We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stays in Oct 2009/2010/2011” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorset Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Dorset Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Ryde B&B and Inns
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
450 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Stays in Oct 2009/2010/2011”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Rambling weekend all 3 times. Comfortable room, friendly service and lovely food. Even allowed us the space for our organiser to set up maps and individual itineraries for when we all arrived, and for the presentation of individual certificates on the morning of our departure. Pleasant and quiet location, handy for trains and buses as well as car parking.

Room Tip: Can't remember if there's a lift so a ground floor room essential for the mobility-impaired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydeMichael31, Owner at Dorset Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay at the Dorset House, we apperciate your comments and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on some future occasion.

Michael Baker
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    60
    29
    10
    4
See reviews for
18
68
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I booked two rooms for three nights one for our friends and the other for my wife and i. Being the first to arrive we had the choice of the Victorian room or the Garden room, being a smoker i chose the Garden room. Both had a lovely lounge area, very comfortable large beds the rooms were spotlessly clean, ours had a small tv in the bedroom and a large flat screen tv with freeview in the lounge, plenty of storage space. I cannot praise our apartment highly enough, and for me as a dreaded smoker to be able to pop out of the french doors to the garden area with my coffee, cig, and paper was a delight. Our friends room at the front of the hotel was very pleasing to them to, and did not suffer from any traffic noise. The owners are lovely caring people, and the staff were very pleasing with their efficient service. Free parking,great choice for breakfast, short walk to the esplanade, beach, shopping area's and night life. What more could you ask for. We will definitely be back, soon. Thanks for a lovely break to all at the Dorset Hotel.

Room Tip: Both rooms were premier on ground floor, and were spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydeMichael31, Owner at Dorset Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay at the Dorset House, we apperciate your comments and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on some future occasion.

Michael Baker
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Very nice hotel, it is what you expect from a b&b, very help full staff which were always friendly. Breakfast was very good with a good choice with a selection for vegetarian, the hotel could do with some modernisation and maybe a lick of paint and a good tidy up of the back yard. I had no complaints whilst staying here for our honeymoon and would recommend this again. The bed was ok no real complaints apart from the general noise on the landings where the walls are thin. There are plenty of choices of bars and restaurants in ryde with plenty to do in the evening so would probably go again in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydeMichael31, Owner at Dorset Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay at the Dorset House, we apperciate your comments and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on some future occasion.

Michael Baker
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

A cute little b&b with friendly staff and homely feel.
We stayed here for one night before heading off to the festival.
Beds were comfy and breakfast was perfect for us. Shower was a bit weak though.
All in all a great stop over before the festival!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelBee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydeMichael31, Owner at Dorset Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay at the Dorset House, we appreciate your comments and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on some future occasion.

Michael Baker
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton-on-Trent
Level Contributor
643 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Our recent walk round the coast of the Isle of Wight entailed us staying in this hotel for the first and last nights. Luckily, the place was really good (otherwise we wouldn't have been looking forward to our last night's stay). The staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was brilliant and we had a great night's slepp on both occasions. The room we had wasn't fantastically large, but is was perfectly good enough for our needs. The proximity of the place to the Union Street eateries made it even better.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GerMar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydeMichael31, Owner at Dorset Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments, I am pleased that you found the accommodation was satisfactory for your personal requirements. Congratulations on walking around the island in the seven days. Michael Baker - Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

I find it hard to believe people slate this place, it is excellent value for money, come on, £42 per night for an en-suite room with breakfast! I’ve paid double, if not more to stop in many Premier Inn’s and have encountered more bad ones than good. So much to say, I’ve stopped using them and now prefer to use small independent hotels such as this one.

The hotel is clean and functions well. The room was good, clean and the bed was very comfortable (best nights sleep in ages whilst working away). It had all you would want for a short stay - decent shower (with loads of hot water), desk for that all important work, kettle and a very good TV.

Would I go back? Yes I would, and I’ll be there again in a few weeks. Oh, and the sausages – the Lincolnshire ones were lovely!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WallisKirkland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydeMichael31, Owner at Dorset Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am glad that you found our accommodation satisfactory for your requirements and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again on some future occassion.

Michael Baker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night a few weeks ago and i wouldnt stay again! After a full days travelling from the mainland i couldnt wait to crash out in the hotel. Unfortunaly this wasnt the case. Whilst the hotel is located perfectly for access to the amenities, i would not recommend it to a friend. The inital impression on the inside was one of an old peoples home, with very dated furnishings and decor. I appreciate the right to an owners tatse but appealing? No. The rooms were clean however very small, barely enough room for two in a twin bed. The pillows were tiny so hardly any neck support and bedside lights were situated directly above the head board so a smacked head was unavoidable. Also both me and my partner had cold showers, with not even lukewarm water. Finally the person we met to check in was quite surly and scruffy, and didnt seem welcoming at all. Breakfast (full english) was small, with almost stale white bread and awful sausages. Not good at all.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwhittle90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydeMichael31, Owner at Dorset Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
I have waited a month before responding to this reveiw, as I have e-mailed the writer and asked them to identify themselves and the date of the stay, thus allowing me to investigate the points that they have detailed.

No reply has been received so I can not be sure if this review is genuine.

Thank you for your review, I am sorry you did not like the lounge facilities we provide, but pleased that you found the accommodation to be clean. We have a variety or rooms available, You must have personally chosen to book a standard room, rather than a premier room which are much larger and offer more space.

Additional pillows are available in the wardrobes of each room and extra are available if required from the front desk. At not time did you request additional services or make us aware of any hot water problem as this could have easily been checked. The majority of times when a comment of no hot water is received it is due to the wrong operation of the shower which are probably different to the one in your personal accommodation.

We receive many praises for our breakfast menu, apart from some negative comments about the sausages we use. We do not serve stale bread and all our Kingsmill bread is toasted prior to serving!

My DISAPPOINTMENT with this review is the failure to identify the writer and the fact that many of the comments contained in this the writers first review could have been resolved if they have spoken to any of the staff at the time rather than hide behind a computer. I personally think that accommodation can not be judged on one nights stay as this does not allow you to experience the accommodation facilities in detail.

Yours sincerely

Michael Baker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.2 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Yelf's Hotel
Yelf's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
5.3 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset Hotel

Property: Dorset Hotel
Address: 31 Dover Street, Ryde PO33 2BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorset Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorset House was built in 1842 during the reign of Queen Victoria and has been operating as a bed and breakfast for many years. We are not of modern design and have 23 rooms varying in size. Centrally located in the historic town of Ryde, we are close to many restaurants and cafes. The house has a large private car park at the rear and offers a garden with seating area to take in the peace and quiet that the Isle of Wight offers. Free wi-fi is available in the public area and we operate a licensed bar. Inclusive ferry packages are available to suit the cost of your trip. We have many special offers throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Dorset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorset Hotel Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing