We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely View”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Lakeside Park over the Easter weekend. The hotel is literally 3 minutes drive from fishbourne port. We stayed in the lake view executive room, the room was nice and clean, with bottled water in the room on arrival and tea and coffee making facility plus the benefit of a lake view. The pool facilities were good with a hot tub, steam and sauna rooms. There was a good vegetarian breakfast selection. One evening we also had dinner in the brasserie, which was very tasty, again the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rani_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    247
    87
    22
    33
See reviews for
150
559
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Firstly a mention about Red Funnel Ferries. I was impressed with the punctuality and ease of using the ferry which contributed to the overall experience, well done.
My wife and I checked in to the Hotel at approx 14.30 last tuesday,06 May, check-in was efficient and quick. We had room 42 towards the end of the building which had the lakeview, which we would highlr recommend. The room was very good, the bathroom/shower very clean and well appointed with ample good quality "smellies" and nice towels. The bed in our room was 6 feet wide,excellent, comfy and with nice quality bedding.
We both ate in the Brasserie that evening and chose from the "daily specials" menu which was decent value at £19.95 for 3 courses, however we both thought the portion size a little small and the service slow. Maybe this was because we visited one day after the bank holiday weekend and certain staff were on days off? If you are pushed for time or fancy something different there is a chinese and an indian takeaway 5 mins walk away, also an excellent fish and chip shop the same distance.
Breakfast was very nice, superb sausages and good quality bacon especially, along with the usual range of healthier items, good coffee and good service.
Overall, a nice place to stay in clean and modern surroundings with very well maintained grounds and in a nice and quiet location.
Oh! it's also very warm everywhere, maybe a little too much!

Room Tip: As others have said, lakeview rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tadleyterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Had a fantastic time at the Lakeside, we spent the day and evening there for our Anniversary on Sunday 4th. The service was impeccable, food was delicious and the rooms were lovely, the bed was extremely comfortable. We spent a few hours in the spa, we were however abit disappointed that we couldnt have any treatments as they were fully booked, so book WELL in advance.
Members of staff were really friendly, especially Karen the receptionist, Carlos the Maitre d and David the nightporter.
We only live in Ryde, we got a fabulous deal so will be sure to return. Thankyou Lakeside

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

My hubby and I had a three night break from Secret Escapes and we are definitely going back! Hotel was lovely, food was delicious, pool and spa were clean and never over crowded and all the staff we came across were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We had the hotel 'signature' massage which was worth the upgrade - never felt so good. Agree with the comments about bathrobes for moving about hotel and also the bedding - top quality I'm sure but far too heavy for my liking. A lovely way to spend a few days though and as I said we are going back for more.

Room Tip: Opposite car park might be quieter but we didn't really have any problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

While from the exterior, the hotel looks like a long term care facility, the interior is decent. Rooms are clean and stocked with all the necessities. You can get to the hotel via bus or taxi from Ryde. Bus was £3.50 each or a cab cost £7-9. Personally, I recommend staying outside of Ryde as the town itself is a little grungy. The hotel has a restaurant called the Brasserie which served up a decent crab sandwich and a really good breakfast. A couple a la carte hot options, but mostly buffet for hot and cold. A couple takeaways nearby plus a Small Tescos. Dined at Michelangelo's in Ryde.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hornchurch
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 3night break booked through secret escapes. We were put on an earlier ferry and arrived at the hotel before our room was ready. No problem we said, we will have a light lunch in the brasserie. We were spoken to by a man called Terry, who was very friendly and turned out to be the owner. He chatted about the building of the hotel before personally taking us into the brasserie and introducing us to Carlos. Lunch was lovely and our room was ready by 2pm. I agree with everything that the previous reviewer has said about bathrooms, bedrooms and staff. The spa was clean, pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and shower all ideal size etc and quite quiet and personal. The treatments that we had were first class with a lovely relaxation room for before and/or afterwards. Dinner was as good as any 5star
restaurant that we have eaten in and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. Maria was particularly friendly with a lovely smile. Carlos is exceptional at his job, with the right blend of
efficiency and familiarity, making the restaurant a comfortable place to dine in. We had a problem
not sleeping that night due to a very deep fluffy duvet and springy pillows. Once mentioned the following morning, our pillows were replaced with feather pillows and the duvet replaced with lighter sheet and blankets. Housekeeping were great and understood our needs. I did find the accomodation side of the hotel rather too warm, but that could be just me. We faced the car park but there was no noise, even though our windows were open all night as we were on the first floor. The value of this break was fantastic and we would go back. We were surprised to find a bottle of prosecco in our room on the first night, especially as drinking that takes money away from the bar. I would happily forego that, buy extra drinks from the bar, but have bathrobes and slippers as standard in the room. This would be so useful for moving between spa and bedroom. Just a thought Terry! Would have mentioned it if we had seen you again for a chat. The island needs this calibre of hotel as some of those we saw on the sea fronts left much to be desired. All in all, a fantastic base to see the island, a gourmet delight in the restaurant, a relaxing break in the spa and friendly, happy staff at all times.

Room Tip: Not necessary to choose a lake view as rooms are exactly the same, except for the lake view. Would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rita s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I have visited Lakeside spa several times in the past and most recently We enjoyed a visit to Lakeside last week for the April spa massage and afternoon tea package. For £49 per person we feel it was fantastic value. We had an hour long massage to start, followed by a couple of hours relaxing in the pool and Jacuzzi area followed by a fabulous & delicious afternoon tea over looking the lake.

The spa area (pool Jacuzzi area) is clean and good but its not very big so there is limited space to sit after only a few people are in there. We can not fault the massage, tea, value or the staff which were all excellent but on this visit just a couple of areas did need a bit or TLC. Our robes were free of charge but they were VERY tatty & the shower area in the ladies changing room is mouldy. Just little things that need attention but things that could alter an impression.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louloucakes_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
8.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
3.1 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
7.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Address: High Street | Wootton Bridge, Ryde PO33 4LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New, Purpose built 4 star property set in 37 acres of outstanding natural beauty incorporating a 20 acre lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Park Ryde
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing