We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spolit by comerical over development!”

The Needles Battery
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Totland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spolit by comerical over development!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Site had lots of tacky little shops and fairground but natural beauty was very lovely. there are steps down to the beach where you can catch a boat round needles or the cable car which is high! Good day out but made better by going up to the actual battery at top of hill by National Trust. Better to get a rover ticket and bus. parking poor.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lougib45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitorManager, Manager at The Needles Battery, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and for recommending a visit to the Needles Old Battery. Most of the other places referred to are at the Needles Park which does not belong to the National Trust. The Trust looks after the headland just past the park and there are some wonderful walks on the headland and a viewpoint overlooking the Needles as well as the Needles Old Battery & New Battery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    281
    71
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“More interesting than you would expect.”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

As we were quite close to this attraction, we thought we would give it a try. You have to park in the 'Needles Attractions' car park (£4) and suspect this would be more in high season? - and then walked to the National Trust Battery. We went with our children (10 and 12) and there were clothes to try on, interesting models and some very entertaining and informative signs to keep you interested on your way round. The tunnel down to the searchlight area was good, fascinating to think how cold and lonely it would have been. We visited the cafe on site, very small but sea views, good coffee and cakes. Very helpful and pleasant staff. We didn't do the 'new battery' as a bit cold. We walked back and did go round the 'Needles Attraction', shops, shops and shops.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lily_Billy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,MA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great historical stories”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

After reaching the top of the walkway the battery welcomes you in to a really interesting and informative piece of history. Spent some time reading stories and walking around to get the feeling of what it must have been like to be there during wartime. Interesting story about the ship who crashed into the needles. This is a sight to be seen. Don't miss it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“See review of The Needles”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We found this a excellent place to visit. Having intended to spend an hour or so, we spent most of the day there and we were fascinated by the history involved in this small area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sarahJo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A different sort of National Trust property”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

A spectacular spot, with fantastic views and a broad range of Military history.
The Breeze bus service with a discount for NT members is the best way to get there.
Take your camera and binoculars.
Good spot for watching migrating birds.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lordmorchard55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Needles Battery also viewed

Totland, Isle of Wight
East Cowes, Isle of Wight
 
Newport, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Needles Battery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing