We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,158)
Filter reviews
1,158 results
Traveler rating
677
299
108
30
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
677
299
108
30
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews secret escapes steam room lake view bottle of prosecco relaxation room isle of wight included ferry full body massage changing rooms lamb evening meal ferry crossing lovely hotel relaxing break night break buffet breakfast restaurant staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 1,158 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2018

We had a pleasant long weekend at the Lakeside hotel. A modern, somewhat bland facade doesn’t create the best first impression but once inside the reception was welcoming and the staff were friendly. Room was nicely decorated, although the wood furniture looked a little tired in places. Views of the lake were lovely and these are clearly a key selling point of the hotel. It would have been nice if the windows could have been bigger so that they could bring more of the view into the room. We found the temperature of the room too warm so we kept window open at night. Bed was comfortable and condusive to a good nights sleep.

The Spa has a relatively small pool plus sauna and steam room. The outside garden with whirlpool and saunas is a nice addition, although we struggled to get eucalyptus sauna up to temp. Spa staff were very pleasant and the short massages we had were all very relaxing. Overall a nice way to spend a couple of hours relaxing after a day out and about exploring.

The Brasserie was very nicely layed out with high vaulted ceiling and panoramic views across the lake. Buffet breakfast including cooked English breakfast was good - although it’s worth noting that vegetarian sausages and other options can be ordered separately - this is not immediately apparent and we only noticed sign afterwards. We had dinner at the hotel in the Brassiere on both nights. First night was very enjoyable although vegetarian options on second night were limited and a mix up with the order only made matters worse. In fairness the waiter dealt with the issue appropriately. Seating area by the bar a nice place to relax before/ after meal.

Overall this is a pleasant hotel. The views are lovely, the staff friendly and overall the hotel delivered a nice weekend away.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJHEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2018

A modern but stylish hotel, very clean and extremely comfortable. The receptionist was friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant excellent and very good value. Quiet, well thought out and well staffed, will definitely stay here again to try the spa!

Room tip: Ground floor rooms have patio doors overlooking the lake
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunshine07485908041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2018

The Lakeside is in an excellent location. Our room was comfortable delightful with patio doors that opened up onto a green and overlooked the lake. We were also very lucky with the weather as it was bright and warm. Breakfast was buffet style and they was an excellent selection and you can order fried eggs, the toaster though had its moments :). The evening menu was good as there was a nice selection to choose form. The staff were helpful and polite what more do you really want. It is very convenient if you are interested in visiting Osbourne house at it is only a few minutes drive away.

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank RnR_Medway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2018 via mobile

After a disaster of a hotel in Cowes we changed to Lakeside.
We stay in many hotels and this is without doubt one of the best.
Staff are polite and professional. The hotel is clean to a very high standard, lovely view & the food is superb.
Actually couldn’t fault it at all.
Well done all.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank 242simonw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2018

Modern hotel set in the lovely surrounds of Wootton Bridge, located overlooking the tidal lake. Easy to find whether coming off the ferry at Fishbourne, or via Cowes, within minutes (although the traffic lights approaching Wootton, if coming from Cowes, can be very long as the lights are not set for the traffic flow!). Public transport is accessible nearby, although nothing beats having a car to tour the whole island.
The staff are very welcoming, polite and friendly. The room was very nice with tea & coffee facility and, on this occasion, overlooked the lake that gave wonderful views and was lovely for waking with the morning sun shining across.
There is also a swimming pool and other facilities that you would expect from a four-star operation. The spa is very good and reasonably priced.
We ate on one evening in the Brasserie. Intimate and pleasurable, although missed the homemade bread with our starters, the staff were again very friendly and knowledgable, of both the food and surroundings.
The breakfast could not be faulted. Great choice, presented very well.
Overall a very nice hotel, reasonable pricing within a great environment. Plenty of walks and some very interesting birds, including the 'resident' heron seen each day.

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank BlueBton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews