We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, ssme it wasnt bussier”
Review of Dos Amigos - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dos Amigos
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: http://www.isleofwighttouristguide.com/view-listing/dos-amigos/1725/
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice food, ssme it wasnt bussier”
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Nice food, but afew points. Tables werent as clean as i would have liked. Reminded me of sticky pub tables. Service was overall good but was one point when there was no one at all front of house to helo customers or to seat people. Overall was nice though. Would go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NicolaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    6
    2
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food & value for money”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Family meal out. Good menu & something for everyone. Quality of food was very food - although no ribs so my son was dissapointed, but hey plenty of other things for him to choose from! Service was good, but not enough staff on, our waiter was everywhere bless him! Would definatley return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dibble007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Beware of suspicious reviews for Dos Amigos”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I haven't been to the Isle of Wight since I was a child, so I was looking forward to discovering the cuisine the island had to offer - I wasn't disappointed.

My wife and I visited Dos Amigos and it was only the third Mexican we'd ever been to. For some reason, I never thought the cuisine was appealing but I'm beginning to be won over - actually, after our visit to Dos Amigos the conversion continues...

We ordered a bottle of rose to go with our meal and the friendly waitress with smooth delivery suggested that we open it ourselves. In most places I've reviewed on TripAdvisor it would be highly likely that I would be insulted at such a suggestion. Even my wife commented on the chilled-out manner of the waitress - I wasn't insulted having to open it whatsoever but in fact charmed by the laid back atmosphere of Dos Amigos.

For mains, my wife had chicken fajitas and I had steak quesadillas. That was going to be it, but I do enjoy nachos, my wife less so - she finds them boring. I was in a Mexican, surely they had to be better than my Mitchell & Butler owned local, Ember Inns who clearly buy them in mass-produced? So we decided to share a single portion...

Mitchell & Butler should be ashamed of themselves and learn a thing or two from Dos Amigos. I bit into a nacho and could see individual layers, they were so light and fluffy. The real judge? My wife who doesn't even like nachos - she loved them in Dos Amigos.

When our mains got taken away, the waitress did the standard service check asking if everything was okay. I wanted to know when the nachos were baked, given that the menu did say they were homemade. The waitress was immediately concerned that the nachos may have been stale. I reassured the waitress that we WERE happy. I told the waitress that since an ex was a chef and I know the tricks of the trade, whatever I was told I'd add two days to. E.G. They were made on Friday means they were made on Wednesday.

The waitress returned to tell me they were made freshly everyday. You can TASTE that that is the case.

So moved was I by the experience that when I saw someone who I suspected to be the owner go outside for a cheaky cigarette I decided to speak with him to congratulate him on his excellent food and outlet.

He was like his staff, friendly, hospitable and welcoming. I returned indoors and with empty glasses my wife and I decided on two tequilas which we were then told were on the house.

This tops off an excellent experience which thoroughly deserves the five TripAdvisor 'blobs'. However...

... reading some of the reviews of Dos Amigos, I can't help thinking I've found the first outlet in over 40 reviews I've written which is suffering from malicious reviews. There are people slating this outlet who have barely written five reviews.

Ryde comes across a small community which if one person is upset could easily ask others to post equally negative and malicious reviews faking their location for example.

When I read all the five blob reviews I find myself reading reviews which are far more representative of the experience my wife and I had.

My ONLY criticism, which I wrote on the feedback form was the nailbiting young waiter who delivered our main courses. Not once at our table, but at least twice. Young, perhaps inexperienced, but a word in his ear re food and hygiene is the ONLY critical piece of feedback - otherwise - superb!

You may think this review is 'gushing' and potentially false - think again. I don't even live on the Isle of Wight and operate on TripAdvisor under my real name. Feel free to get in touch if you have any questions.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ConsumerBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iow
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“don't waste your money”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I used to go to this restaurant a couple of years ago and it was quite good, so decided to take my son. The service was good and the place still looks the same OK Mexican themed décor but the food was horrible. I had some stale nuked nacho's with tacky cheese,sour cream and guacamole which was horrible, followed by Cajun chicken which was hot but tasteless, served with a small portion of pilaf rice which seemed to have come out of a packet. My son had some fried Mexican things which were tasteless, and a bacon and cheese burger and spicy fry's, the bacon had a big rind still on it and the burger crumbled to pieces and was tasteless the fry's and his starter looked like and tasted like they had been cooked in oil that was desperate to be changed. The bill was £30 but I didn't complain because it was just so so awful. Will not be going back that's for sure. Don't go.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jules222Iow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hola Amigos!”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Loved it! Great decor and very attentive service. Yummy food, fun music. Obviously popular, what more could you want!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ckt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dos Amigos also viewed

 
Ryde, Isle of Wight
Ryde, Isle of Wight
 
Ryde, Isle of Wight
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing