We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,160)
Filter reviews
1,160 results
Traveler rating
678
299
109
30
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
678
299
109
30
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews secret escapes steam room lake view bottle of prosecco relaxation room isle of wight included ferry full body massage changing rooms set menu lamb ferry crossing evening meal lovely hotel relaxing break night break restaurant staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 1,160 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a romantic weekend away, selecting this over another (less expensive)option on the island, based on reviews. At £200 per night we were promised lakeside views. Our first room was a joke - ground floor with no direct view over the lake. We realised that most other ground floor rooms had outside space. Not this one. (Avoid room #8.) Having travelled widely, we were perplexed that they would charge this kind of money for what appeared a less than average room. We complained to the reception, also pointing out that areas of the hotel were dirty. After initial push-back we were given a better room. Not sure the second room fully justified the nightly rate either: no mini bar or fridge, basic TV channels missing.
The hotel is too close to a major road to say it is tucked away. Felt like a dated 1990s leisure centre. We were disappointed that it wasn’t possible to have breakfast outside on the terrace, despite the nice weather. Verdict on breakfast buffet: unimaginative. Left uninspired.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank 341gab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakesideParkHotel, General Manager at Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2018

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations like so many of our other reviews and thank you for your feedback.

I am pleased that reception were able to allocate you another Lake View Room and that you preferred the view. We do have 5 Patio Rooms on the ground floor as you mention. This room type can only be booked directly with the hotel and not on the internet as these rooms have a different tariff.

I am sorry that you were unable to enjoy Breakfast Al Fresco as we are able to serve meals and drinks on all of our outside decking and unsure why this was not possible. This matter has been investigated along with your comments about TV channels and our freshly cooked buffet breakfasts which are normally so popular amongst our guests. Kind regards, Stephen Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2018

This is a modern hotel with fabulous views over the lake (with resident heron). Unfortunately the disabled rooms overlook the carpark! However, good facilities in the room itself. Restaurant food well presented and, in the main, good quality, although the octopus was an unwelcome surprise element in one dish!!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WheelLife53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018

Booked a Secret Escapes 3 Night stay. Needed to unwind and relax and this Hotel was just perfect in every way. We had a lake view room which was spotless and with a nice seating area outside which overlooked the lake and air conditioning which not only worked beautifully but was also extremely quiet. The staff were superb and the spa relaxing and invigorating. The best testament we could give is that we left the Hotel completely relaxed and refreshed. Just the job.

Room tip: Lake view ground floor rooms are best.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

We went for an overnight stay at the Lakeside when visiting the Isle of Wight for a family party.

We’d been before but not for some years, and my recollection was that it was “ok” but nothing more.

We had a really nice stay. The hotel is unfussy clean and comfortable, the staff very welcoming and helpful, and in the current heat the powerful air con in the room was blissful. Other than some burnt toast (rapidly replaced) the room service breakfast was excellent also.

I would thoroughly recommend the Lakeside for a relaxing short break on the Isle of Wight.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Tim_Ruxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

We had booked on a secret escapes deal, due to it being a bit last minute, I could not reserve the room I wanted to, on ringing the hotel they thought they could upgrade my room if i paid the difference, when we arrived they had upgraded our room but this was as a goodwill gesture.

The room which was a suite was lovely, the air conditioning was fab and used as it was an incredibly hot weekend. The suite looked like it had been recently refurbed as it did not look in need of attention at all.

The dinner in the restaurant was good but the breakfast seemed a bit more haphazard, the buffet is quite small but the cooked breakfast part, is lovely quality.

We did not use the spa, so I cant comment on that.

We had a wonderful stay here, and I am sure we will be visiting this hotel again in the future

Room tip: Room 17, suite is beautiful although does not have a lake view,
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nikkinoodles66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews