We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, great beer and very good meal.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Fort

The Old Fort
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Seaview
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great beer and very good meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Went for a beer one night, in a blizzard, then returned for a meal on the Saturday night. Very friends service and great beer. The food is a good set of choices and our party were all really impressed with their mains. As for the puddings - chocolate bread and pudding to die for. I've been here a few times over the years and always had a good experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    89
    13
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One and Only..........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have been frequenting this pub for a few years now as a couple and when the family is over it is a must.I cannot think there is a better place on the island for a Sunday Roast ,Warm friendly atmosphere,Fresh Food Fantastic views across the solent and good varied menu nothing is too much touble if you want to change your meal around a little.
Booking is essential for the roasts.We usually go in the winter months as it is more of a island local place .In the Summer the Yachtees [who seem to like to mix with their own kind] come and take over which is great for the Fort.
The owners are personable and have good local knowledge.
Must give a mention to Debbie who makes the whole visit and time you spend there a pleasure.Also the Chef compliments by the Roasting Tray Full.
Lets hope it doesnt change .

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Guaranteed: a warm welcome & terrific food - at great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Old Fort is perched right on the seafront in Seaview and as such has unbeatable views - even when the weather's rough, there's something wonderfully reassuring about being safely cosied up inside the Fort whilst the waves crash magnificently outside the window.

Every time I go there, I'm met with a warm smile and genuinely friendly, helpful service - even when the place is packed (which it invariably is). It's hugely popular with locals as well as holidaymakers so is busy year-round and you'll need to book if you fancy one of their famous Sunday lunches.

The menu is varied and delicious - more imaginative than your average gastropub but surprisingly reasonably priced. Equally great choice for romantic meal for two or a get-together with the whole family - children are made welcome and my two (5 and 7) loved their lunch. They also have a private dining room and I can't imagine a nicer choice for a bijou celebration.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MammaPo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
205 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Very Deceptive Building for its title”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We visited here to meet my son on a Friday evening prior to his wedding. Having arrived the facade of the building isnt quite what i was expecting with the name as it states in its title cafe bar it does indeed look more like a cafe from the outside. However having gone inside what a fantastic little gem of a place this turned out to be.
There was no problem with our two grandchildren being allowed entry and most of us ate during the early part of the evening and the choice was varied and at a very reasonable price. The two female bar staff were very friendly and made us all feel very welcome. Thankyou. There are several tables inside to sit or dine at and although busy for a cold wet December evening it wasnt overcrowded and there was plenty of room within. I would imagine that this is a very popular establishment in the summer days where it overlooks the Solent towards Portsmouth and the atmosphere within was lovely.
For the menu choices on average most main courses were around £7.50. There is a good choice available and something for everyone to enjoy whatever your palette choice would be.
Being a real ale drinker it was nice to see that they had ale from the Goddards brewery on the Island available and a few pits of Wight Old Ale went down very easily. It was well kept and at a nice temperature.
Would definitely go back here every time i visit my son and new daughter in law.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SwissTonyPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mougins
Level Contributor
302 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fun place with good grub !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Had a Sunday lunch here ,glad we booked ahead as it became extremely busy .Good crunchy roast spuds ! Extensive menu ,curries great and nothing too pretentious. Unfortunately it was very cold outside,the patio must be lovely in fine weather. a good all-rounder.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Fort also viewed

Seaview, Isle of Wight
Seaview, Isle of Wight
 
Bembridge, Isle of Wight
Ryde, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Old Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing