We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for young couples. Would stay again!!”
Review of Kasbah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kasbah
Ranked #4 of 17 Ryde B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We arrived at the Kasbah Thursday afternoon and was showed to our room (9), spacious and clean. Dumped the bags and parked the car round the corner £6.90 for 24 hours. Live music Thursday night in The Kasbah was a treat, had "Jules Nelson" playing a great mixture of tunes. What a guitarist this guy was he made the night for us. We went up to bed about 1am (we think) and did not hear any noise from the bar downstairs or the busy street below, but it was a quiet Thursday. The next night however was a lot noisier but we shut the window and it really was not a problem.

I think the people on here who have left the bad reviews have clearly not done their homework before booking with the Kasbah. If you want peace and quiet then book somewhere in Ventnor or another quieter location. This B&B is not for families or old couples. Its a bar with accommodation above. If your a young couple who like a drink then its perfect. Or a group of lads or girls then perfect. Yes there will be noise as your on a busy high street, but as I said above if you just shut the window its really not a problem.

The staff were all friendly, never saw the same person twice mind, always somebody different behind the bar. But all friendly and helpful.

The breakfast was ok, to me a full english is 2 sausage, 2 bacon, 2 eggs, fried bread, black pudding and beans. What we actually got was 1 sausage, 1 bacon, hash brown, a few beans mushrooms tomato and an egg. It was ok and did the job.

LOVED THE SHOWER! great pressure, could have stayed in it for hours.

A few pointers for the room. A fridge would have come in handy! we had to improvise and buy a bag of ice from the shop. Also better pillows, the one's we had were not great. Only one bedside table too, could of done with one the other side. Other than that the room had digital TV with ipod doc, fan, hairdryer and even an iron.

All in all a good couple of nights here, ignore the bad reviews as these people have not done their homework.

Room Tip: Room 9, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastendTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 151 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stop over after a day trip and got a fantastic deal for the room! £22 each and it was worth every penny and more!
Thursday night so they had live music from Jules Nelson and it was brilliant and chilled just to sit there all night in a friendly atmosphere, several BOGOF cocktails and complementary shots from the helpful and charming staff. Very large and comfy bed to crash out in after as well!
Will be making this event regular when we can!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst attending the IOW festival. We had one of the 2 rooms on the top floor which was extremely clean and functional. Downside was that no soap was supplied in the bathroom and there was no bathmat for the very slippery tiles so had to use a hand towel. This was a bit of an issue as our wet towels were not changed for the whole 3 days we were there although we has asked on day 2 for clean towels as there was no heating to dry them on. Our dirty coffee cups remained for our whole stay also. I'm not sure if this is standard practice at this hotel or that because we were at the festival they didn't think we cared?! (But we did).

Breakfast was ok, although on our last morning we were asked first if we were checking out- or very reluctantly- did we want to have a breakfast!! This is a small and very noisy pub in the evening. We didn't return until about 2am each morning, but had to fight our way through to the accomodation entrance either through the bar or the back courtyard. Floor was very sticky in the morning at breakfast.

Wouldn't stay here again. It wasn't that cheap and we have stayed in much better B&Bs in Ryde previous years. Better than staying in a tent though!

Room Tip: Definitely one of the top rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nb333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were given the family room which unfortunately was on the main road. Every time a large vehicle or bus went past you could feel the vibration! No hot water for a shower in the morning. Apologies were received but nothing was done. Staff were friendly and breakfast was average. By comparison with other B & Bs we had stayed at on the Island we didn't think it was value for money.

Room Tip: Family room is noisy but others may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Arrived on the island on a spur of the moment day trip, enjoying the sunshine so found the Kasbah with a room available. Room was very good, didn't notice the noise being a problem. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was very good and if you did not want the full english you could ask for what you liked with no problem at all. Very well cooked. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Domsa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I wish I had stayed at the Kasbah for a holiday and been able to relax and enjoy the atmosphere. I was impressed by the decor, it was warm and friendly if not quite North African! The room I stayed in NO.& was clean, perfect for a base. The Full English in the morning, while not the best I have had was good, well cooked and certainly did the job.

In the evening I enjoyed the family fortunes style quiz though only attended by locals which was a shame and while pub gate was intriguing it could have been a little off putting for some.

It is run by and (you get the feeling for) a younger audience (I am 39 and felt old!) I would most definable stay with my wife but would probably not recommend it for a family, however, I was there for an interview on the Island, so it is up to individual presence.

Over all I enjoyed the Kasbah, the room was great, the bar friendly enough and cheap, a gem for the Isle one which I hope to visit again.
Many Thanks to all.

Room Tip: Do note the B&B message of noise at weekends, though I stayed midweek you can still hear the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick_Boardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We arrived on Friday evening to a warm welcome. We were shown to our room on the second floor and were pleasantly surprised by the space and sea view. Being on the second floor we did not experience noise and had a great evening in the bar itself. Breakfast was really good and overall we felt Kasbah was great value for money in a great location in Ryde. The only very slight downsides were no soap etc. in the bathroom and very thin pillows and duvets. However, everything was very clean.

Room Tip: Choose a second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surreyscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ryde hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Ryde Isle of Wight Hotel
0.1 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
0.1 mi away
Yelf's Hotel
Yelf's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ryde
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dorset Hotel
Dorset Hotel
#3 of 17 in Ryde
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#16 of 17 in Ryde
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah

Address: 76 Union Street, Ryde PO33 2LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ryde
Price Range: $38 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kasbah 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kasbah's guest accommodation has nine beautiful individually decorated twin/double or family bedrooms. All are en-suite with either a shower/bath or both. All rooms have tea, coffee making facilities and complimentary bottled water and toiletries which are topped up daily during service along with fresh towels. All our rooms have colour televisions and hi-fi's. Continental and full english breakfast is included in the price of your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Hotel Ryde
Kasbah Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing