We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best around”
Review of Ponda Rosa

Ponda Rosa
Ranked #48 of 85 Restaurants in Ryde
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best around”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Whilst visiting friends and family on the island we were recommend to visit the Ponda Rosa as it was under new management. Upon entering you could see there was a vast array of specials on the board which all looked very tempting and of course the carvery was on as well. We both decided to have the carvery and was not disappointed. The beef was fantastic and all the veg was cooked just right. All staff were pleasant and helpful and when I return to the island again I will most certainly be returning

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denzil47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    29
    19
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandown, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“best so far”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

having visited this place on many occasions we was always very pleased with the service and the food and wide choice is the best we've yet to find, they always go out of thier way to help with fussy eaters, we took family members from the mainland recently and they agreed it was by far the best service and food they had received in ages, so well done from the whole family we will visit you again soon

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelleiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“well worth a look”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

my wife and i recently visited the Ponda Rosa and we were extremely surprised with what this restaurant had to offer. My wife had the carvery whilst i opted for one of the specials. Both meals were very good and value for money. The service staff were very polite and helpful and the chef on the carvery was very helpful and informative, telling us about the change to local meats (which you could most certainly tell). As we were paying we were offered a 10% loyalty card and a two for one voucher to use next time which we most certainly will be doing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank owen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

i am a regular visitor to this venue and have always been quite satisfied. The venue has recently changed hands and the quality of the food and the service has dropped dramatically. I was kept waiting for a very long time before i received my order, which was not very hot when it arrived. The waitress was very surley and rude. I voiced my concerns to the management, who obviously spoke to the waitress in question, as she then confronted me in an agressive manner because i had dared to complain. I doubt if i shall return and advise others to beware.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r0ses447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good Food at good prices.”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I ate at this pub twice and both times the standard was very good. I can highly recommend it and they will give you a loyalty discount card for 10% off future meals. Steaks with trimmings from only £8.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponda Rosa also viewed

 
Ryde, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Ponda Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing