We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Isle of Wight in Winter”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Appley Manor Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ryde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Appley Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Isle of Wight in Winter”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night in January, it wasn't very busy.

Stayed in room one dated and in need of modernising .

Dark bedding linen and a four poster bed -- why?-- the posts get in the way when you move around without the lights on.

The restaurant is large and doesn't seem to fit in with the rest of the building, but the food is very acceptable.

WiFi is available in the lounge and breakfast room according to the information in the room , but it worked just as well in the bedrom on the first floor.

Breakfast was worth waiting for.

I wonder what this hotel is like in the summer ?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    78
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
89
36
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a charming friendly hotel sadly let down by the poor state of decoration which lowers the value.

It's in a good location, it's warm and clean with big rooms, but needs a few £s spent on an overdue upgrading of the peeling wallpaper.

The restaurant provides good value meals.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArgyleRich33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

For the 2nd year The London tenants all attended their Christmas Lunch at Appley Manor again we were not disappointed. The staff were all really attentive and very polite and patient with all 36 of the group. We all ate at the same time all food was hot and well presented. Everyone enjoyed each course and we had no complaints.Food was of good quality and cooked really well, portion sizes were good - the group are of varied ages and all had plenty too eat some not being able to finish,
We were not rushed by staff and all felt that we were served as if we were the only group there.
A huge thank you to the staff who once again pulled off a really memorable lunch treat for many local elderly residents - we will be back next year !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acolson62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

For the first time went to the restaurant for a christmas lunch, The restaurant was large and the staff was helpful and smart. food was very good, hot came quickly and good value for the money.Also has got a good size car park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

A beautiful and sizeable inn in pleasant surroundings. Good size car park and a large roomy restaurant area. Staff are cheery, courteous and smartly dressed. Food is ordered at the bar and a tab system is available on request. Reasonable choice of menu and plentiful choice on the "specials" board. Meal is served in a reasonabe time and is well presented. The proof is obviously in the eating. My wife ordered a turkey roast dinner and I had salmon in a creamy sauce with new potatoes and peas. I have to say that the meal was extremely tasty and it was not expensive. I would certainly go again and would recommend this establishment to locals and visitors.

Room Tip: As a local I did not take an overnight stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Recently stayed here for the third year running while attending classic car show. It is noticeable that there is a great working atmosphere among the staff-they are all so cheerful and helpful. Room was clean and well presented as always. Meals were good and well priced. My only complaint was the scrambled egg at breakfast-this would appear to be made from a powdered mix and not fresh eggs-it was frankly disgusting, and not what I have come to expect from this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1927vintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, Gloucestershire.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is the third year that I have stayed at this hotel and the experience is still very good. The bedroom was excellent, the same one that I had last year and one of the largest hotel rooms that I have ever had. However, it is clear that this is a Pub with hotel attached, rather than a hotel with a public bar!

Food in the bar is very good, and a good choice at good value. However expect Good Pub food - not fine hotel dining! Breakfast which is the only meal served in the Hotel Dining Room was a bit of a dissapointment. The scrambled eggs were awful - and clearly had been made with real eggs! It is a great shame that the standards on the hotel side have been allowed to slip a little.

The staff were friendly and yes, I would still return to this establishment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front part of the hotel which is the original Victorian mansion. These are th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Standard13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.9 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.0 mi away
Yelf's Hotel
Yelf's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appley Manor Hotel

Property: Appley Manor Hotel
Address: Appley Road, Ryde PO33 1PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Hotel Class:2 star — Appley Manor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appley Manor Hotel, Ryde was built in 1850 as a magnificent Victorian residence. Today, Appley Manor Hotel has been extensively refurbished to include all modern comforts and offers you some of the most comfortable accommodation in the Ryde area. Appley Manor is situated on the outskirts of Ryde, and only a short distance from the popular sailing village of Seaview. Ryde's glorious sandy beaches are within a short walking distance. Other amenities within a short distance are Rydes ice rink, 10 pin bowling alley, indoor swimming pool boating lake and town centre ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Appley Manor Hotel Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing