We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My holiday home”
Review of Dorset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dorset Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Ryde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Dorset has been my holiday home for the past six years. The staff always has a welcoming smile and greet us by name. Breakfast is delicious and the choice vast. I will miss staying here as my parents are moving to the island - but will be recommending the Dorset to the many visitors who'll be visiting them.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydeMichael31, Owner at Dorset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your review, we have enjoyed serving you over the past years and wish you every success and enjoyment on the island when you move to Ryde in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 167 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

The only reason why we won't stay at the Dorset in future is that we are moving to Ryde to live!
That doesn't mean we won't recommend the Dorset to friends and relations as our own 'guest' accomodation will be limited. ...And our breakfasts wouldn't compete with the choice available at the Dorset. To say the Staff are friendly and helpful doesn't do them justice; Michael and his people really make the Dorset so comfortable - thankyou all for making our holidays in the past such a pleasure.

Andrew, Barbara and Caroline Collins

Room Tip: Just trust the staff to do their job!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndrewandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydeMichael31, Owner at Dorset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your recent review we have enjoyed catering for you over the past years and wish you every success with your move to the island and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming your friends as guests in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Lovely little hotel, very friendly staff, tasty breakfast. The room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. The room had a kettle with selection of teas and coffee, hair dryer, TV and radio. There were complimentary biscuits and water bottles. Perfect location a couple of minutes walk from the beach and shop/restaurant area. Very quiet area. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mona0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydeMichael31, Owner at Dorset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your review we appreciate your comments and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on some future occasion. it was a pleasure to cater for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We chose this hotel for its location, off road parking and its price. On arriving we could see that some renovation was undergoing as there was a partially filled skip at the front.
Entrance room bright clean and the guy on reception helpful. Our room though was in much need of some TLC , especially the bathroom. To operate the shower you needed the skills of a professional safe cracker to get the temperature right.
The breakfast in the morning was lovely in a clean, spacious dinning room and set you up for the day. The parking at the back of the hotel was challenging, a small opening up a slope, made difficult with cars parked opposite
( on the day we left though it looked as though work was being done at the parking entrance).
Overall I'd say the staff were helpful and friendly, but the hotel needs a big overhaul.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydeMichael31, Owner at Dorset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent 4 night stay with us we appreciate your comments and use them to improve and maintain our standards where possible.

The room you were occupying is due for an overhaul and is included in our winter refurbishing and refreshning program which takes place from November - February each year

The car park does have a tight entrance but due to listed building status we are unable to remove the wall to make a larger entrance and when it was built in 1842 commercial vehicles would not have been taken into consideration.

Our prices which include vat and 15% booking commission to the agent you booked with reduces our room rate significantly. We hope to continue our improvement program in line with our income and aim to improve our facilities each year.

once again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back on some future occasion to see the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

A weekend trip for the chilli fiesta. On first impressions the hotel is attractive looking, in a good central location and has parking. Unfortunately our room was out-dated and in severe need of a freshen up- wall cracks, water-stains etc. to make the shower hot you had to turn the dial to cold and to stop the toilet dripping you had to rearrange the cistern handle after flushing. the room was spacious and we moved the additional single bed next to the double for an extra large bed ready for our return post chilli burn.... However, it appeared that my girlfriend was able to draw the lucky straw as during the night she scooted over to the less well-used single mattress. After a night on the double bed mattress I awoke with my chest and lower torso sporting imprints of the springs in the form of circles from the worn, unsupportive and frankly crippling mattress for any one with any back complaints - even a few of the chilli ciders in the afternoon did not stop this being an uncomfortable nights sleep.

Breakfast was fine, with a generous menu and friendly service. Please note hotel staff: please wash your hands after smoking and then directly taking breakfast orders - it's not nice to experience first thing....

What lets this hotel down is the price compared to the accommodation. Would have happily rated this higher if the price had been lower - the price point is probably £40-45. We left feeling overcharged at £65 so it's down to hotel now, to invest further or do with a budget market and potentially decline. Either way, front of house were great, it's a wonderful property but the economic climate may steer its ultimate future. I say close a few rooms, decorate and work back up - there is a fantastic product in the making....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank workorfuntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydeMichael31, Owner at Dorset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your recent review following your one night stay in July 2013, I have noted the comments contained within and reply as follows.

The mattress on the double bed received a further comment after your stay and we agree with you that it needed to be changed and this has now been done and the room has been fitted with a new slumberland mattress with a memory foam topper.

We are not sure how you gained access to the staff room at the side of the dining room to observe that a member of staff did not wash their hands their is ample hygiene facilities in this room which is attached to the main laundry?

I note your comments on the economic climate but fail to mention that out of the £65.00 you paid for two person a vat element of £10.00 plus was included in this price reducing the price to £54,90 as the room rate included two breakfasts normally charged at £7.50 per person in many establishments this reduces the room rate without breakfast to £39.00 we do not agree with your heading "unfortunately overpriced"

on your booking when received there was a number of additional requests for your one night stay all of which were actioned which you fail to mention. In our personal opinion you booked the wrong type of accommodation and expected high quality accommodation which is not found at the price of £54.90 for two persons. We offer basic accommodation at budget prices with a friendly atmosphere and functional facilities which most people are able to operate without any problems.

It would have also helped if your comments had been bought to my attention at the time of check out rather than hide behind the internet and post them anonymously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I've stayed here a few times,comfy rooms,good brekfast and friendly atmosphere,close to all the towns Restaurants,Public Houses,shops and Beeches eith great veiws across to Portsmouth.I would recommend to other people and will stay myself again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveHoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed there with my sister for a few nights. Pros: Price was okay and that's why i choose this hotel. Location is very good, close to the beach, staff was friendly, rooms look really nice (we had lovely sea view window) and full-english breakfast was tasty. Cons: Breakfast too early (but it's understood because it is not typical big hotel), shower has low water pressure, bathhub was a bit dirty. Anyways i would visit the hotel again because of good value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rafael-israel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.2 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
422 reviews
5.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
358 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset Hotel

Address: 31 Dover Street, Ryde PO33 2BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ryde
Price Range: $64 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorset Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorset House was built in 1842 during the reign of Queen Victoria and has been operating as a bed and breakfast for many years. We are not of modern design and have 23 rooms varying in size. Centrally located in the historic town of Ryde, we are close to many restaurants and cafes. The house has a large private car park at the rear and offers a garden with seating area to take in the peace and quiet that the Isle of Wight offers. Free wi-fi is available in the public area and we operate a licensed bar. Inclusive ferry packages are available to suit the cost of your trip. We have many special offers throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Dorset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorset Hotel Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing