We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here if you want any sleep...”
Review of Yelf's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yelf's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Don't stay here if you want any sleep...”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here before and agree with other reviewers, if you stay in season the noise from the bar next door carries to the top of the hotel but we didn't have a problem with this because it shuts up fairly early. We stayed here again because the staff have always been really polite and helpful and the rooms we have stayed in previously were a little shabby but comfortable.

Booked with Late Rooms this time as it was a last minute trip. Turned up to be told that they had put us in the 'honeymoon suite'. I feel really sorry for any honeymooners who have stayed in this room. The only 'special' thing about it was a very small 4 poster bed. The mattress was so uncomfortable that I ended up sleeping on the floor. However, there wasn't much sleep to be had because the plumbing was so noisy (all night). It was making a weird sound like a spaceship taking off! There were two large radiators in the room which were red hot and there was no way of turning them off.

Cleanliness is definitely a problem. We found confetti on the floor, obviously from a previous couple.

I will finish by re-iterating that the staff are all really friendly and try their best. We like the bar and have always really enjoyed any food we have eaten here. I do not think I will be staying again, however as there are much better places for less money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YelfsHotel, Manager at Yelf's Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at Yelfs. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay on this occasion and wish that we had known of these problems on the night in question, as I am sure we would have been able allocate you a more suitable room.

As we take our guests comments very seriously I would like to let you know that we have replaced the mattress in the bridal suite and many other bedrooms and our maintenance department has replaced the faulty valve on the radiators.

It has always been our poilicy to deliver 100% customer service and satisfaction and I would love you both to return. We have commenced an extensive refurbishment programme and I am sure you will enjoy any future visits to Yelfs. Please call the manager if you wish to arrange a stay in the future,

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    133
    54
    35
    21
See reviews for
79
134
26
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Although my husband and i have never stayed at Yelf's ( because we live in Ryde ) we have had lunch there twice now and have ordered off the blackboard, both times the service was excellent and the food was lovely. We go for coffee or tea most days when we are in town and we love it because the staff are consistantly friendly and there is always a pleasant atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne5495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Been staying here for months now on and off for work. If U want a peaceful night, think again. The pub next door is so loud it travels up to the 2nd floor. Ring reception to complain, nothing changes. Bar staff are slow, unhelpful and get the impression they don't really care. Good luck if U do stay here but their are so many better places on the I.o.w good luck

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelski87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde Isle Of Wightfound.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

A buffet lunch was organised for my Husband's 80th Birthday for 24 people including two children under 10. This was very well organised in the Dutch Room, the staff were excellent and the bar service very well done indeed. Food was excellent and the dessert was to die for!!
An excellent venue and the staff did everything I had asked for. Well done to all of them including the chefs and the backroom boys.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This faded hotel/restaurant is long overdue a make over. It has relied on lack of competition far too long but things are changing with the arrival of more & better venues. The place is tired, as are most of the disinterested staff. My meal was overpriced, overcooked & virtually inedible.
The whole of the public areas & garden need a deep clean. Avoid

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bauhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I AM A 40,S SCOOTERIST AND HAVE BEEN GOING TO THE i.o.w bank holiday w/ends for the last 8 years ''but this year i have to go to a wedding i asked if could reserve my room with a deposit for 2014 and was told once i give my room up i have lost it '''i think that is not a very fair deal as i nave spent at least 2'000 pounds on this hotel !!!! all they have to do is tell the occupant its only for this weekend?? i am sure they will get somebody''i think this is just a terrible way to treat a customer.and i hope people read this and see how some hotels perform for the paying public..and i must say they double the price for this weekend??ps i will be sending in a report to the scootering magazine for updates..

Room Tip: if you cant go on the next year don't give them your money because they do not care about there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YelfsHotel, Manager at Yelf's Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding the August Bank Holiday Scooter Rally, this has come to the attention of the owners and upon reflection we feel this is a little harsh so would therefore like to inform you that you will be welcome back in 2014. Please confirm in writing to the hotel.

Regards
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip recently - on a cold windy February evening. A beautiful old building and a feel of how things probably were when British hotels and resorts were at their height of popularity. Warm welcome, instant cosy feel to the reception area and quickly directed to my room.
Bathroom showed some signs of requiring a little TLC but bed was very comfortable and had a wonderful view over the water to Portsmouth.
I didn't eat in the evening however the menu looked tempting but breakfast was a very pleasant experience with good choice. Quality was very good - bacon particularly very tasty - must be those happy island piggies!
Just one word of caution, some of the rooms are in a separate building on the other side of road from the main hotel - I didn't see or experience these so cannot verify the quality or otherwise of these.
Definitely stay again on my next business trip. However, would also consider for a leisure break due to it's great central locate in Ryde and car parking also available in what is normally a difficult place to find non resident parking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norfolk-MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.2 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Ryde Isle of Wight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
449 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yelf's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yelf's Hotel

Property: Yelf's Hotel
Address: 54 Union Street, Ryde PO33 2LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yelf's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yelf's Hotel offers an all year round service, including Christmas, to holiday and business visitors, from single rooms and suites to self-catering accommodation. The hotel is one of the oldest original coaching inns on the Isle of Wight and has been carefully refurbished to retain much of its charm and atmosphere. Our comfortable Bar and Lounge, Conservatory and Patio Beer Garden, and an air conditioned Restaurant and Conference suite provide Islanders and visitors alike with a relaxing venue for a drink or delicious meal during a short stay or longer break. Whatever the purpose of your visit, you're guaranteed a warm welcome, fine food and great service all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yelf's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yelfs Hotel Ryde
Yelf's Hotel Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing