We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Hotel Ryde Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ryde Castle
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights 7-11 July. Lovely clean room with sea view. Good choice at breakfast. Found staff very pleasant and helpful. Previous negative reviews seem to be totally unfounded in my opinion as could not fault this hotel in any way and would not hesitate to return when visiting Isle of Wight again. Highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank dange184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OEIGK, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank You for your great review , we are all glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards Christopher Francis General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 422 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

since its re opening after the fire there have been mixed reviews to do with poor service. New manager Chris and his team seem to be getting this sorted now and apart from only one waitress on Sunday with the resulting delay we experienced good service. The staff were universally friendly, helpful and cheerful!!!
The rooms have been nicely refurbished - although I wish our two pictures hadn't both been of shipwrecks as we were in the IOW to buy a boat! Beware window restrainers limit the amount of fresh air ![elf and safety] Lovely comfy bed - good linen and towels. The heated towel rail was incredibly hot so beware. Monsoon shower head great. Front facing rooms give you a view of the sea, ours was not enormous but big enough - there were comfy chairs and some storage - not over generous. ..
The restaurant and bar meals were fine and prices reasonable.
overall yes I would go back and stay there If we return to the isle of wight. The hotel was nicely located opposite the sea front with a large car park. Look up special deals on the old English website.

Room Tip: If you can afford it there are some larger luxury rooms with seating areas - one has a very nice sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank caroline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank You for your great review , we are all glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards Christopher Francis General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

First impressions - Good sized car park. Very attractive building facing sea front. Tables laid out for alfresco dining. And with the sun shining, it all looked very promising.

We were welcomed by a very helpful receptionist. Our room on the top floor had views over seafront. We stayed for two nights with a special interest group.

The lift only goes to the first floor, but the stairs were easy to negotiate, so the offered assistance was not needed. The room was small but very nicely furnished and spotlessly clean, with quality bed, pillows and duvet. There was a Desk/dressing table, one easy chair and one desk chair.

The bathroom was compact, but very well appointed. Bath, with shower over it and an additional detachable shower handset. Liquid hand/body wash and hand/body lotion most usable. Small, but useful space to store toilet bags etc. While the towels were a bit thin, they were very usable. Shaver point and additional light were over the good sized mirror.

Breakfast offered a good cold buffet. The hot selection was from the menu, with a varied range to choose from. The order was taken at the table and nicely cooked to order. Staff were very attentive, checking if we needed more tea/coffee on a several occasions.

The free WiFi was good when it worked, sadly, that was only 50% of the time we were there. Despite what some reviewers have said, we found the staff to be smilling, profesional and helpful. Making our short stay very pleasant. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayare14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank You for your great review , we are all glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards Christopher Francis General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The old Castle burned a few years ago i was told. YThey have really made a beautiful job redooing it.
The old atmosphere is there but all colors, Baths, and furnitur is elegant and New anv very comfy beds. Nice Food and restaurant With New Furniture in an old style. Well done!!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that are refurnched in 2nd floor With good size., cornerroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanna20132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank You for your great review , we are all glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards Christopher Francis General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed in a family/disabled room. We had a very comfortable bed and My 2 year old had a nice big bed too. We had a great view across to Ryde beach. The staff were friendly We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel and enjoyed both.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eattravelandbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OEIGK, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank You for your great review , we are all glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards Christopher Francis General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Popped in for a few drinks on a sunny afternoon. There was one member of staff behind the bar with a queue slowly forming. Other members of staff just walked by and seemed oblivious! We last visited this establishment before the fire which closed it for months and it was awful. We hoped that since the rebuild and huge financial investment that the service would have I'm proved,sadly not. Loads of potential here but seems poorly managed. Shame.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Alfie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OEIGK, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm very sorry we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion; our staff usually maintain very high standards of service, so I am very sorry this was not the case during your stay

Kind Regards

Christopher Francis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had a lovely long weekend in the the Ryde Castle hotel. We had booked a sea view room which was clean and comfortable, with a very nice modern bathroom. The view from the room looked across a bowling green to the sandy beaches of Ryde. We booked an evening meal which was very tasty and reasonably priced. Breakfast was great with a good choice of food. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OEIGK, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank You for your great review , we are all glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Christopher Francis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.2 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
3.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
9.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
750 reviews
5.3 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ryde Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ryde Castle

Address: Esplanade, Ryde PO33 1JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Price Range: $94 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ryde Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Ryde Castle is a former Victorian manor ideally located on Ryde seafront overlooking the picturesque marina. The newly refurbished bedrooms are all en-suite with flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities and free Wi-Fi. Some of the bedrooms benefit from spectacular sea views across the Solent and beyond. The Hotel also features a lift, fully accessible rooms and external ramps.The Ryde Castle has a beautiful restaurant and bar patio area so you can enjoy a relaxing drink and a meal whilst taking in the wonderful views and sea air. Ryde Castle is accessible from all major transport links, both the hovercraft and catamaran services that link the Isle of Wight with Portsmouth and Southsea are only a short walk from the hotel and with ample parking available free of charge it makes Ryde Castle hotel the perfect choice whilst visiting the Isle of Wight ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ryde Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Ryde
Ryde Castle Hotel
Castle Ryde
Hotel Ryde Castle Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing