We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable pub grub!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Highdown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Highdown Inn
Ranked #12 of 13 Totland B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Reasonable pub grub!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Highdown Inn has a large car park which is most welcome in the small country lanes. It is not far from the Needles and Alum Bay and a redeeming feature is that it does not stop serving food at 2pm [as do most other eateries in the area].
The pub is a traditional one & as we visited on a cold February day the roaring log fire was both attractive and kept the pub warm. It was busy with a mixture of locals, walkers, etc some of whom had their adorable dogs with them!

There was a dining room but we sat at a table in the pub and enjoyed the atmosphere. The menu was average [typically pub] and what we ate is tasty & fresh and promptly served. Prices are reasonable. On blackboards are displayed the day's specials. Not worth a special trip but a good place to stop off for food, or a drink, if you are touring the area!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    21
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
13
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We found this pub via trip adviser and we were first a little skeptical when walking in to book a table for later, as the pub was pretty much empty. When we arrived to eat we were sat next to a log fire, which was VERY welcoming as it had been freezing outside. You order at the bar, but this was expected as a pub meal, so we weren't too fussed, just hungry! The food arrived very quickly and exceeded all my expectations taste-wise, as I was expecting a basic pub meal. The portions were quite large, but I cant complain! (rather have too much than too little). The ambiance was also great, not too loud and had a very local feel to it. Overall, a great little restaurant and pub!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Living on the Island and eating out at week-ends i.e. Fri,Sat,Sun the Island is full of lovely places to eat and drink, one of our favourites is the Highdown.
You can guarantee that whenever you visit from Thursday through to Sunday evening the food is both plentiful and excellent from fresh Shellfish and Locally caught Fish to some of the lovely local fresh Lamb,Beef or Pork that comes from the Island the choices are unlimited, apart from the choice of the home made deserts here.
Also there is a very well stocked wine list and some wonderful local beers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Visited the pub recently with friends and was disappointed when we had to wait 40 mins for our order. A positve was that the food was hot & good quality. This is a locals pub and it did standout that food pre-ordered was served first before visitors.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bowcombe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were staying in a cottage in Freshwater over Christmas and chose the Highdown Inn for our Christmas Lunch.
the dinning room is very small, and most of the guests were locals who made us feel very welcome.
I would say that the standard of food was average, but the cosy atmosphere made up for that.
We looked around a few places that we thought might do lunches on Christmas Day but it seems there are not too many, probably due to the amount of hotels catering for christmas.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheemee153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
132 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We received a very friendly welcome at this busy pub with good ale and a splendid board full of tasty choices. A mix of bikers, walkers and dogs, and visitors made for cheery company.We had Ham/Egg and chips; lobster/prawn salad (which was enormous) and steak and kidney pudding. All delicious and generous portions. Ringwoods and Black Sheep ales were fine companions.On our second visit it was a pity that the catch of the day was gone before seven, but the substitutes were fine. A first class traditional pub; well worth calling in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ambrose6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed at the highdown inn Totland august bank holiday 2012 for the first and last time.I found the carpets very worn and dirty,The bedroom we had smelt stale and musty and water marks evident on the wall by the chimney breast.
The shower cubicle had cracked tiles and the room needs total refurbishment.Please be aware the prices on the website start from £30 each per night,so make sure this is clarified when booking with them as you will get charged more on a bank holiday.The restaurant carpet was dirty on both mornings.The service was not what we were expecting and the staff unfriendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trishcheetham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totland
1.3 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.3 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
16.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
3.1 mi away
The Bugle Coaching Inn
The Bugle Coaching Inn
#1 of 6 in Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sentry Mead
Sentry Mead
#1 of 13 in Totland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highdown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highdown Inn

Property: The Highdown Inn
Address: Highdoon Highdown Lane, Totland PO39 0HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Totland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Totland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highdown Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Highdown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highdown Inn Totland, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing