and welcome. It would be lovely to see you again, with or without the dog.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We visited the Isle of Wight to attend the christening of our Godson. Having seen the Sentry Mead on the TV programme 4 in a Bed, we decided it looked ideal. We booked 2 rooms (Alum and Totland - one for us and one for my elderly parents) and we couldn't have been more pleased with the whole of our stay. The views from the rooms are fabulous and the house is beautiful throughout. My parents (being elderly) are extremely fussy and hate being away from home, but they both thoroughly enjoyed their stay and loved their room - to the point of wanting to go again. The owners are faultlessly polite and helpful. Guesthouses simply don't get any better than this - to top it all off the breakfasts are fantastic.

Room Tip: Alum and Totland are very spacious, well equipped rooms with fabulous views - both are extremely qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of Sentry Mead. We're so pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us - particularly your parents, as it's always tricky when you are booking for someone else! It was a pleasure to meet you all and we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Lovely quiet seaside location, where you are made to feel you can relax in peace and comfort. Sarah & Jean-Pierre’s numerous thoughtful touches are visible everywhere. The evening shoreline stroll is a must, after a day visiting IoW attractions, or walking around the inviting headland coastline.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NickL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review of Sentry Mead. It was lovely to meet you both and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Spent a few days here in the Alum room which is lovely, spacious and comfortable, with sea views. Everyone here is very friendly, helpful and efficient and you wake up to a good English breakfast. Lots of great walks nearby and nearly always with the sea in view. The west is a much quieter and more rural side of the Island but it has a lot to offer and there are some great pubs in the area for lunch or dinner. Also close to Yarmouth for the ferry and restaurants. All round a good relaxing break.

Room Tip: The Alum room has distinct entrance, bed and sitting areas and sea views from 2 windows on the corne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. Your comments were lovely to read, so thank you for taking the time. It was a pleasure to meet you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful weekend celebrating our anniversary at this beautiful hotel. A warm welcome by Jean-Pierre who carried my bag up 2 flights, thank you :) We wondered if the location may have been a bit remote for us, but there was easy access out of the village and little traffic when we went for an evening walk down to the seafront. Ventnor Room had great seaview, and lots of storage in bedroom and bathroom too - very welcome for us girls with lots of toiletries etc. Thank you to Sarah for our anniversary card ... very thoughtful. Would definitely stay again when visiting IOW. Service at breakfast best ever, thanks to very pleasant waitress.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneyG_696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SentryMead, Owner at Sentry Mead, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review of Sentry Mead. Although we are situated over on the Western side of the Island, you are right to point out for future guests that it is very easy to get around and all the major sights are within an easy distance. It was lovely to meet you both - thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totland
15.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
1.6 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
2.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
12.0 mi away
Hermitage Court Farm
Hermitage Court Farm
#1 of 3 in Whitwell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentry Mead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentry Mead

Property: Sentry Mead
Address: Madeira Road, Totland PO39 0BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Totland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Totland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sentry Mead 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sentry Mead is a Victorian villa beautifully situated in the tranquil West Wight. Less than 200 yards from Totland beach, guests are assured of a warm welcome at this relaxed and informal guesthouse. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sentry Mead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentry Mead Hotel Totland
Sentry Mead Totland, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing