We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquill Location Off The Tourist Track” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seaview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seaview Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tranquill Location Off The Tourist Track”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Booked our room here after arriving on the island on a spur of the moment getaway and were so happy with our stay. This Seaview Hotel is in a nice quiet location that isn't touristy at all and is much bigger than it appears from the street front. Limited parking is available to guests free of charge. The restaurant is very popular offering absolutely delicious food. We couldn't get into the restaurant the night we arrived so booked in for our 2nd night, but luckily the hotel also has two bars and offers a nice selection of more pub style food.

We stayed in Room 4 which did not have any sea views. It did have a little balcony however the kitchen air-conditioning vents were right outside the room and could be heard from within the room 24hrs a day - this didn't bother us as we find white noise actually helps to lull us off to sleep. Though not a very large room it was fine for the two of us and there was a lovely large guest only lounge area nearby. The room was very clean, smelled beautifully fresh (would love to know which washing products they use for their laundry - the linens & robes smelled absolutely wonderful!), was nicely decorated and they really had thought of every creature comfort. The bathroom was a good size with a nice deep tub with shower. A word of warning though there was no shower rail or curtain so if showering rather than bathing you essentially have to sit in the tub and hold the shower head, which despite best efforts leads to a wet bathroom.

The included breakfast was the best offering I've ever experienced and set you up for an active day. A great buffet of the usual cereal, fruits, yogurts, croissants and juices, but the hot breakfast menu was incredible. Generous portions with choices including Full English, Eggs Benedict with Ham or it's posher cousin Eggs Royal with Smoked Salmon and Pancakes with Maple Syrup to name a few.

Overall this was a great hotel with excellent, courteous, friendly staff who go out of their way to help and we would happily stay again.

Features: Free WiFi (accessible from this front of hotel room), TV & DVD Player, Robes, Complimentary Slippers, Hairdryer, Tea/Coffee/Biscuits/Bottle of Sparkling Water (no fridge in the room though), Black Out Blinds, Shoe Polisher, Sewing Kit, Absolutely gorgeous toiletries, a big bottle of bubble bath in the tub and more.

Room Tip: Whilst we quite liked it you should avoid Room 4 if you find the constant hum of industrial aircondi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fijikiwicombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    134
    34
    13
    7
See reviews for
106
207
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a welcoming, friendly hotel in a quiet and beautiful location by the sea in the lovely Isle of Wight. A place to completely relax. The food is excellent and the staff are very pleasant and chatty. The double bedroom we had was a little on the small side but perfectly adequate with a French door and balcony and the power shower in the ensuite was excellent. This is one of those hotels where people happily return again and again.

Room Tip: This is a quiet peaceful location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YJP568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Very good stay at the hotel, Room was decent and comfortable although decor a little tired in parts. Service was excellent both at reception and in the restaurant. Helpful and friendly staff. Quality of restaurant food (both for breakfast and the evening meal) was excellent and I thought it was very good value for money, too. Location of hotel very good as well and parking, although a bit limited, was easy enough and always found a spot, if not in the car park then in the immediate vicinity. Lovely part of the island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jprwmlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I recently had the opportunity to stay at this delightful hotel for 4 nights, nothing was too much touble for the delightful staff, we experienced great and very friendly service at all times.

The food cooked by Chef Alan and his chefs was first class, both in the quality of the food and the way it was cooked and presented

Breakfast was fantastic the full English was cooked to order (no horrible congealed buffet breakfast here) the bacon, eggs and sausages were top notch in quality and taste we found out they were from there own farm, definitely dont miss breakfast

I was surprised to read previous negative comments as we certainly did not experience this

A lovely boutique hotel by the sea with fabulous food and service what more could you want

A fantastic time was had and a big thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiecoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were made welcome from the moment of our arrival, and nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff. We were travelling with a dog, and they even made sure that she was fully catered for.

The food was of excellent quality, and varied, and made from delicious local produce, and the staff were very friendly. The breakfast was cooked to order and was one of the best restaurant breakfasts that I have had.

I am aware that there had been some problems with the kitchen in the past, but they have truly turned things around now.

I do not understand how anyone who has been a guest in the hotel recently could complain about the quality of the food or the service.

Everything was also great value for money.

I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy6w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We visited the hotel for Cowes week and have to say, it was as good as ever!
The Methuen room is still a delight, totally private and self contained.
Food was superb and the service efficient.
Perhaps some decoration over the winter would be an advantage to keep the place at it's best.
Still a real gem of a hotel - quirky, but great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hollycottagebandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have stayed at the Seaview Hotel a number of times and it is consistently good. I'm actually quite shocked at some of the negative comments on here and it makes me question how guenuine they are? The Food is excellent, both in quality (some of the produce is from their own farm),and is very good value for money.To say the food is pricey is unfair - if you are comparing it against bog standard pub food,then yes, it is slightly more expensive, but the difference in quality is miles apart.The new Chef has done a fantastic job with the restaurant. The service is very good - relaxed and informal and the staff are helpfull and polite. If we had any issues, they were quickly dealt with and the staff really try to help (quite a rarity these days!). Our room was very clean and comfortable and decorated to a good standard. I never cease to be impressed with the hotel and will definitely be returning again soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaview-Hotel A, Front Office Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
What a treat to wake up and read your review - we are all extremely pleased that you had a lovely stay and that you will be returning.

The team at the Seaview Hotel believe that everyday is a holiday for our guests and with that in mind, we will do our utmost to address any issues during your stay - I am glad that this was your experience.

Head chef, Alan Staley, has dramatically changed our food offering and this year we have experienced a dramatic increase in restaurant diners. Relaxed, informal service combined with delicious, skillfully prepared yet unfussy food is what we aim for.

Thank you for submitting your feedback and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,

The Seaview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaview
9.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
7.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
5.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
9.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
9.7 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Hotel

Property: Seaview Hotel
Address: High Street, Seaview PO34 5EX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Seaview
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing