We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly and authentic”
Review of The Highdown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Highdown Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Totland B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 23, 2012

After a long walk along the coast, we dropped in to the Highdown for lunch.
While there is no shortage of pubs on the Isle of Wight, this is one that you would want to return to.
The menu is extensive and at the time we were there, crab was in season... the Crab sandwich was amazing. Best i have ever had. local-caught made it even better.
Lots of beer on tap and you can choose to sit outside in a nice garden, in the 2 sections of the pub, or in the restaurant area.
Staff were really friendly and lots of locals were there.
if you are having dinner... try the Mussells!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelcato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 63 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

I am always on the search for that elusive gem of a pub serving fresh local crab and lobster, served simply but perfectly. I arrived at the Highdown after a walk with the family on Tennyson Down. I was in high hopes seeing the local sourced ingredients advertised on the menu.

Turned out to be the usual pub menu, scampi and chips for the kids, but there was lobster and crab salad for the adults. My wife had the lobster - which when it arrived was only a half - not whole and had clearly been cooked some time before. I had the crab which was OK. Salad was usual supermarket bag with a few sliced peppers.

Service was average, clearly no idea. Starter was missed, no butter with the bread. When ordered a half used ramekin from another table was delivered. Hmmmm don't you love double dipping! 'Homemade' deserts were ordered - but the only thing local about them would have been the delivery driver taking them out of the van. Bill was London prices.

If you want a pint after a good walk fine, otherwise you could choose pretty much any other random pub and you wouldn't notice the difference.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagicRoundabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

We visited the Highdown Inn on Friday 27th April for a family evening meal. We had always heard good reports about their food, so decided to see for ourselves.

The food was outstanding, all freshly sourced and the most generous portions. It was extremely well priced and the service from the young lad behind the bar was excellent.

We tried several of their fish dishes, and were great, especially the smoked fish platter.

The real ales were excellent and a good selection. After visiting WestWight for many years and regularly eating out, this was by far the best meal I have had in ages.

Tip.. Buy a bottle of wine instead of glasses, works out much cheap!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthonydowsett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Quite tucked away but a great find.
I did not actually stay here, just came for lunch.
Honestly, the best fish and chips I have ever tasted.
Very reasonable priced too.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mr-W-Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We were staying on the island last week staying at The Seaview Hotel (not impressed) and were lucky enough to stumble across The Highdown Inn at Totland during a drive round the island. We received a very warm welcome and enjoyed an excellent lunch in a lovely cosy bar.Plenty of good things on the menu and served very pleasantly and well On studying the menu we saw that we could have ordered roast beef. That would have been a real treat on a Wednesday had we noticed it sooner. Most of the produce on the menu is also locally grown or reared.
We saw that they also had rooms and guessed that they would have been superior to the room we had the The Seaview. If there is a criticism it is that the entrance isn't very clear being just a plain door. We watched as others tried to find the entrance. The proprietors were baffled by this but it was obvious that there needed to be something on the door to indicate that it was actually an entrance.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeangoody2shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Totland hotels
0.2 mi away
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Sentry Mead
Sentry Mead
#1 of 11 in Totland
388 reviews
0.7 mi away
Whitefield
Whitefield
#4 of 11 in Totland
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Golf House
The Golf House
#7 of 11 in Totland
45 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chart House
Chart House
#3 of 11 in Totland
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highdown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highdown Inn

Address: Highdown Lane, Totland PO39 0HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Totland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Totland
Price Range: $108 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highdown Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Highdown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highdown Inn Totland, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing