We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing with a nasty twist at the end” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Priory Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Priory Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Disappointing with a nasty twist at the end”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wife and I stayed overnight on Sunday of the early May Bank Holiday weekend. Pre booked Red Letter Day. Friendly check in and escorted to room which was clean and fresh. I fancied the bar snack of pickled whelks and ordered these for £3.50. I received precisely five of the smallest whelks i have ever seen, not exactly VFM but you live and learn. Decided to have dinner despite the ridiculous over priced cuisine. Preordered our choice (whole bass for two) to be told it was unavailable! Offered Pollock instead but we declined as the two fish are not remotely comparable in terms of flavour or price. As nothing left on menu we fancied nor was reasonably priced, we elected to eat out. On returning in the mid evening, and turning in at 10.30 after a long day we were kept awake by noise of occupants of room below us talking loudly until the early morning. This was also interspersed with car engines revving by thoughtless guests who liked the sound of their engines and very noisy hot water and radiator plumbing. Breakfast was adequate but nothing special, had the same quality and selection in a B&B day before on other side of island. No continental meats. Service was very good. When we went and asked to check out, the very arrogant and rude receptionist (different to check in lady) said "good"?! Not sure what we did to upset her seeing as we had not complained about anything? Anyway best bit was when she incorrectly presented the bill (remember this was a pre booked Red Letter Day stay) and when my wife tried to explain, she was aggressively, condescendingly and rudely told the hotel did not accept Red Letter Days and my wife HAD to pay. Only after the Reception Manager intervened was this impasse resolved by his profuse apologies and confirmation no payment was necessary. As my wife explained, mistakes happen, but there was no excuse whatsoever for the way the Receptionist treated and spoke to my wife as if she was some sort of unwelcome guest trying to get away with not paying her bill, and had no right to query the incorrectly presented bill.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank koogeybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    77
    60
    56
    29
See reviews for
132
170
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Spent a couple of lovely nights at this hotel on my own the week before last. All that I had read about the great location and brilliant staff was validated. Particularly impressed with the care and passion that went into the food. Really liked the warm foraged salad of sorrel, wild garlic and garden greens, the local fish and native oysters, sea buckthorn curd pudding, salted caramels and honey comb made with honey from the bees of the head chef's mum. Had such a good time that I came back with a friend this week. Last night we had the tasting menu which was one of the best dining experiences that I have had in a long and greedy life. Still thinking about a lightly smoked scallop served with a sliver of new season rhubarb. James, the sommelier, served glasses or lovely wine which perfectly matched the taste of each course. Hugely impressed with Ollie, the head chef, who is using the his experience and skills to show case the great local produce to its best advantage. Every member of staff was determined to make sure that we had a great time. They seemed proud of their work and their hotel. Go there if you get a chance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary-Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed one night only on a last minute booked business trip. Great experience and stay.The staff professional and friendly.Got a beautiful spacious room , which was furnished very much in keeping with the Hotels period style.
Could not try the restaurant but the menu looked very appetizing .Beautiful grounds unfortunately the weather did not permit an explore.
Would have liked to try the restaurant after reading the menu!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lemgotravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights attending our friend's wedding which was held at the hotel. Have to say this is a gem of a hotel. The staff are all uber friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. Head Chef Oliver has created some outstanding dishes with locally sourced and foraged ingredients, and the wine, Sommellier James, apart from being a hugely helpful individual, has an encyclopedic knowledge of his subject and has created a wine menu that perfectly compliments the food. All in all an excellent dining experience. Didn't get to try out the golf course due to a cocked ankle but those who did gave it a thumbs up.

Room Tip: Room 12 is one of the principal rooms and is right at the top of the building. requires climbing sev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munstermaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I had dinner at The Island Room restaurant on Easter Saturday evening to try out the new team of James front of house and Ollie in the kitchen.The result was quite superb.Ollie has not forgotten the foraging skills and creative cooking learnt at Noma.Proudly telling us that everything we ate,bar the sugar and I think salt, was from the Isle of Wight.Ranging from whelks through wild garlic through pine infused pork broth to seaweed wrapped 50 day aged sirloin the courses kept surprising. All beautifully matched by the charming and knowledgeable James' wine selections.It was an experience to remember and the equal or better to anything we have had in London.All presented in the beautiful Island room which looks great after a recent makeover.One of the best located country house hotels in the country is really greeting into its stride.

Room Tip: We only had dinner so could not rate sleep,rooms fitness or spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shrivEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was only our second time at the hotel and so it was nice when the staff remembered us from our last visit, especially as we had only stayed a night after having dinner there. The building is wonderful and the bedrooms very, very nice. There are also extensive grounds, however, due to the weather we could only have a limited walk around as paths were too muddy. The staff are friendly, yet professional, and give each guest personal attention which helps make you feel special. With all this, and the excellent restuarant and food, it makes even having a night away here feel like you have had a relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarvis95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel is in a super spot, the staff were cheerful and very helpful and breakfast was very good. The rooms in the hotel are probably lovely but we stayed in cottage 31 as we had our dog with us and the main building is off limits to pets. We were most disapponted as the cottage was expensive but very basic - nowhere near the luxury of the hotel but the same price! Pretty well equipped but a tiny kitchen, very small lounge with diddy couch and chairs but no small tables for e.g. drinks. No shower either. Challenging 6 hole golf course and lovely beach.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel rather than a cottages 31 to 39
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaview
0.8 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
6.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
9.1 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Bay Hotel

Property: Priory Bay Hotel
Address: Priory Croft Priory Road, Seaview PO34 5BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Seaview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Priory Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Priory Bay is the Isle of Wight's leading country house hotel. Set within a 60-acre estate, it's period buildings have spectacular views out to sea, with gardens and woodland running down to the bay. It inspires our chefs to use the finest seasonal ingredients, whether foraged, farmed or fished we are passionate about local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, LateRooms, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Priory Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Bay Seaview
Hotel Priory Bay
Priory Bay Hotel Seaview, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing