We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good experiences but some areas could do with improvement.”
Review of Appley Manor Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ryde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Appley Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was the fourth time that I have stayed at Appley Manor. The first thing to notice is the A sign by the front door. At some stage this was a three star establishment and it has been downgraded to two star. It is easy to tell why.

Unfortunatley, because the venue was fully booked I was put in one of the rear bedroom in the modern wing over the bar. A strong smell from the bar penetrates the corridoor and bedrooms on this wing. On my previous three visits I was fortunate to have one of the large rooms in the original Victorian part of the building with very high ceilings.

The modern room was smaller and with the lower ceiling makes the room look small. Small window was a disapointment. I suppose I have been spoilt by having one of the lovely Victorian rooms on my previous visits.

My previous comments about the food still stand. Dont expect quality restaurant fare, if you are happy with good quality pub grub at sensible prices then this is the place for you. Expect large portions with lots of chips! Just a shame that there is no local, freshly caught fish on the menu.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front in the original Vicorian part of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Standard13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 217 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had a meal here this evening with my husband and daughter. Service good as usual. Food very tasty although curry not as nice as last time I had it. Overall a good meal and very good value for money. Can recommend Appley Manor and have done to many friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodGirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Lovely large rooms, very clean, restaurant large good varied menu, and major helpings, staff are helpful, and friendly.
Close to beach and shops, pleasant walk across park to the beach.
Ideal for families, good basic hotel no frills, just clean and friendly staff, always on hand to help, only there for 3 nights, had all we wanted.
Large car park, this you do not get with the town hotels

Room Tip: Get a room away from the fire doors, if you retire early, as they do slam quite loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard_baxter90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Great value food and drink. Friendly staff good experience overall. Just one thing the menus are just print outs and could do with being decent quality apart from that nothing to complain about at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T-man77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Nice pub nice staff good/ok food the price was very good for four adult meals and four drinks £44.60 not bad the family enjoyed the meal I found it ok they would like to visit again ! So maybe we will maybe we won't but overall not bad at all ! Go try for yourself

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sadiebest2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights at the height of the season, and were well looked after. Lucky to have one of the bigger rooms (room 3) with double aspect windows over the front. Very clean, good beds, everything we wanted. This hotel is not deluxe or pretentious, just concentrates on giving basic good value, with the bonus of a very interesting building set in its own grounds, and near to Ryde, with buses to rest of island nearby. We ate in the resaurant - despite being a very busy Saturday evening, service was good. Nothing spectacular on the menu, but prices reasonable, mostly £9-10 for a main course, good childrens selection.
Any criticism seems like nitpicking, but they could do with a design consultant on the interior decorations to bring out the best of the character in the hotel. Rather strange wallpaper, with enough pictures over it to grace an art gallery - mainly prints of some age - you can tell as all the colours except blue fade with the light! But would definitely return here if we visit our relatives on the island again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Went to the Appley Manor hotel as they do food most of the day and it is close to Ryde seafront (by car). Didnt have to book and have been there ten or so times before. Meal for four with drinks was £60 so not too expensive. Big choice of food on the menu and a long bar to get your drinks Ordering is done on a tab system and pay at the end. Ten or so specials to choose from and fish is good. Diidnt stay at the hotel as they dont allow dogs Child friendly restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianjaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ryde hotels
0.9 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
422 reviews
1 mi away
Travelodge Ryde Isle of Wight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Yelf's Hotel
Yelf's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ryde
412 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Dorset Hotel
Dorset Hotel
#3 of 17 in Ryde
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appley Manor Hotel

Address: Appley Road, Ryde PO33 1PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appley Manor Hotel, Ryde was built in 1850 as a magnificent Victorian residence. Today, Appley Manor Hotel has been extensively refurbished to include all modern comforts and offers you some of the most comfortable accommodation in the Ryde area. Appley Manor is situated on the outskirts of Ryde, and only a short distance from the popular sailing village of Seaview. Ryde's glorious sandy beaches are within a short walking distance. Other amenities within a short distance are Rydes ice rink, 10 pin bowling alley, indoor swimming pool boating lake and town centre ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Appley Manor Hotel Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing