We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous and unfaultable hotel!”
Review of Seaview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seaview Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Certificate of Excellence
exeter
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous and unfaultable hotel!”
Reviewed March 14, 2010

Came to the island during half term with my brother and his young family and stayed in the fabulous Brian Gardener Suite- amazing to find such high quality accommodation which sleeps up to 8 of us comfortably! There is a beautiful lounge full of quirky cricket memorabilia (my brother loved this- must be a man thing!) with views down towards the sea, four fabulous bedrooms split over two levels, perfect for putting the children upstairs, shutting the lounge door and having a glass of wine as we discovered.

Ordered room service on the first night, which came promptly and was staggered giving us a bit of breathing room between courses and meaning the main wasn’t cold by the time we got to it! i had the Seaview crab ramekin (delightfully crabby- no measly portions or flavourings in sight) followed by venison which melted in the mouth and disappointingly was too full up for a pudding!

We used the day times to explore the Island and where blessed with rather good weather. The Duty Receptionist was wonderful enough to provide me with a little pack of details for all the fun and exciting things to do out of season including road maps and directions to make it that bit easier for us!

The little touches to the Seaview made it that much more welcoming and friendly than many places i have been before. The children received teddy bears at evening turn down, and we received hot water bottles- perfect to take the chill off the cold evenings! All of the staff were helpful and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble! The rooms were cleaned every day, and tidied again at bed turn. The decor was tasteful and elegant - better than some of the ghastly IKEA decorated holiday inn type places out there!

All in all a fabulous and unfaultable hotel!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamsinharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    143
    36
    13
    7
See reviews for
112
221
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Pulborough
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

My husband and I travelled to this charming hotel for our 25th wedding anniversary. We stayed for 2 nights on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal, which included the ferry from Portsmouth. The attention to detail was amazing, down to the hot water bottles in our beds with Horlicks! The food was outstanding and the service excellent. It was very quiet, as was out of season, but we loved everything about this hotel and we had a dual aspect view of the sea, perfect!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2009

We were looking for a hotel in the Isle of Wight open in December that accepted dogs as we were a family group of 16 (ages between 7 and 80!) with 4 dogs who were there for a big birthday celebration.
This hotel was just right. The staff make it ... and the rooms are a delight to sit in around the bar with all the pictures of the boats .... and the breakfasts are superb. Our bedroom was excellently thought through and there was a turn down service and hot water bottles! Our bathroom was a little dated - but that didn't spoil the weekend at all, and we have seen what they have done with some of their other rooms where they have refurbished .... tv's above the bath etc and beautiful contemporary fittings.
Overall though - the staff come out tops for their service, smiles and attitude (all of them we met over the weekend).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2009

Just returned from a one night stay at the Seaview for a birthday - we'd all been to eat before but only one of us had stayed. We stayed in the Apartment which was beautifully decorated, one window with a lovely view of the Solent and a comfy living room. Would definitely recommend this room to groups. Service from the moment we arrived was so friendly and accomodating, from hotel manager to restaurant manager and waiters. We ate in the restaurant on a saturday night and there was a really nice atmosphere, the restaurant was 3/4s full of a mix of guests and locals - not bad for early december, especially as we had expected the place to be literally empty. Food without exception was delicious, including a fantastic course of venison sourced from their own local farm supplier. After asking the restaurant manager about the venison the chef made an appearance at our table and obligingly talked us through the cut and cooking - apparently this was a new chef (as we were told by locals and the head waiter) the previous chef having been there for 2+ years. This change of chef may be the reason behind our differing experience of the food from that of previous reviewers. As a really nice touch we were brought a piece of cake with sparkler to celebrate the birthday we were there for - we hadnt asked for this and had only told them about the birthday 5 minutes earlier.
The whole ambiance of the Seaview is great, and although the rooms and hotel are lovely the staff are what makes it - we'd have no hesitation in staying again at one of the best if not the best small hotel on the island.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Just done a repeat stay with friends on the Island and The Seaview still has it all. The staff are the real winners who just make everything perfect. You won't be disappointed - but if you are tell them and all your issues will be resolved with a smile.

Wonderul welcome for children was very evident and you can understand why this easiness makes it a perfect choice for families.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panpaniscus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaview, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

I have a stayed at this hotel several times and although it is a little pricey, I can't praise the hotel highly enough. The service and the food is excellent. The bedroom choice is either one of old world charm or modern luxury.
If you are looking for a relaxing break by the coast and an opportunity to be really pampered, this is the place to come.
The breakfasts are just fantastic, you won't need to eat again until the evening.!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

Stayed for one night with a voucher in The Times newspaper which reduced B & B rate down to £90 from £150. The staff were all charming and very helpful. The room was well serviced and although there was no outlook, and was above the kitchen extractor which thankfully shut off at 10pm, was very comfortable. The bed was turned down during the evening. The main restaurant was empty and seemed expensive so we settled for a set-price 3-course dinner in the bar. The starters and desserts were OK but one main course (cottage pie) was "sloppy" and the "local veg" was completely undercooked. One piece of runner bean an inch wide and a courgette chunk with a few carrots. The other seemed to mainly bread and was salty. We didn't expect fine dining for £10-50 per head. The table had not been wiped properly from the previous customers. Breakfast the following morning was excellent and served in the main dining room. Once again staff were very pleasant and attentive. Might stay there again but I'm sure there are better value places on the beautiful Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodPring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaview
9.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
832 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
456 reviews
7.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
7.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Hotel

Property: Seaview Hotel
Address: High Street, Seaview PO34 5EX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Seaview
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing