We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”
Review of The Boat House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Boat House
Ranked #1 of 4 Seaview B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Boat House provides very comfortable accommodation with great views across The Solent in a handy position for accessing Seaview and for touring the island.
The included breakfast is good and having seen how large the full English breakfast was were able to pick and choose what we wanted.
Choice of places to eat in and around Seaview were limited and it was convenient to eat at The Boat House, the choice and quality of the meals was satisfactory but perhaps not quite as enjoyable as hoped.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a room with a sea view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 18beacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
There are newer reviews for The Boat House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 206 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night, had booked two rooms, the first one had an odd smell about it, but other than that it was pleasant enough, we paid a little more for a superior double but to be quite honest couldn't tell you what made it superior from the other room. A few small things, some May Ben say petty but at £110 a night, a very wobbly toilet handle and the complementary drinks tray only had one biscuit on one of the saucers, but like I say- petty issues really! Had a great nights sleep, enjoyed hearing the sea and looking out to see the ships coming into Portsmouth or Southampton (bad geography). The breakfast was fine, a basic selection but again, we enjoyed it. Would I stay again- yes I probably would!!

Stayed: October 2013
Thank MissTechnology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Over salted, over cooked, over priced.......says it all.
Had high hopes for this restaurants food but was left disappointed and thoroughly ripped of by the high price and poor quality of the food.
The dishes were over salted.
The starter was so salty that on refection I should have sent it back but I didn't want to embarrass other guests.
The main course fish dish was dry and did not appear freshly cooked. It looked most unappetising placed alone on the plate with two shrivelled slices of chorizo on top of the fish and there were no vegetables, just a few potatoes as a side dish.
At the end of the meal I was dying of thirst even though I had drunk half a jug of water.
I wont be going back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Secret-Chocaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

After a lovely walk from Seaview we had lunch at the Boathouse. Being Saturday it was very busy.The food (especially the seafood) was excellent. We shared a platter which was beautifully presented. The restaurant had a lovely atmosphere and the staff were very friendly. My only comment would be that they ran out of all the seafood by 1pm, I would have been very disappointed if that happened to us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We booked a family table (for 7) which was lucky becuase it was packed and understandably so.Great service, great value and the best fish and chips I've had for ages, the prawn and seafood pasta was a treat too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mairead R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had eaten at The New Inn at Shalfleet and had a fab evening -and superb food - for my birthday. They recommended The Boathouse and two other restaurants, as part of their group of four. We booked, turned up and seated as a convenient couple on a small table up against a wall virtually on top of a small noisy family in a back room. There was no sea views and no escape except back through the front door! They wouldn't offer us another table. I wasn't prepared to pay out upwards of £80-100 for that sort of service. We left and went elsewhere. The food if we'd stayed would have been good I'm sure but we didn't even order a drink. I recommend this little cubby hole should suit a table of six only or a family room. I really can't bear this 'couple' mentality that some restaurants have these days!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eapage57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We ate here after reading the good feedback and to be fair, we can't fault the food, it was very good. However we were seated in an area, not in the main restaurant, just near to a very rowdy, noisy table. We were forgotten about and left without drinks, waited 45 minutes for our main meal, we had to ask for a dessert menu and yet the waitresses were falling over themselves to serve the large table, so couples, beware that you might be forgotten if there is a large group.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebnJMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaview
0.7 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
453 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
877 reviews
1.3 mi away
Priory Bay Hotel
Priory Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Seaview
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
9.7 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
352 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House

Address: Springvale Road, Seaview PO34 5AW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Seaview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Seaview
Price Range: $113 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boat House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boathouse, situated on the fringe of the chic village of Seaview on the Isle of Wight is an idyllic beachside venue offering accommodation by the sea. Having been recently inspected by the AA we are now recognised as one of the top UK bed and breakfast establishments and we are also featured as a Late Rooms “B&B Gem”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Boat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Seaview, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing