We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - plenty of parking”
Review of Dorset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dorset Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Ryde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good location - plenty of parking”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Located about 300 metres from the seafront (up a hill), this hotel benefits from a secluded and more then adequate car park (located in a parking zone area, so really useful). Friendly welcome, well appointed rooms and a good breakfast. Feels more like guest house than an hotel, but that's almost a benefit.
Well stocked bar, in-room tea/coffee facilities, complimentary bottled water and biscuits and a garden to sit in (weather permitting).

Room Tip: The Victoria suite has wooden shutters and although on road elevation is extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    65
    30
    10
    4
See reviews for
19
71
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TEWKESBURY
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

For the money, it was what we expected. Rooms quite tight and the owners had done everything they could to make it comfortable within its own limitations. Being central Ryde, I imagine they get quite a few stag and hen parties here. They were nice down to earth people and breakfast was plentiful, so long as you don't expect the Ritz, it's a good choice within easy reach of everything within Ryde itself. Big comfortable lounge, if you were part of a big party needing somewhere easy, this is the perfect solution.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This B&B was very similar to many of the old and shabby B&B's in the UK. The fittings and refurbishments were cheap and poorly maintained, often not clean and working. The rooms were tiny and smelt strongly of cleaning products - a shame given it was originally a grand Georgian building that has had numerous internal changes to accommodate twenty additional rooms at least. The Bathrooms were old and dirty without windows. However, the reason for this review was that at 11pm on the first and only night there we discovered we had no hot water in the shower. As reception closes at 10pm we did not contact the after hours number (which we had tried to call earlier in the evening for directions but was diverted to a fax number anyway). In the morning we still found barely luke-warm water. When I told the man on the desk as we were checking out, he got very cross and defensive and insisted we were wrong and simply unable to work the tap system correctly. I was quite taken aback as I was not trying to get a discount or even make a serious complaint - merely be helpful with future guests in mind. Personally I would have thought it useful information that could be rectified with a simple instruction sign for future use. I will certainly never stay there again or recommend friends or family.

Room Tip: ask to stay in the room that they were awarded three stars on the basis of!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydeMichael31, Owner at Dorset Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I have noted your comments and respond as follows:

On departure you mentioned to me that you had experienced a problem and you had no hot water I explained at the time that if this was the case then other rooms would have complained as the water is run off the same boiler and as 14 of the 22 rooms had been let on the Monday night other complaints would have been received. I asked the persons in the room next door and opposite after your departure if they had experienced problems with water and no problems had been experienced. Following your departure I visited your room immediately as advised I would and found a good supply of hot water.

The room you were occupying has an annual occupancy of 81% if there was a need for a notice to be displayed in the past it would have been displayed. There was someone on reception until 11.00 p.m. and as advised the 24 hour helpline number is displayed in the directory of services. I would have gladly demonstrated how to operate the shower but as no request was received we were unaware that you were experiencing problems.

I am glad the room smelt of cleaning products rather than dust as this demonstrates our daily cleaning facilities. At £ 23.50 per person plus v.a.t and laterooms commission for bed and BREAKFAST. we provide three star guest accommodation not hotel and if you expectations were for hotel facilities for this price we would be unable to match your expectations. 3 star hotel accommodation is priced on the island at £95.00 and above.

I am disappointed that you experienced this problem but it could have be rectified with communication at the time rather than on departure. If you consider I was being defensive this is not the case frustrated yes that you failed to mention it at breakfast or the previous evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Booked through Booking.com Excellent value for money. 3 minutes walk from some great places to eat. Had man flu all weekend, the staff was very helpful. The car park is a little tight as I had a big van so they let me park on the front of the hotel as it was full of high value products. Great place to stay if you are on a budget. Would be my first choice again when visiting the I O W.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beautybuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydeMichael31, Owner at Dorset Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay with us, I am glad you found us reasonable value for money, We are a budget friendly operation and try to create a traditional bed and breakfast atmosphere with the added bonus of having a licensed bar. The car park at the rear which accommodates 16 cars has a tight pull in especially for vans but we do have space on the front for commercial vehicles. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our establishment on some future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife had joined me for my weekend business appointment on the island and we turned my commitment into a night away. I had chosen to stay in one of their more expensive rooms which The Dorset Hotel markets as a suite.

Our 'suite' was based on the ground floor at the front of the hotel. The centre of Ryde is walkable from the Dorset Hotel, but despite the location within the hotel, we had a good uninterrupted nights sleep in the comfortable bed.

The room wasn't really a suite however, as a suite usually has a separate living area. It is a larger room however, which does have room for two armchairs. Quite impressive is the inclusion of an iPod docking station, not something frequently seen in rooms in this modern era. The Dorset Hotel is to be complimented for thinking of such an inclusion. There were also two wine glasses which was another thoughtful amenity.

The bathroom was immaculate, very tastefully decorated and our first impressions of the room in general was that it was well appointed.

In the morning, guests go downstairs for breakfast in another well decorated room - some may call it twee, but it seemed tasteful to us. Your full English is cooked to order and there is also a choice of fresh fruit, cereals and fruit juices.

The Dorset Hotel would definitely have achieved five TripAdvisor 'blobs' had it not been for the following:
- Bathroom door needs re-varnishing or replacing immediately
- Water pressure for shower wasn't great (which admittedly may not be the hotel's fault)
- Strike a deal with a local butcher for the sausage at breakfast, it feels like a cheap option from Brakes catering supplies
- Female member of staff is never to be seen without chewing gum on every occasion and male member of staff irritatingly quietly whistles throughout breakfast - it took every measure of tolerance not to say something.

Despite the above points, we would still recommend The Dorset Hotel over the Crown in Ryde for a first or return visit.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite on the ground floor if you prefer a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConsumerBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydeMichael31, Owner at Dorset Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate your detailed review, when you occupied the room you only used the bedroom part of the suite a large lounge is attached but when booked through booking agencies such as booking.com or laterooms we only market it as a bedroom and we are reluctant to pay commission on lounges. We hope to welcome you back on some future occasion if you are visiting the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is my second tome staying at the Dorset and the staff are always friendly and help you to enjoy your stay. After breaking down down the side road of the hotel the receptionist was very helpful and let the rest of the party into their rooms as I waited for the AA!! We stayed in room 22 which had just had a refurbishment. Bed was very comfy and breakfast was yummy.

Got talking to one of the owners who had us in stitches, very friendly staff. highly recommended great location and near to town. I shall be returning again in 2013 :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydeMichael31, Owner at Dorset Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review we appreciate your comments and glad you were satisfied with the standards we provided and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on some future occasion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

stayed for one night and didn't want to be in the room. It smelt of damp and the appearance was poor. Didn't want to stay for breakfast as I did not enjoy my stay at all. very close to the main street in Ryde though so location is good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank intheria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydeMichael31, Owner at Dorset Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we were obviously disappointed that you did not enjoy your recent visit to the establishment. This booking was made and paid for on your behalf by your company at a cost of £32.00 plus v.a.t. for a single en suite room. I note your preference in your profile states "nothing but the best" perhaps you need to advise the company paying your bills of this as the best does not come at £32.00 per night. we provide bed and breakfast at budget prices offering a friendly service, clean accommodation and excellent breakfast which you did not sample as you booked yourself on the 7.00 a.m. ferry back to the mainland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.2 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Ryde Isle of Wight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
713 reviews
5.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yelf's Hotel
Yelf's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ryde
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset Hotel

Property: Dorset Hotel
Address: 31 Dover Street, Ryde PO33 2BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorset Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorset House was built in 1842 during the reign of Queen Victoria and has been operating as a bed and breakfast for many years. We are not of modern design and have 23 rooms varying in size. Centrally located in the historic town of Ryde, we are close to many restaurants and cafes. The house has a large private car park at the rear and offers a garden with seating area to take in the peace and quiet that the Isle of Wight offers. Free wi-fi is available in the public area and we operate a licensed bar. Inclusive ferry packages are available to suit the cost of your trip. We have many special offers throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Dorset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorset Hotel Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing