We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Witherspoons”
Review of S. Fowler & Co.

S. Fowler & Co.
Ranked #18 of 88 Restaurants in Ryde
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's a Witherspoons”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

So it does excactly what it says on the tin. Discounted beer standard Witherspoons menu (which I like) has extra tables upstairs for when it's busy. A bit of a trek to get to the toilets which are upstairs too. But they are clean Nd well maintained.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soulbadger67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    85
    51
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
545 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“No problems with the food.”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Called in for their Fish and Chips and a Drink offer. Downstairs was very busy, so went up for a bit of peace and quiet. Acceptable 15 minute wait after ordering. Meal was fine (good mushy peas!!) and excellent value. Place does now need some updating and a bit of TLC. as it is showing more than a little wear and tear.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor poor poor”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Where do I start? They advertise 'children are welcome' however some of the items were not available on the kids menu, we finally ordered a roast chicken for children which they said they had. When it arrived it was nothing more than a chicken breast butterflied and a few vegetables. The chicken was so overcooked you needed a steak knife to cut it. I ordered burger and chips which arrived cold. The service was dreadful, having to ask for everything rather than being offered anything. The kids food is offered with fruit having to ask for this twice as the it was not offered or presented as requested or advertised. Gents toilets were filthy with the sign in the toilet that says they were checked regularly but being last signed at 10am and it was 1pm when we arrived. Awful, awful awful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not a family atmosphere.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Went here on a Tuesday about 6. Although it wasn't late, and wasn't a friday/saturday night people were already drinking and being quite rowdy, even in the designated family area upstairs. It was only me and my partner, so that was ok. However I wouldn't recommend it as a family friendly place if its how it was, when I went there, all the time.
It was steak night, and so far I have not experienced a good steak on this island. But the steak I ordered was thick, and cooked to my liking (for once, no restaurants seem to do rare). There was no fat or gristle in it either!
Overall I very much enjoyed my steak and shall be returning. I only have 3 things that put me off:
1: The onion rings I ordered were very very greasy.
2: Sauces, salt, and vinegar were in sachets, and on a serve yourself basis, which makes you feel guilty if you take too many sachets.
3: My coke was watered down!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IOW_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good location near hover, train and bus terminal.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Popped in for a drink before taking the hovercraft back to Southsea. Ale was ok but as with most of my Wetherspoon experiences recently there is a lack of atmosphere and the staff do not seem to care.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VelmaCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S. Fowler & Co. also viewed

Newport, Isle of Wight
Ryde, Isle of Wight
 
Ryde, Isle of Wight
Ryde, Isle of Wight
 

Been to S. Fowler & Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing