We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay BUT !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ryde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whitefield Forest Touring Park
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ryde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have stayed at Whitefield before and found it to be the ideal location, clean, tidy, excellent shower and toilet facilities, in fact I would go as far to say the very best site we have stayed at.

However .... if you wish to have a relaxing and quiet holiday avoid any time that kids are likely to be there.

Having just been to the shower and endured screaming, shouting, swearing and most of the toilet and shower cubicle doors being slammed, kicked including the one that I was in it is likely that in the future it will be a stay away from during the school holidays. I would like to say that the experience was a one off but sadly not.

During the early evening expect it to be noisy, bikes, balls hitting the tent, caravan or car.

Don't get me wrong, it is a great place to stay but next time we will be a bit more selective about the time we book.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Sailorman0441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 94 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have just got back and have already booked for a week next year ! Extremely friendly staff and very helpful ! This site is beautifully clean outside and inside amenities block ! So clean we took our shoes off outside before going in the block as we did nt want to dirty it as it was gleaming ! Our daughter is six years old and has loved every minute of camping here ! The woodland playground and den building area was fabulous for all ages , can t wait to try out the squirrel hide next year as we ran out of time !!!! Well done whitefield on your conservation of the area and the red squirrels xxxxx

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Traceyboden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Well, what can I say. We stayed here for 4 nights in July and I have honestly never stayed on a campsite that even comes close to this one. It is superb. The amenities block is new and spotless. There are family shower rooms, washing up areas with plenty of hot water, a lovely wooden playground. The pitches are level and spacious. Even the other campers seemed a cut above the norm, no noise of any sort. We walked into the forest where there is a hide and saw a number of Red Squirrels playing. There is a huge tesco around 2 minutes drive away, and the site is well located for many of the islands attractions. It's perfect. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

we have just had the most fantastic holiday at Whitefield Forest Touring Park, We stayed in our Motorhome,ideal spot for touring the island, bus stop not far from the site entrance, We were very lucky with the weather , but we would stay regardless.of this. The touring park is spotless, the facilities spotless, the staff really friendly, The onsite woodland walk has red squirrels and other wildlife all around, There are lovely walks close by. We are ready to book again for next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Although I know the Island very well as have family here I have not been camping in a tent for over 20 years so a little nervous at first. However, this site was a delight and felt very magical. The wood is full of pine trees which I know are not native but look so wonderful. Cannot really add to the positive comments of the previous reviewer except that I was amazed and delighted to find soap and toilet paper in the toilet (is this normal for a campsite?). Saw lots of red squirrels, thrushes and toads at night (so be careful walking around the perimeter at night to avoid stepping on one). If all campsites are as good as this one I may do it again soon!

Room Tip: Ooops - In my eagerness to give a high rating I gave 5 stars for rooms, pool and fitness centre whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Egonronay1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have just returned from another two week holiday at Whitefield Touring Park and this was the sixth year running we have stayed there and are going again for three weeks in June/July. It is the only place on the Isle of Wight to stay with a tent, campervan, caravan, caravanette, trailer tent or folding camper as the pitches are large, very level, some with their own water supply, some gravelled and some grassed. The owners are lovely, Pat and Simon, will help with any problems that you might have and Simon will even help site your unit and put up your awning if you want him to. The toilet and shower block is heated with private cubicles (if required) and free hairdryers and spotless all the time and are regularly inspected and cleaned. There is a family room, with shower and toilet and baby changing facilities and a disabled room with shower, toilet, hand rails and emergency pull cords are in there too. The block has a washing machine, tumble dryer and ironing facilities and tokens for the machine and dryer are cheap and available from reception. There is a lovely walk round the perimeter of the site where if you're lucky you will see red squirrels and lots of different birds. There is also a safe play area for children. The reception is welcoming and has a small supply of necessities and gas is available. The reception is open 9 - 5 through the season and when booking through the site, they will even arrange ferry travel for you. There are also special rates for the over 50's and its right on a main bus route, with Tesco very near. All in all, this is a lovely site and we would never consider staying anywhere else on the beautiful Isle of Wight. Its like our second home now.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Spent five nights at Whitefield Forest Touring Park over the Easter period. The weather had previously been bad and I camped here due to the neighbouring site contacting me to say they were waterlogged. Whitefield had all hard standings. The site was dry and not boggy at all. Toilet and showers areas were clean and warm and the showers were powerful with plenty of space to keep your clothes dry. Easy to book and very friendly. Plenty of space between you and your neighbour.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MrRPBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
2.0 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
455 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Waverley Park
Waverley Park
#1 of 1 in East Cowes
251 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fort Holiday Park
Fort Holiday Park
#4 of 13 in Sandown
98 reviews
4.6 mi away
Woodside Coastal Retreat
Woodside Coastal Retreat
#1 of 1 in Wootton Bridge
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitefield Forest Touring Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitefield Forest Touring Park

Address: Brading Road, Ryde PO33 1QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ryde
Price Range: $11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Whitefield Forest Touring Park 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitefield Forest Touring Park is an award winning, 5 star family run campsite set within an ancient woodland on the outskirts of Ryde. We offer a mix of traditional grass and all weather hardstanding pitches all with electric hook up. We have a modern, centrally heated amenities block providing guests with showers, privacy cubicles, toilets, family rooms, baby changing and disabled facilities. Within the grounds of the park there is a woodland walk, squirrel hide and children's adventure play area. From the gates of the park there is a network of walks and cycle rides as well as a regular bus service 100m down the lane on the main road. We are well placed for guests to explore the Island and it's beautiful beaches, excellent produce and many attractions. We offer a Special rate for couples over 50 as well as special offers on ferry travel, contact us to find out more! We look forward to hearing from you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whitefield Forest Touring Park Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing