We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YELF'S - AMAZING !!!!!!!!”
Review of Yelf's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yelf's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I booked a room by phone for a Birthday Treat over the weekend for my Lady, from the onset the team at the Hotel made me feel at ease and were more helpful than I could've imagined. Had a couple of queries a few days later and spoke to"Roz" (Whom I was informed had not long started there) who dealt with and answered all the things I needed to know. And so it began...........
We arrived Late afternoon on a Fri when the Hotel was in full swing of a wedding on the premises and in progress, as well as being fully booked for a wedding the following day at the same venue; yet "Roz" in reception was still un-flustered and welcomed us walmly explaining all the facilities and local area to us, which gave us a special feel already; on top of this she ensured our bags were taken over the road for us to "Bromley House" after our journey to the Hotel.
PETER took our bags for us and again made us feel at ease, explaining all the security codes and ways in and out to the accomodation for us, once at our room he made sure we were settled and comfortable in our room before leaving us. The room itself was plenty enough for us, clean and with exactly what was needed ie: VERY Comfy bed, Tea/Coffee/Biscuits, kettle, towels, complimentary shower essentials, Hairdryer, TV, WI-FI, etc.. just what was needed for a nice weekend break; although I was told on the phone our room overlooked the car Park, you would never have guessed it, as at eye level through the window you could not see it.
After settling ourselves in we chose to have a meal from the bar menu and we were seated with ease (Bearing in mind of the ongoing wedding party) what can we say Peter? was on hand again to seat us and explain the different menus on offer. After ordering from a varied selection we concluded that the Starters we had were CHARMING and the Main Course was Very Delightful (LOOK at the Specials Board as well). Service was quick after ordering and we were not rushed to finish each course, and was nice to have staff asking if everything was to OUR satisfaction. Meal and atmosphere coupled with a varied age range within the seating area we were in and close by bar area was Fantastic on all aspects!
Having had a Cracking Breakfast in our room (Which you need to pre-order) we went out for the day but on our return we found out that we could not visit the in-town restaurant Alamo Steakhouse that we desired (as it was Fully Booked-so book in advance), so we asked at the reception if they could recommend anywhere else (NOT that the Hotel Restaurant was NOT good enough!!) 2 members of staff recomended a restaurant so they phoned direct AND BOOKED for us a table for 2 at the "Three Buoys" Restaurant (Now, who would do that? Book a table for someone OUT of THEIR Restaurant - Cracking Thankyou ALL!!!)
After a TRULY Ful-FILLING Hearty Breakfast in the hotel where everything was on offer Cereal, full English, Fruit and so on, we found that there was NO rush for us to depart, however our stay was over!!!! Gutted to leave as EVERYTHING was done to make us feel welcome and comfortable... We WILL be coming Back SO THANKYOU... Special THANKS to "Roz" & "Peter" you made it for us...............................................Overall the whole Hotel and staff were Brilliant.

THANKYOU !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 326Michael326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 412 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

Lovely hotel, staff were so helpful, room a nice size and comfy beds, tea making facilities with pks of biscuits were changed daily. We ate in the restaurant and bar and both menus were very good. The food was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they were all lovely. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Stayed in room no 9 could possibly be noisy at weekends but very cosy and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karen_golder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Hotel was in an ideal location. Food was very well presented and tasted yummy. The staff were very friendly, my sister and I asked for more tea, milk etc for our room and the staff were happy to oblige. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 9 was an excellent room, maybe slightly noisy in the morning for some travellers, but my sister...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jools1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

From the time I made my inquiry, this hotel responded quickly and efficiently
Booking from Australia can be a little daunting.
The hotel gave friendly welcome. a clean well appointed single bedroom suited for working in
House keeping was quietly efficient.
Yes, the rooms are fairly simple but suite the lovely feel of an older style English hotel,
I have stayed in a lot worse in the UK asking a\ lot more money
It is very good value
Food was great. Breakfast is fit fror a King!
The variety of either restaurant food at medium prices or bar/cafe food was wide and having sampled both, found to be really good quality
REception is helpful and friendly
I found the AA rating did not reflect the good quality offered

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DougMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed at Yelfs for two nights as part of a golfing tour, with a group of a dozen blokes or so. This is your typical English town centre hotel, with heaps of magnolia and squeaky floorboards and all the more charming for it. Few have survived but Yelfs continues to flourish thanks mainly to it's fantastic staff. Nothing is too much trouble for any of them. The food in the Restaurant is excellent value for money, treading the fine line between Restaurant quality appearance and pub grub prices. OK some of the rooms are noisy from the "good time groups" on the street outside, so ask for a quiet room if that kind of thing bothers you. All in all a great "old English" place to stay in a vibrant and busy part of town.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room if staying at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DimmerBVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

A lovely weekend stay at this well located hotel. Staff were pleasant and helpful in all areas. We had a triple room that was clean and comfortable. On two evenings we had dinner, once in the bar area and once in the restaurant and on both occasions the food was well served and of a good standard.
I am happy to recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruthiep25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed at Yelf's Hotel on a trip down to Bestival. The hotel location is great and staff are extremely accommodating. On arrival you can't help but feel that the place is a bit dated, the old style keys and pin codes to get in to areas of the hotel go a long way to backing this up. Rooms are clean, but dated, tired and slightly on the wonk due to the age of the hotel, toiletries are plentiful though and the bath/shower had plenty of warm water. WiFi just about stretched to my room but wasn't available in other areas.
The main upside are the staff. We had to set off at 7, meaning we would miss breakfast but the staff put something on for us earlier. This was a great touch and hugely appreciated. Would return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charliea444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
2.9 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Ryde Isle of Wight Hotel
9.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
944 reviews
7.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yelf's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yelf's Hotel

Address: 54 Union Street, Ryde PO33 2LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Price Range: $77 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yelf's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yelf's Hotel offers an all year round service, including Christmas, to holiday and business visitors, from single rooms and suites to self-catering accommodation. The hotel is one of the oldest original coaching inns on the Isle of Wight and has been carefully refurbished to retain much of its charm and atmosphere. Our comfortable Bar and Lounge, Conservatory and Patio Beer Garden, and an air conditioned Restaurant and Conference suite provide Islanders and visitors alike with a relaxing venue for a drink or delicious meal during a short stay or longer break. Whatever the purpose of your visit, you're guaranteed a warm welcome, fine food and great service all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Yelf's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yelfs Hotel Ryde
Yelf's Hotel Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing