We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dorset Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$201
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kasbah(Ryde)
$89
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$94
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$133
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Lodge B&B(Ryde)(Great Value!)
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveler rating
55
69
33
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
69
33
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade marmaladegarden roomhigh demandvictoria suiteroom was small but cleanisle of wightshort walktown centrecommon areasbath and showerwell stocked barprunesnice staycar parkingground floorgreat place to stayplenty of parking
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 173 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here for a night as we were on the IOW for a wedding - we booked the hotel because it was one of the cheapest. We called beforehand to enquire about bicycle storage and was informed there was a shed to lock them up securely ... upon arrival, we found out we could only lock them up under the fire exit stairs - wasn't particularly pleased with it, but at least they were hidden away.
The rooms are basic, but do the job. The bed is quite hard, however i've slept in worse places.
Breakfast has some good options and filled me up until lunch. Staff are friendly and informative.
Probably on par with a Travelodge - you get what you pay for. Would probably stay here again if I was on the island.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welsk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, the bed was very comfortable,the room was at the front BUT no noise from outside,breakfast in the morning was simple but very tasty.we would have no hesitation coming back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at The Dorset Hotel the night before the Isle of Wight Festival. The room was basic with tea making facilities and a tv. it was comfortable but in need of redecoration/updating (a bit 80's). The bathroom in particular was a bit grim but functional. There is also small bar and lounge in the reception area. Breakfast was ok, with plenty of coffee and toast on request and the staff were friendly. All in all it was ok for one night

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Needed somewhere In Ryde for a brief weekend visit.
The Dorset Hotel was welcoming, friendly, clean and efficiently run.
As a single traveller, I opted for a single room but realised a better choice would have been a double room single occupancy - costs a bit more but would have been worth it.
Excellent value and an ideal location when visiting the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ducktooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at the Dorset House with friends during the Isle of Wight Festival weekend.
We arrived to a friendly welcome. The owners treated you like good friends. Very nice.
The room was fine, with tv and coffee/tea making facilities, and en-suite bathroom with shower.
Breakfast was great.
The hotel is well situated in Ryde, just a very short walk to the seafront, and ferry and hovercraft to Portsmouth. Ryde centre is just a 3 minute walk away, with plenty of shops, bars and restaurants.
Transport around the Isle of Wight is easy, and the bus station is also close to the hotel.
With everything in Ryde on your doorstep, it is still situated in a peaceful area.
I look forward to staying at the Dorset House again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingDaveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews