We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch”
Review of The Highdown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Highdown Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Totland B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Visited the pub recently with friends and was disappointed when we had to wait 40 mins for our order. A positve was that the food was hot & good quality. This is a locals pub and it did standout that food pre-ordered was served first before visitors.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bowcombe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for The Highdown Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 61 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were staying in a cottage in Freshwater over Christmas and chose the Highdown Inn for our Christmas Lunch.
the dinning room is very small, and most of the guests were locals who made us feel very welcome.
I would say that the standard of food was average, but the cosy atmosphere made up for that.
We looked around a few places that we thought might do lunches on Christmas Day but it seems there are not too many, probably due to the amount of hotels catering for christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheemee153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We received a very friendly welcome at this busy pub with good ale and a splendid board full of tasty choices. A mix of bikers, walkers and dogs, and visitors made for cheery company.We had Ham/Egg and chips; lobster/prawn salad (which was enormous) and steak and kidney pudding. All delicious and generous portions. Ringwoods and Black Sheep ales were fine companions.On our second visit it was a pity that the catch of the day was gone before seven, but the substitutes were fine. A first class traditional pub; well worth calling in.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ambrose6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed at the highdown inn Totland august bank holiday 2012 for the first and last time.I found the carpets very worn and dirty,The bedroom we had smelt stale and musty and water marks evident on the wall by the chimney breast.
The shower cubicle had cracked tiles and the room needs total refurbishment.Please be aware the prices on the website start from £30 each per night,so make sure this is clarified when booking with them as you will get charged more on a bank holiday.The restaurant carpet was dirty on both mornings.The service was not what we were expecting and the staff unfriendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trishcheetham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Probably just about the best sea food menu we've seen in a pub anywhere.

We popped in because we were staying at the campsite across the road and spotted that they did sea food. We arrived after 8 and had resigned ourselves to checking out the menus over a pint with a view to returning the following day. We were pleasantly surprised to be told we could be accommodated until around 9 and then to be presented with a choice from three blackboards of mains, most of which were fish-based (though there were some veggie options too). Our only regret is that we were so full after our mains of haddock and fishcake that we didn't get chance to sample the deserts.

Everyone was lovely and friendly and we'll definitely be back. An absolute gem that we can't praise too highly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

After a long walk along the coast, we dropped in to the Highdown for lunch.
While there is no shortage of pubs on the Isle of Wight, this is one that you would want to return to.
The menu is extensive and at the time we were there, crab was in season... the Crab sandwich was amazing. Best i have ever had. local-caught made it even better.
Lots of beer on tap and you can choose to sit outside in a nice garden, in the 2 sections of the pub, or in the restaurant area.
Staff were really friendly and lots of locals were there.
if you are having dinner... try the Mussells!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelcato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I am always on the search for that elusive gem of a pub serving fresh local crab and lobster, served simply but perfectly. I arrived at the Highdown after a walk with the family on Tennyson Down. I was in high hopes seeing the local sourced ingredients advertised on the menu.

Turned out to be the usual pub menu, scampi and chips for the kids, but there was lobster and crab salad for the adults. My wife had the lobster - which when it arrived was only a half - not whole and had clearly been cooked some time before. I had the crab which was OK. Salad was usual supermarket bag with a few sliced peppers.

Service was average, clearly no idea. Starter was missed, no butter with the bread. When ordered a half used ramekin from another table was delivered. Hmmmm don't you love double dipping! 'Homemade' deserts were ordered - but the only thing local about them would have been the delivery driver taking them out of the van. Bill was London prices.

If you want a pint after a good walk fine, otherwise you could choose pretty much any other random pub and you wouldn't notice the difference.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagicRoundabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totland
1.3 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
316 reviews
4.9 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sentry Mead
Sentry Mead
#1 of 11 in Totland
374 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Bugle Coaching Inn
The Bugle Coaching Inn
#1 of 6 in Yarmouth
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Golf House
The Golf House
#5 of 11 in Totland
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highdown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highdown Inn

Address: Highdoon Highdown Lane, Totland PO39 0HY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Totland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Totland
Price Range: $98 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highdown Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Highdown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highdown Inn Totland, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing