We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is just OK - but great location”
Review of Priory Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Priory Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Spent the weekend at the hotel - the staff was attentive but not friendly, rooms just average and no shower in our en-suite. Food trendy, but very small portions for high prices - nicely presented. But, weekend was saved by the location - great breach walking and views.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyboyinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
There are newer reviews for Priory Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 426 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2010

We have just stayed at this hotel and have found it one of the best hotels we've stayed at in a long time....its only 3 stars but we have stayed in far worse 5 star hotels in the UK.

Superb room in the main house with a view of the Bay...dinner in the restaurant was also superb ... a couple of hiccups were put right immediately, professionaly and without question.....as was lounging about with a pre-dinner drink on the sofa infront of the open log fire.

Breakfast was top quality too...

We thought that the whole place had a wonderful atmosphere (it did help that the weather was glorious with an amazing full moon)..the walk through the trees down to the private beach (most pebbles) with all the birds and red squirels was a joy.

Equally, we cannot understand the few negative comments here about the staff???.....everyone that we encountered was of the highest quality and above all, cheery.

The only downside to us was that we noticed that pets were allowed...although that's probably just on the outside buildings and rooms....not keen on the idea that a dog has slept in or on a bed that I'm sleeping in.

We will not hesitate to return when we can.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPrioryBay, General Manager at Priory Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2010

Thank you for your comments. I can confirm, pets are only allowed in the cottages!

See you soon hopefully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

On our 4th visit we found ourselves unable to leave due to severe weather conditions.What a dilemma! Accomodation was immedietly offered,ferry bookings altered and specialised food arranged for our disabled family by the michelin star chef. A polished peformance from all the staff. The Priory bay excells. Fabulous warm comfortable accomodation, the food was warming and the hospitality heartwarming ! This hotel is not to be missed-A GEM ON THE ISLAND

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommyWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPrioryBay, General Manager at Priory Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2010

Thank you so much for your lovely comments.

We love having you and your family here and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Having read the other reviews I was terrified about our anniversary trip to the Priory Bay. However I needn't have worried. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds, with a lovely walk down to the private (sandy) beach.

We were given a warm welcome and shown to our room, no sign of the grimy worn out hotel I was expecting and our room at the very top of the hotel was simply stunning! We had our own balcony with a fantastic view of the sea. Also we had been left fresh fruit and an anniversary card from all the staff. Rooms have Freeview and a DVD player as well as lovely Molton Brown toiletries.

My next fear was the food - the first night we ate in the Oyster Restaurant - basic value food and we only had one course but it was all nicely cooked with friendly service. We had been given menus to read in the bar before hand and our drinks were carried from the bar to the restaurant.

For the night of our anniversary we ate in the Island Room - again it was attentive and friendly service. I can see if busy they may have problems but we felt the pace of the meal was perfect. The food was lovely - my partners beef was simply stunning. No it isn't Michelin star quality but nor is it Little Chef. It is clearly a hotel on the up and trying to deliver good quality in relaxed surroundings. For me they succeeded. Yes room for improvement but I didn't feel that at £35 for 3 courses the meal was at all over priced.

We had drinks in the bar afterwards and again all the staff were very friendly - it was a very enjoyable stay and we will certainly go back. We met one couple that have been regulars for 10 years and they certainly had no complaints!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoF-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPrioryBay, General Manager at Priory Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2010

Thank you for your lovely comments, and i am glad you had a good anniversary.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We had 3 nights at this hotel recently.
Bits of the building are part of an old priory and so the overall aspect is “historic”.
The grounds are quite large and extend down to a large private beach and encompass a 9 hole par 3 golf course, OK for a bit of practise, greens looked OK, fairways rough.
There were gardens and a swimming pool, but due to the time of year it was full of leaves, brown water didn't look nice.

There was a shortage of rooms when we booked and we took an oak panelled room (No 3). Overall the room was pleasantly furnished in a traditional/historic way. We were warned the room had dark walls, but it was really (really) dark, even in the day. There was insufficient light to see what was in your case. All it really needed were some decent lights set in the ceiling as in the bathroom. The other problem with the room was that only one small window opened, the other being screwed shut. Even in September this made the room stuffy and hot. They really need to fix this – get some new opening windows.

Although the hotel was furnished nicely, some of the carpets were threadbare on the stairs – I don’t expect to see this at £200per night.

One evening we eat in the Island Room restaurant (traditional). The food was OK, not brilliant and service was slow. Another dark gloomy room. We sat for ages waiting for someone to offer us some bread. Finally some arrived in the restaurant, but the waiter didn’t seem to want to hand it out until we asked, then everyone did – it was delicious however. The staff didn’t really seem to be trained. Before dinner we had gone for a drink in the bar. We were asked if we were dining, but no one then thought to offer us a menu and then they disappeared and didn’t come back. Overall the meal was OK but not worth the ca £120 bill (for 2).

Other evenings we ate in the Oyster Room restaurant (bistro/fish). The food here seemed better and cheaper and the service was friendly and good – we were happy with this one. Breakfast was excellent and service was good. Usual buffet, fruit, smoked salmon, cereals etc. followed by English breakfast or poached fish.

Overall I would only go back if I needed a hotel in the locality and couldn’t find an alternative, but never to Room 3.
I would never go there for a treat.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeoCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPrioryBay, General Manager at Priory Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2010

We would love to put additional lighting in the Room, however, it is the only room in the hotel that contains the origional oak panelling and we are therefor not allowed to install additional lighting. We have carried out lots of general maintenance recently and have an ongoing plan in operation.

Thank you for your comments though, they are all very helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We stayed (trapped)over the August bank holiday, frankly it was awful!! When we complained no one took any notice. Quite who runs this place is anyones guess. The breakfast room tables and floor were dirty every day (3) and dinner on the Saturday evening was bland, tepid at best and all over in 70 mins? Having left a note you would have thought someone would have written by now to appologies but NO.

They may believe it's shabby sheik, we would say it's just grotty.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KentTonbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPrioryBay, General Manager at Priory Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2010

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and also that you did not recieve a reply to your comments. We respond to all guest comment forms following departure, unfortunatly we did not recieve yours. I wish i had been aware of your concerns at the time as we could have rectified them for you. PLease do contact me if you wish to discuss further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

My wife and I wanted a weekend away from the hustle and bustle of London and found the Priory Bay hotel on tripadvisor. We were looking for a relaxing, long weekend and a place where we could go on long countryside rambles. The Seaview fit the bill.

We didn't get off to too good of a start as our first room was directly above the kitchen (I think it was room 15 but ask and avoid it if you can). The management was incredibly accomodating and put us immediately into another room which was lovely and much quieter.

The hotel has a lovely private beach and grounds. It has a small golf course but it was probably more useful for learning the game than playing it. The pool was nice but as it was an August weekend the place was loaded with families and it was over-run with kids - all very well behaved.

Seaview is a great little village and a short 20 min walk away - great seaside pubs A nice alternative if you don't want to eat at the hotel every night.

My only issue with the hotel was with some additional fees they charged for beach towels and tennis court time - from my perspective, these should have been included in the price of the hotel.

Overall, we really had a very enjoyable weekend and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBB1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPrioryBay, General Manager at Priory Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay, I am glad you had a nice time with us. That particular room does have an occasional problem with noise from the kitchen. we do warn guests of this, I am sorry you we not warned in advance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaview
9.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
877 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
453 reviews
6.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
17.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
424 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Bay Hotel

Address: Priory Croft Priory Road, Seaview PO34 5BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Seaview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Price Range: $170 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Priory Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Priory Bay is the Isle of Wight's leading country house hotel. Set within a 60-acre estate, it's period buildings have spectacular views out to sea, with gardens and woodland running down to the bay. It inspires our chefs to use the finest seasonal ingredients, whether foraged, farmed or fished we are passionate about local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Priory Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Bay Seaview
Hotel Priory Bay
Priory Bay Hotel Seaview, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing