We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best food this year”
Review of Priory Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Priory Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
portsmouth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best food this year”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

we were warmly welcomed,then shown to a table that we were not to happy with ,without any hesitation we were shown to a table with beautiful views.
Our waitress was a very attentative young Polish lady who obviously enjoyed working there,and new the history of this very imposing house,withot encroaching on us she answered all of the questions that we asked.We chose the Sunday carvery,on its arrival we were more than pleased,there was more than enough meat on everyones plate,and the vegetables were well presented and cooked to perfection.
Wines although a little on the expensive side were very nice .I am a big eater but Icould not find room for the good selection of desserts,to top it all the chef presented himself at our table to ask if we had enjoyed our meals,a resounding YES.
Definitely worth another visit ,and when the weather improves there is a very nice al fresco area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    77
    60
    56
    29
See reviews for
132
170
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Laleham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I can't believe that any one would dislike this friendly hotel, the staff pleasant willing to help where they could, food wonderful, location perfect, accommodation clean, children loved the hotel and loved the walks, as a family totally relaxed and will be returning.

Thank you

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Sheer luxury! Room was huge, beautiful and just amazingly awesome. Bathroom was just the most sumptuous ever and a delight to bathe in. Comfort is abound throughout the hotel, a real taste of how the other half live! Menu for vegetarians isn't the most imaginative and not much variety, so after a couple of days we ate elsewhere to avoid repeating the same dishes, so I have eaten far better in mid range hotels. But for comfort and luxury this is tops : )

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodyLawrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel is relatively small but is spread over an extensive bucolic site overlooking the sea. The beach and Seaview village is a 10 minute walk down a country lane.
The hotel has an individual charm with friendly service. We have stayed several times and the rooms are all excellent. The breakfasts are also very good and individually served. The dinner menu is varied and along with the service is of a high quality.
Overall it is difficult to fault if you want a relaxing and bracing few days

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxdown88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Another fabulously relaxing and wonderful time. Our favourite hotel. Children always cry when it's time to leave and beg to stay longer, I feel much the same. Very special people, place and experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateSW19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I am actually staying at the Seaview Hotel for a few day with family and friends but after a lovely walk in the sun today, decided to stop off at the Priory Bay for lunch.

I really like the look of this hotel and although we've not stayed there, have often thought that we should try it out sometime. There was no lunch being served but a late breakfast was still in progress. After our 'brunch' today, I don't think I'll bother.

I have to admit, we arrived quite late and the staff did lay up a table for us but one of the main problems was the buffet table was almost bare, nothing much was left to help yourself to. The staff made no effort to restock empty plates or bowls.

We ordered our cooked breakfast hoping that this would be better.

Three of us had the cheese omelet which was just that, on a plate, absolutely no effort made on the presentation.

My husband who had asked if the eggs benedict was ham or bacon and was told ham, was amazed to discover that roast beef had been used instead! Very strange and I'm not so sure that poached eggs go very well with beef!

We were then surprised that our bill for six breakfasts (4 adults, 2 twelve year old girls) came to £153!!

This must be THE most expensive breakfast I have had and definitely one of the most poor quality ever.

I would not mind paying if it represented good value for money but it certainly didn't this time.


Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Noonfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely country house hotel and our rooms were the best in the place - I believe they were rooms 12 &13 overlooking the sea. Definitely book one of these if you can. The rooms are of a high standard with the bathrooms very clean, new and recently redone but there were a few details that could be improved - the curtains had some stains for example and the rooms were either a bit cold or smelt funny. I aired out my room a few times but the smell was difficult to get rid of. The grounds are extensive and lovely but there is a limited amount to do in the winter and when it rains, as was the case when we stayed. I was particularly unhappy to find that all of Sunday was devoted to a huge wedding fair that we had not been warned about when booking. The fair took over every public area in the hotel which means we didn't have any privacy. A lovely place but make sure you get a room overlooking the sea for a good rate!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ClareMM2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaview
0.8 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
442 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
832 reviews
6.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
454 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
6.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Bay Hotel

Property: Priory Bay Hotel
Address: Priory Croft Priory Road, Seaview PO34 5BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Seaview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Seaview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Priory Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Priory Bay is the Isle of Wight's leading country house hotel. Set within a 60-acre estate, it's period buildings have spectacular views out to sea, with gardens and woodland running down to the bay. It inspires our chefs to use the finest seasonal ingredients, whether foraged, farmed or fished we are passionate about local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Priory Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Bay Seaview
Hotel Priory Bay
Priory Bay Hotel Seaview, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing