We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming and old fashioned”
Review of Appley Manor Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ryde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Appley Manor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“charming and old fashioned”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This Victorian hotel (with a later 1960s annexe) has echoes of Osborne House: huge ceilings, grand staircases and vast windows. It almost feels like a high end B&B. The decor isn't minimalist chic, more comfortable English seaside resort with a genteel sense of not being flashy or new so you don't need to feel self conscious. The rooms are vast, warm, comfortable with large bathrooms and fried breakfasts commendable. It's a perfect place for exploring the coast and local attractions. The restaurant is reputedly good but within a 10 minute walk are several good seaside cafes, pubs and restaurants. In value terms, it certainly scores over some better known and trendier hotels nearby frequented by the 'down from London' crowd, especially if you have a family to accomodate.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank unclepious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles a, Guest Relations Manager at Appley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hi Christoph I

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review Appley Manor Hotel. I am also very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

You are quite right about the style of the building, it was built between 1853 and 1856 and was designed in accordance with the architecture that was made so very popular by Osbourne House.

Kind regards

Josh Asher

Customer relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    80
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
92
42
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

A recent re-visit after promising 'never again' resulted in a pleasant surprise! The food has taken a real turn for the better - Try the homemade pies! With lots of daily specials and desserts makes this a viable location to eat once again.

Look, It's no fine dining but a) doesn't pretend to be and b) the price point reflects what you get. Excellent value, decent potions and good quality.

The place went downhill in recent years which is a shame is it's a stunning building in a great location. However all seems on the right tracks again Im very pleased to report.

Ticks all the boxes.

Keep it up Appley!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank domb1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles a, Guest Relations Manager at Appley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hi domb1975

I am very pleased that you feel our standards have improved, we are always trying to better ourself in both service and food quality. I would like to thank you for the valuable feedback, and hope that everything will be just as good if you choose to visit us again in the future.

Kind regards

Josh Asher

Customer relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had a two night stay here and found the rooms, all be it dated(which is all part of the building), were very spacious, warm and clean. We had plenty of room with a sea view. The beds very comfortable, clean and the towels changed daily. Flat screen television and WIFI - which was excellent. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room with a table and chairs. The food at Breakfast was lovely, have to mention the poached eggs were perfect, thank you. The bar/restaurant attached to the hotel, had a great variety, with a packed specials board. The meals were lovely. The staff were always helpful. The only thing I would say, maybe in the evenings, having a few more staff working, they were all working hard, just needed a couple more. Car parking was excellent - they have a large car park located directly outside the hotel, so no problems there. It is like an old estate home, which is reflected in the rooms, but this adds to the charm of the place, which has been modernized with small touches, ie flat screen tv's, WIFI and lovely comfy duvet beds.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles a, Guest Relations Manager at Appley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hi Liz K

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Appley Manor Hotel, we really appreciate the feedback and have taken your comments onboard.

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Josh Asher

Customer relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here over the summer and was very dissapointed. The room was very tired and dated, and generally not upto the standard I would expect in 2013 - however we made the most of the Island so wasnt in the room very much.
The food, well, it's dreadful - over loaded, all seemed to be deep fried and not very well cooked. We ate out most days as was safer!
Never again - Sorry!
When I raised the issue with our waitress we was told the manager will speak to us... We didnt hear a thing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles a, Guest Relations Manager at Appley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hi

Thank you for the feedback, we have taken your comments onboard. The over the course of the winter, the majority of the rooms were redecorated and generally improved. We now hope that the rooms are at a better standard than they were at the time of your visit.

Kind regards

Josh Asher

Customer relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is our 10th holiday at Appley Manor. We book 7 rooms every year as a club and must comment on the service we receive . The staff are friendly and very courteous in all aspects of the hotel. The food has a lot to offer from Sandwiches to 3 course something for everybody with great service. Yes the rooms are 80s dated but rooms are very clean, towels every day and a good nights sleep well worth the £60 a night and looking forward to next 11th year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles a, Guest Relations Manager at Appley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Hi david p

I am glad to hear that you have been staying with us for so long, and also that our staff were helpful and courteous, throughout your stay at Appley Manor Hotel. I hope that your next stay will be juts as good as the last.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate your feedback.

Kind regards

Josh Asher

Customer relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventnor, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

we chose this place for a 70th birthday party.
the food was not good not a big choice. staff were not around enough to help.
they even came in and turned our music down (that we had to supply ourselves)
for the price we paid i was shocked at what we got in return. Never again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanyaandbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, Gloucestershire.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was the fourth time that I have stayed at Appley Manor. The first thing to notice is the A sign by the front door. At some stage this was a three star establishment and it has been downgraded to two star. It is easy to tell why.

Unfortunatley, because the venue was fully booked I was put in one of the rear bedroom in the modern wing over the bar. A strong smell from the bar penetrates the corridoor and bedrooms on this wing. On my previous three visits I was fortunate to have one of the large rooms in the original Victorian part of the building with very high ceilings.

The modern room was smaller and with the lower ceiling makes the room look small. Small window was a disapointment. I suppose I have been spoilt by having one of the lovely Victorian rooms on my previous visits.

My previous comments about the food still stand. Dont expect quality restaurant fare, if you are happy with good quality pub grub at sensible prices then this is the place for you. Expect large portions with lots of chips! Just a shame that there is no local, freshly caught fish on the menu.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front in the original Vicorian part of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Standard13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
387 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
3.7 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Ryde Isle of Wight Hotel
1.0 mi away
Yelf's Hotel
Yelf's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ryde
399 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appley Manor Hotel

Property: Appley Manor Hotel
Address: Appley Road, Ryde PO33 1PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appley Manor Hotel, Ryde was built in 1850 as a magnificent Victorian residence. Today, Appley Manor Hotel has been extensively refurbished to include all modern comforts and offers you some of the most comfortable accommodation in the Ryde area. Appley Manor is situated on the outskirts of Ryde, and only a short distance from the popular sailing village of Seaview. Ryde's glorious sandy beaches are within a short walking distance. Other amenities within a short distance are Rydes ice rink, 10 pin bowling alley, indoor swimming pool boating lake and town centre ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Appley Manor Hotel Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing